Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly-written mosaic of another world., 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
"The Dream Archipelago" consists of six inter-linked stories set in a war-torn alternative world, (vaguely reminiscent of our Mediterranean Europe), and features many of the great Christopher Priest themes of art, time, growing up, the reliability of memory and the uneasy sense of not quite being able to place who you are. (In many ways, "The Dream Archipelago" could be read as a companion-volume to Priest's wonderful novel "The Affirmation", since it shares a lot of concerns and background details with that book.) Not content with the usual S.F. trappings, Priest imagines the aftermath of battles fought with synaesthetic weapons, places where insects and fruits have a strange predatory, symbiotic relationship and countries where microscopic surveillance has seeped into every facet of life. Genuinely strange and haunting stuff - structured not unlike Keith Roberts' "Pavane", in that it gradually builds up a mosaic-picture of an entire other world and its customs, letting the reader make all the connections and inferences without a lot of intrusive authorial prodding. Highly enjoyable, frequently eerie and superbly written stories throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 8 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
A great collection of inter-linked stories. There are enough wonderful ideas here to supply a lesser writer with material for several novels. In Priest's hands we get an ultra concentrated and potent distillation of prose with some of the most disturbing and memorable images I can ever recall. The spider-like insect/fruit symbiosis story is harrowing, and the the all-seeing scintillas in the final story are a fabulous voyeuristic concept. I see a new version of the book is due for publication (early 2009) with an extra 70 or so pages - presumably an extra story or two - I will have to buy it and so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and brooding, 29 Jan 2011
By 
Jonathan Spencer (E.Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dark and brooding, some of the best writing you will see. It mixes a sens of M.R. James with Philip K Dick. Much of Priests work is not really SF or fantasy but a kind of philosophy. I want to say he is like Philip K Dick, but his work is not derivative and brings its own unique style. If anything his work is disturbing and I wonder more of the younger Vampire emo readers do not get into him. The Glamour was my first introduction to him and it beats all the outsider vampire books hands down. And he is from Sussex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "... for some reason that was hard to pinpoint it was more refreshing than cold spring water.", 3 Jun 2013
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christopher Priest further develops his dream-like world in this book, a continuation of his book The Affirmation. I found myself wondering where the book was going quite often, as the prose deviated from the warfare going on in the northern reaches of this created world - the strong suspicion is that the war is not a real one. Men are making money with munitions, and the repetitive activities of the soldiers involved suggest that the warfare has been invented so that the lucrative gains can continue. A man is seduced into eating a deadly fruit containing insects that will kill him. A female creative writer comes to a barracks and is visited by a young soldier, leading to the arrest of the woman. Told like this, the stories sound bald, unsatisfying, but that conclusion would be wrong. The prose is silkily seductive and fraught with ambiguity throughout.

Mr Priest is not into disambiguation and often seems to delight in obfuscation - I was going to say "for its own sake", but that's not quite true. There are rarely any clear-cut scenarios. The final story in the book is about a people called the Quaatari, a race who resist all efforts to be studied by anthropologists. A rich man living near the border finds a way to spy on events, but it begins to look as if the Quaatari are setting up a strange scenario to draw him into a trap. This story is a haunting and sensual one, and bears looking into. I could not come to any conclusion about the merits of this book. It is not a casually opaque scenario and it may well turn off those looking for easy answers. I will keep this book because I most definitely want to read it again. I find myself thinking that I must have missed some of the clues along the way. Either that, or the prose itself is a kind of trap. It's a metaphysical puzzle. One day, maybe, I'll solve it. I liked it, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly-Constructed, But a Little Uneven, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Dream Archipelago is a science fiction collection with unashamedly literary aspirations. A re-release of short stories largely penned in the 70's, Christopher Priest dispenses with SF's preoccupation with techno-wonders and imagined worlds. He focuses instead on his characters' inner lives, and the strange-yet-familiar textures of their altered mental states. Occupying the same world - one perpetually at war, with the equatorial midway sea and its archipelago the only neutral ground - the novellas which make up the book are otherwise distinct, but thematically linked. The nurturing power of art and the dehumanising brutality of war both play a prominent role in several of the collection's tales, whilst in others the reliability of perception, memory and identity is called into question.

Every tale is a beautifully-crafted puzzle. Rich with symbolism and layered tension, each yields its meaning only upon reflection. Whilst many of Priest's themes are overt, their connectedness obvious, he hints at much more. Such obfuscation is at once challenging and intriguing. 'The Equatorial Moment,' for instance, sees planes navigating over the archipelago in a 'temporal vortex,' stacked atop one another in a single moment of time with the aircrews watching nervously. One reading could see this suggesting not only the interlinked but timeless relationship between the stories in the collection; occupying the same psychological space but distinct, and with disparate destinations. The aircrews, whose powerless observation of the spectacle is highlighted, stand in for the reader. 'The Miraculous Cairn,' a favourite of mine, is a tale of sexual dysfunction traced back to a trauma in early adolescence. Upon revisiting the site of the incident, however, not only are the reader's expectations abruptly upended, but the protagonist's too. The place is not as she remembered; indeed, the incident as she relates it could not have happened. What starts as a meditation on the strange unhappiness of revisiting, in adulthood, the defining places of one's youth, ends with a powerful lesson on the fragility of identity.

It is a shame, then, than not all of the stories' emotional depth can match their intellectual fireworks. The largely male, single protagonists are a glum, introspective bunch; outwardly brittle, inwardly quivering bundles of anxiety and anger; they rarely end their stories happier or wiser than they began. Priest's writing, too, does not quite do justice to his literary ambitions. His prose is pedestrian, even dull in places, and he has a unsettling tendency to linger on the detail's of his female characters' naked bodies.

But this detracts only a little from the haunting beauty of this collection. Dreamlike, unsettling and melancholy, its true meaning always seeming to hide just around the next corner; The Dream Archipelago rewards reflection and re-reading. It is an intellectual treasure-chest which gives up its pleasures only gradually. Whilst those seeking SF thrills should look elsewhere, readers with the inclination and the patience to unpick Priest's symbolism will find this is a work which lingers in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Priest is a brilliant writer, 25 Feb 2014
By 
AFG (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
This is an expanded version of The Dream Archipelago with two additional stories compared to the earlier version.
Several of Christopher Priest's books contain elements of this world straggling island chain. all are very good, and these stories are as good as any.
the author does not believe in explaining everything so if you don't like some unresolved mystery and uncertainty after you have finished a story or book then this may not be for you. It is possible of course that all the facts are there and I am not clever enough to spot them, but I hope that isn't the case.
I would recommend any book by Christopher Priest, especially from the Affirmation onwards when he really got into his stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An obsessive read, 8 Oct 2013
By 
dalek78 (Sheffield, S.Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
"The Dream Archipelago" is a series of interlinked short stories guaranteed to fascinate, horrify and disturb. Christopher Priest is a master of psychological horror/SF, and these stories must rank among his very best work. Without giving anything away, sometimes the twists take you completely by surprise, other times you know something unpleasant is simmering under the surface. I soon became obsessed with this intriguing, dream-like (or nightmarish) collection and was sad to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessed, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
I read 5 times this book in 2011. I a totally obsessed by the story with the Insect / fruit thing.
this short story is cut like a diamond. Priest looses you in the shine until the sharp end hammers.
Yuo actually walk in the jungle by the hero, actually feel the sweat and the thirst that finally dooms hims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare archipelago...., 8 April 2013
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Archipelago (Paperback)
The equatorial moment

A meditation on a strange set of air currents over an island group that seem to suspend events in the middle of a war.

The negation

A soldier in a warring global block hears that his favourite author is visiting his mountain posting, a fortified wall close to the enemy. An encounter with her opens up questions which eventually lead to a strange event on the wall.

Whores

A soldier suffering from synaesthesia uses his leave to visit the island his nurse (reputedly deceased) came from. He finds instead 'love' of a sort. Extremely unpleasant

The cremation

Graian is invited to a cremation on an island with different customs regarding funerals and a different language. A female relative makes a pass at him, inviting him for a walk in the jungle. She tells him about a disgusting creature called a thrme which eats its host from the inside. It becomes clear what his role at the funeral really is...

The miraculous cairn

A man is accompanied by an attractive female police officer to the island of Seevl, where his last relation has just passed away. Memories of earlier visits do not chime in with reality and one strange happening in particular suddenly alters our view of the present.

The watched

Ordier, the inventor of a tiny camera observation device has, which he thought controlled but now appears ubiquitous, has retired from business and lives in a remote spot, next to a Quaatari settlement. The Qaatari react by becoming motionless when observed so not much is known about them. But Ordier has a secret observation port into their compound...A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dream Archipelago
The Dream Archipelago by Christopher Priest (Paperback - 12 Nov 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews