Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Threatened by Shadows at Night
On a Steel Breeze is a large scale, hard SF adventure story with two main weaknesses, the beginning and the end. It is a sequel to Blue Remembered Earth, taking place in the following centuries and concerning itself with the next generation of the Akinya family.

Chiku, daughter of Sunday and niece of Geoffrey has cloned herself twice and the three genetic...
Published 13 months ago by P. G. Harris

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series needed to get better - it didn't!
It's a shame really as the core concepts are rock solid. However, Reynolds continues to run on three cylinders. Despite being a fan and despite being committed to reading all his output, I can't really recommend this. Half-baked...
Published 13 months ago by Gasman


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good novel about impact of tech & surveillance gone mad, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a warning for the future - the elephants (Tantors) seem little more than a distraction - link from the earlier novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Steel Breeze (Hardcover)
as one would expect from mr reynolds this book is very entertaining i was not disappointed and look forward to whatever he is doing next :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed Alastair Reynolds' books. This series may not be quite as good as his Revelation Space series, but it is still better than most other stuff out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 22 Jan 2014
I want to say it was great. But can't. A good read, especially for A Reynolds fans. Just not the greatest characters and too much importance on Eunice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Steel Breeze (Hardcover)
I enjoyed Blue Remembered earth and hope there is another book in this series, I want to know what happens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Story takes a small jump in time, progresses nicely, it's a good follow on, but not quite as good as the first one IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i really enjoyed it, proper old fashioned modern space opera., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Steel Breeze (Hardcover)
A modern take on an old space opera but with lots of new twists and humanity. Takes a while to really get going but its worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the steel breeze, 26 Oct 2013
I enjoyed this book very much. However I find it hard to give it 5 stars as I didn't have the same sense of wonder and wanting more that I would expect from this Author.
I also failed to realise that, standalone as this book is, there is a predecessor novel Blue Remembered Earth which I haven't read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A super cool wind of sci fi, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a long time Reynolds fan, I am pleased to see he's maintaining his high standards. Tight writing, good plot and plenty of action. All that is required in a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best...., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not up to his usual standards....
Alastair Reynolds has contrived to make this book ponderous and at times un-engaging. For the first time ever i found myself skipping whole paragraphs which seemed dull and pointless. It takes a very long while for this book to get to nowhere surprising. This is particularly disappointing when Blue Remembered Earth was such a promising start. I have a nasty feeling that Mr Reynolds wrote this book because he had to... not because he wanted to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Steel Breeze
On the Steel Breeze by Alastair Reynolds (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
Used & New from: £4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews