Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet
Having read the first two in the Autumn series I was hooked and Purification enhanced that. An excellent read from start to finish. David Moody has an angle on the zombie genre like no other, raising issues and psychological problems with the survivors to bring a horrific but realistic approach to his books.

I recommend everyone interested in horror to read...
Published 9 months ago by WOW Impro

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Autumn and still running
The characters in the first book ran and hid from zombies. They met a some more characters in the second book who were running and hiding, and together they ran and hid. Purification (mis-labelled the last in the trilogy) offers little in the way of conclusion either. In fact the content is still composed of running and hiding, rinse and repeat. There is little in the way...
Published on 16 Dec 2008 by Mr. G. Battle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Autumn and still running, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
The characters in the first book ran and hid from zombies. They met a some more characters in the second book who were running and hiding, and together they ran and hid. Purification (mis-labelled the last in the trilogy) offers little in the way of conclusion either. In fact the content is still composed of running and hiding, rinse and repeat. There is little in the way of character development from the survivors, a clear division exists between runners and fodder. That all said, Purification doesn't set out to be different, it's niche in the genre is to fulfil a bleak zombie-infested Britain and it does just that. Straight-forward and unsurprising Purification is an easy time-filler and stays true to the two previous entries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the first two in the Autumn series I was hooked and Purification enhanced that. An excellent read from start to finish. David Moody has an angle on the zombie genre like no other, raising issues and psychological problems with the survivors to bring a horrific but realistic approach to his books.

I recommend everyone interested in horror to read this fabulous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, dark, fast-paced and in-depth...awesome stuff!, 8 Feb 2006
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
“Autumn: Purification” is the third book of David Moody’s four part post-apocalyptic zombie saga. Following on directly from where “Autumn: The City” left off, the reader should already be aware of all the main characters. Bursting with action from the start, the survivors are thrown once again into the dangerous rotting world of the undead, mixing horrific tension with the dark mental anguish that the survivors feel daily.
Influenced heavily but Romero’s zombie films, the book takes on many of the ideas and situations tackled in his “Dead” series. We meet another set of survivors who have access to a helicopter and a plane. And we finally see the survivors pulling together (well, not all of them) to try and make a future for themselves.
Perhaps the best written of the ‘Autumn’ books, ‘Purification’ uses many styles and techniques to encapsulate the harrowing experiences that the survivors go through. The book often jumps to an almost diary-like first person view-point for a chapter, to then go back to the standard third-person style. The author spends a large amount of the time submerging the reader into the emotions and mental stress of each character producing some beautiful characterization that draws you into this almost believable scenario.
The zombies take on new and interesting changes, which are detailed throughout the book. It’s almost as if they are evolving, which brings a nice twist on the classic zombie genre. The book ends in a hopeful, yet still with a dark and slightly negative tone, that concludes the books nicely. The final book of the series is “Autumn: The Human Condition”, that is a companion book which brings to an end the Autumn saga.
“Autumn: Purification” is a truly superb novel that will appeal and indeed please every good fan of the zombie genre. Original, dark, fast-paced and in-depth; the book is a fantastic piece of horror fiction.
The novel is released through David Moody's own publishing company 'Infected Books' and runs for a total of 287 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody continues to impress with another instalment in the Autumn series, 15 Aug 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
After having loved David Moody's Autumn and its sequel Autumn: The City, I was eager to get started on the third title in the series, Autumn: Purification.

Autumn: Purification opens with a brief recap leading to the events narrated herein and thereafter, picks up almost immediately from where Autumn: The City left off. This had me ever so slightly worried since it would have been incredibly easy for Moody to take the path of least resistance and created a clone of the plot from Romero's Day of the Dead from this point. Thankfully, this is far from the case with Purification.

Moody continues to develop not only his characters and the undead in this third instalment of the Autumn series but the universe which they occupy also. The tone of the book, as with its predecessors, is suitably bleak and the focus is very much on the plight of the characters, the daily trials they suffer, how they cope with their own emotions and despair; and how much they have changed despite less than six weeks having passed since the cataclysmic event which wiped out the majority of the planet's population and the dead started to rise. At the same time, Moody pays attention to the degradation of the physical states of the walking dead, but Purification, as with the previous instalments in the Autumn series, sees the shambling corpses continue to evolve in a fashion that I can only imagine that other authors wish they had thought of first...

Although there is plenty of action, death and decaying flesh in this book and it is undoubtedly at home in the horror genre, it will leave those looking for an adrenaline-fuelled mindless zombie tale unsatisifed. I would submit to you that this is no bad thing. Autumn: Purification continues to flesh out Moody's Autumn universe admirably and although this book only runs to 260 or so pages and could be read as a stand alone title, I would suggest to any potential reader to do as I have done and read the series from the start since it has greatly enhanced my enjoyment of each of the books by taking them in sequence.
There's no need to take my word for it either, award-winning author Jonathan Maberry said of Autumn that: "This is smart fiction, written with style and insight. Not for the gore-hounds who can't think past a pile of entrails, but the rest of the readers in the world."

Taking into account my love of post-apocalyptica and how many books concering the sub-genre that I read, I can honestly say that Autumn has, to date, seriously impressed me and consistently hits the mark where so many other books fail and simply rely on gore and decay. In short, my advice to genre fans is simple. Get involved with the Autumn series as soon as possible. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again! amazing!, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
David Moody has done it again, would rather read this then watch any zombie movie, and their not your average zombies, not your typical dumb idiot zombie. He always manages to get you hooked into these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..Just Wait..You Will See!, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Hardcover)
Im giving it five stars for the author's great talent. He is a real find in the "Zombie author" genre.

Also, not to be obnoxious (probably too late) they have released Autumn: Disintegration in the USA and its very good---with an apology from the author for all the time between the last book and the new one. I will give no spoilers--in fairness.

The UK is so lucky to have so much Horror writing talent, these days.

I know I'm grateful..these are the best Zombie books that Im aware of. (Autumn books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Hardcover)
yet another fantastic book from david moody. I waited so long to read the third installment of the 'autumn' series, and was not left disappointed.
We see the characters from book 1 and 2, and new ones too, and follow them through the undead world. Many a times i was willing everybody to survive and read the book in one day..was left wanting more.
Praise for david moody and roll on december for the 4th book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third title in a refreshingly different Zombie series, 9 Jun 2005
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
David Moody has taken the zombie fiction genre and given it a refreshingly different style and emphasis. His books are not populated by shotgun toting superheroes and his zombies are not flesh eating ghouls from the opening page. Instead we have ordinary believable characters in a harrowing and extraordinary situation and we are treated to walking cadavers which actually "evolve" and change through the trilogy.
In this third book in the series the action moves up by several gears. Forced to flee the relative safety of an underground military installation the survivors soon get a real idea of the future they face and how powerless even the army are to protect them from the hordes of re-animated bodies.
This is British apocalyptic fiction at its best and is reminiscent of the works of Wyndham and Christopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autumn Purification, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic must read you can not put this book down ,and start the next one.
Start with Autumn first fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant., 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
Didn't want to put it down, finished it within the day. A very good read, I recommend it to anyone who has started to read the Autumn series :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

Autumn: Purification
Autumn: Purification by David Moody (Hardcover - 21 April 2011)
9.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews