Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... Until the end
Thoroughly enjoyed these books, could hardly put them down at one point. Barely noticed it was a trilogy, one book just flowed into another, without the normal reintroduction to the plot that you normally get with multi part novels. I loved all the characters, found the story enthralling, fast paced and action packed, and the writing style suited me perfectly (detailed,...
Published 5 months ago by Stressed Mike

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
This is an ok read, but not the best. Some of the characters are entertaining, particularly Glokta, Logen Ninefingers and Ferro, but the rest lack depth and blur a little too easily into each other. The plot was also a little rambling with the endgame seeming slightly contrived.
Published 24 days ago by D. Rundle


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... Until the end, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed these books, could hardly put them down at one point. Barely noticed it was a trilogy, one book just flowed into another, without the normal reintroduction to the plot that you normally get with multi part novels. I loved all the characters, found the story enthralling, fast paced and action packed, and the writing style suited me perfectly (detailed, but not over descriptive). Then I got to the final chapters, and it all fell apart. The main themes suddenly end with very little explanation or detail, plot holes are hurriedly filled with out of place 'twists', and the character stories finish at best implausibably, or more often with no conclusion at all. I can't tell if the author was planning more books so leaving his options open, or simply reached the publishers word count and wrapped things up ASAP. Either way it left me feeling disappointed and cheated, and turned a 5 star epic into a 3-4 star decent effort. What a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read 3 ?, 25 May 2013
By 
Alan (LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Law Trilogy Boxed Set: The Blade Itself, Before They Are Hanged, Last Argument of Kings (Paperback)
If you only ever read 3 fantasy books ?. the Fantasy/Sci-Fi genre isn't for everyone but this Trilogy is so much more than mere Fantasy. The books are full of characters that you are never quite sure whether to like them or loathe them ( Black Dow, brilliant ), there are no bona fide heroes as such,( well not to my mind anyway ) but that's part of the reason that makes this Trilogy so good. The complexities of the characters and the plots and wisecracks throughout make it compelling reading, the main characters are so strong and interesting that it make take 15 books or so to reach a conclusion. I have read the 5 books ( THE HEROES, BEST SERVED COLD ) by Joe Abercrombie and they are up there with the best Fantasy/Sci-Fi books ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new fantasy voice worth reading, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is so difficult to find fantasy novels that are not derivative or superficial. This is the first I have come across in a long while that is unique and inventive and fun. It has the adult sensibilities of the Game of Thrones series without the soapish claptrap. You will lose your heart to every character, even the sadistic, sociopathic torturer! A must read of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need the nine!, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Law Trilogy Boxed Set: The Blade Itself, Before They Are Hanged, Last Argument of Kings (Paperback)
Logan nine fingers you get back here!
The first book i had as an audio book from audible and it was awesome! introduced me to a new world with great voice acting!

but then books 2 and 3 i read and loved em! need another get to gether with ferro and logan though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't recommend enough..., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent work, if you enjoy fantasy this is a great read. Really very engrossing, the world is excellently sculpted and the characters are visceral and captivating. The story is told through different viewpoints and each side has a moral ambiguity that makes it unlike so many fantasy novels. Every character is full and multifaceted, there's no cardboard goodies and baddies. It's probably not for everyone, quite violent and gory, but for me it only adds to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ok read, but not the best. Some of the characters are entertaining, particularly Glokta, Logen Ninefingers and Ferro, but the rest lack depth and blur a little too easily into each other. The plot was also a little rambling with the endgame seeming slightly contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the books one at a time borrowed from the library., 7 Mar 2014
By 
D. Briggs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it again in short order and yes it can be a bit sickening in places, but that's life in a violent society. I shall read it again and again as I grow even more ancient and enjoy it every time. Abercrombie's work can be revisited and something new derived from every chapter. Glokta and his perfidious assistants are to be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty nice, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Law Trilogy Boxed Set: The Blade Itself, Before They Are Hanged, Last Argument of Kings (Paperback)
This is a pretty nice package. Books look and feel really good, which is always nice. I'm just half a away in second book. These are maybe not among the greatest of books, but nice and funny to read. Quite entertaining. Books are quite short so I recommend to buy all these at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good., 14 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent characters, humour, anger, loss, excitement, plus everything else. Story moves quickly without rushing. You learn enough about the characters to invest in them. I've read all his books at least twice and I'm on the trilogy for the third time and its still as enjoyable.
One of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books are great. They start off as a light fantasy and just keep getting darker and darker as the plot thickens and the main characters are not as heroic as they seem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92b8654)

This product

The First Law Trilogy Boxed Set: The Blade Itself, Before They Are Hanged, Last Argument of Kings
18.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews