Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the "Devil Fish" books, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge Robert Rankin fan and have read all of his books, some of them many times. I consider the "Brentford" books to be his best but I have enjoyed most of the other books too.

I did not, however, immediately get on with "The Japanese Devil Fish" collection. I did get more out of reading books 1 and 2 in the collection a second time, but I still didn't like them as much as his other books. But this third book in the sequence - "The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the Worlds" - hits the spot a lot more for me.

I don't think you really read Rankin's books for the plot as that is somehow inconsequential compared to the characters and the humour, but this book actually has a plot of sorts and I think it flows quite well. Darwin the Monkey Butler is an excellent character and he features in a lot of this book.

It's still not quite the 5 star read the original "Brentford" books were but I enjoyed this one far more than the previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
with each melodic word you fall deeper into the world of steam punk London. its seductive and very clever and Rankin's wit never dulls. each next addition to his steam punk series is as glorious as the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Rankin at his best can't wait for the next one in the series just needs pooly and o mally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the Worlds: A Novel (Japanese Devil Fish Girl 3) (Hardcover)
If you're looking for a book that is different to any other out there then Rankin could well be the man for you, he has a touch of the mad scientist hidden within his mind that also brings the wonders of a possible Victorian age to the readers imagination. He's quirky, he has quite a twisted imagination and when added to the wonders of what he decides to expose the reader to makes this something that you'll either love or hate.

Personally I had a good bit of fun taking the scenic tour through this outing and when added to some wonderfully inventive concepts, solid prose and some more than interesting characters really makes this a book that I was pleased I spent the time with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top class reading, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome story from one of the best fantasy fiction authors. With every story release, Rankin get better and better, and the new Steam punk type of novels are an excellent digression from previous years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Rankin - The Educated Ape book, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only just begun reading this book but love this series & Darwin the monkey. Bit slow to get in too but once in Robert R's book's, drawn in to his amazing world. I have this on my kindle with a quick download & eager to have time to read more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab as always, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The man is a genius, as always a brilliant read. I hope there will be many more like it, thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a right rankin romp, 27 Dec 2013
This book is full of intricate wordplay and flowery verbosity. Rankin has developed as an author since the Brentford days but has retained that hint of insanity in the plot lines. The future history is well realised and the characters are developed. Surprising depth. This is the first Rankin book i have read in years and i shall definitely be reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rankin scores again., 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Terry Penn (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant as usual. Robert Rankin at his silliest and best. Unbeatable fantasy fiction from the Master. Apes Rule OK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite one of his best but still pretty good. Although I've read the previous two I feel this one stands up on it's own if you've not read any of the others in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the Worlds: A Novel (Japanese Devil Fish Girl 3)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews