Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great companion book
A beautifully bound and illustrated book that functions well as an "added extra" for fans of the story. Whether you like the TV series, the books, or both, there is plenty in here for you to enjoy.

It starts with a foreword by George RR Martin, and by the creators of the HBO show, followed by interview and comments throughout by cast members, and house/family...
Published 21 months ago by G. Heywood

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful presentation, content let down
The book is beautiful with it's thick and rich looking cover, looks beautiful on the shelf. However, the information in it is next to non- existent and for that I had to take away 2 stars. I expected some concept art, some insight about the production behind the scenes and I got mainly photographs of the characters from the series with some text about who they are and...
Published 14 months ago by Giedre


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great companion book, 1 Oct 2012
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
A beautifully bound and illustrated book that functions well as an "added extra" for fans of the story. Whether you like the TV series, the books, or both, there is plenty in here for you to enjoy.

It starts with a foreword by George RR Martin, and by the creators of the HBO show, followed by interview and comments throughout by cast members, and house/family trees. All of which are framed by fantastic illustrations. The illustrations range from conceptual art-work, through to the finished sets, and some (no, a lot) are stunning.

Would you like to know Martin's inspiration for The Wall? It is in here. Would you like to know how it was brought to life on film? That is here. What to know what Peter Drinkage though about playing Tyrion? That is here too.

I find that almost all the books I buy now are ebooks, however this is definitely worth making an exception for. The only reasons I would hesitate to buy this are, the possibilty that they will they bring out an updated one in the future (this one covers the first two series), and a couple of *very* small spoliers for if you haven't read all of the books. Still, even with that risk, it is a small price to pay for what is a beautiful book, and would make a great gift for someone with an interest in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Firstly, the cover of the book is simply beautiful. The feel of it, the texture and the detail in the artwork is outstanding. I was blown away before I even opened the first page.

Internally, the level of detail continues, the pages are beautifully laid out with some lovely comments from George R.R. Martin, the cast and the crew of the show. I would have liked to have seen a little more depth on each of the characters but I understand if you want to grasp a true understanding, then you have to read A Song of Fire and Ice. The artwork; the concept art, production art and even stills from the show are wonderful - though I would have liked to have seen some of the concept art given more exposure.

All in all, this book is a wonderful accompaniment to the first series with great little insights into the second. A worthy addition to anyone's Game of Thrones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Just looking at the cover of this book, you'll realise that your money has been truly well spent. The casing is a type of soft leathery plastic which feels great, and the printing shows all house sigils, much like the opening credits of the show. It's a big, heavy, classy book that will look great on anyone's shelf.

This book is currently 14 on amazon which is crazy, I bought mine for 25 and thought the value was oustanding.

The first thing that will strike you is the photography- no quality has been spared, each page is beautifully laid out with official photographs of HBOs sets, production and of course episode stills. There are comments from the season actors and from Beioff and Weiss who add useful insights now and again.

The book is set into sections- there are pages for each region in Westeros (Winterfell, King's Landing, Essos ect.) and within these sections there are full character profiles along with detailed set layouts which show us just how much time, money and effort goes into creating Game of Thrones. The foreward by George RR Martin which opens the book is also fantastic.

Overall, any fan of the books or the show will be delighted with this book, it's a must-have companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Beautifully presented embossed in an embossed cover, "Inside HBO's Game of Thrones" features interviews with and comments from the actors, writers, directors and other production staff of the series. Beware though, information from season two is included so watch our for spoilers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic coffee table book, 18 Mar 2013
By 
T. J. Martin "Tigalad" (London, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Great quality and great price... A must have for any fan of the tv series or the books. This book really is a fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
in excellent condition, so factual, very descriptive. this item really helped with series two, i would recommend this to all GOT FANS,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality book, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
My Partner loved it this, I brought it him for crimbo. This book is quality from the cover to the thick pages. Would definetly recommend for game of throne lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon-Addict! "E" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for my son for this Christmas coming, so can't review it fully yet, but it is a lovely book, very nice cover, almost spongy! This was an excellent price as it was 25 everywhere else! Good ol Amazon as always! Fast delivery and no problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Purchased this for my sons birthday because he is a big fan of the books and the TV series. He had seen this in a shop and it is really a really good purchase for fans of the Game of Thrones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recipient pleased., 14 July 2014
This review is from: Inside HBO's Game of Thrones (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift, recipient pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside HBO's Game of Thrones
Inside HBO's Game of Thrones by Bryan Cogman (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
Used & New from: 5.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews