Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's Back!
It is with great honour that I announce that Robert Rankin is back on form after a couple of disappointing outings. Gone is the well covered world of Brentford and instead we find ourselves with Jack and Eddie back in the fresh feeling Toy Town.

Since their last outing in 'The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse' Jack, a meathead, and Eddie, a talking...
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by Sam Tyler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars toytown and beyond
a new novel by humourist writer robert rankin, who usually writes novels that are the height of absurdity in their style. best described as an english spike milligan. this is a direct sequel to earlier novel the hollow chocolate bunnies of the apocalypse, set in a place called toytown where toys are real and live much like humans. the main characters of that book, teddy...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's Back!, 4 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is with great honour that I announce that Robert Rankin is back on form after a couple of disappointing outings. Gone is the well covered world of Brentford and instead we find ourselves with Jack and Eddie back in the fresh feeling Toy Town.

Since their last outing in 'The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse' Jack, a meathead, and Eddie, a talking teddy, have gone their separate ways. Eddie is now the former mayor and Jack is a cook in a greasy spoon restaurant. It's not long before our two heroes are thrust together once more as private detectives to solve an epic case where toys are evaporating into dust. This adventure will lead to other worlds, plenty of drinking and a conundrum over chickens.

'The Toyminator' is still not Rankin's strongest book but it has the great central premise that has been missing from his recent title such as 'Knees Up Mother Earth' - how come there are so many chickens? If each restaurant sells 500 chickens a day as well as 500 eggs that's 1000 potential chickens. Multiply this by the number of restaurants there are and you are talking an impossible number. 'The Toyminator' looks into this strange problem in a hilarious manner.

I loved the characters of Eddie and Jack and felt that Rankin has reeled in some of his overindulgences this time. I recommend this book to his fans but still advise new readers to read something like 'Apocolypso' or 'Snuff Fiction' first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that the sequel can be better than the original., 1 Sep 2006
By 
Ben Ripley (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse' won the SFX award for best novel of the year. If there is any justice in the world, this fabulous and long-awaited sequel should pick up the same honour.

The heroes of our story, Jack and Eddie the bear, have to deal with even more fantastical phenomenon then before with a trail of bodies all turning to ash, nondescript phantoms lurking underneath opera houses and talking calculators that become aroused at the slightest touch.

The mad world that is created from the genius mind of Robert Rankin is as ludicrous, inventive and adorable as ever before. For all of the legions of fans who read every single word he writes, there are plenty of in jokes to keep us amused - it's a tradition, or an old charter, or something...

The highlight for me is the fact that Eddie "Mister" Bear is more adorable than ever before. How about some tie-in merchandise??

I have always been bemused why Rankin's books have not made a transition to film or TV, but if ever a series called out for it, then the Toy City Chronicles (for want of a better name) is the one to adapt.

Even if you have never read a Robert Rankin book before, there is so much humour and adventure to be enjoyed in this one.

"Top marks, Mr Rankin" cried a woman in a straw hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its like comfort eating!!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toyminator (Paperback)
being the sequel to hollow choc bunnys,it has a lot to answer for!!
but it picks up nicely with a smooth flowing consistant storyline.
another classic from robert rankin..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eddie returns, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocolypse so eagerly started the next adventure and wasn't disappointed! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Toyminator, 8 Nov 2012
An excellent sequel to Hollow Chocolate Bunnies. Utterly brilliant mad adventure in Toy City and Los Angeles. Rankin is in the same league as Pratchett, but in a crazier universe. I would certainly recommend the Eddie Bear stories to first time readers of Robert Rankin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good to read. a fitting sequel to the chocolate bunnys, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toyminator (Paperback)
good to read. a fitting sequel to the chocolate bunnys. great Book. just as accepted. cant wait to read another one of his books ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Eddie Bear Returns..., 23 Mar 2010
By 
Catherine Walsh (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Toyminator (Paperback)
A brilliant choice for all those who loved 'Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocolypse' - and even for those who havn't read it, (you'll want to after this). Beloved characters make another appearance, including Jack, Eddie Bear, (who is a little worse for wear as usual) and Tinto, as well as some new characters who fit in quite nicely. Rankin's usual acerbic, oddball humour is present and correct, and this book won't let you down if you need to unwind and escape to Toytown. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OLD RANKERS..., 15 Feb 2010
..What a right old larf.
Even at his worst, he is still the most entertaining writer around.
The guy even founded his own genre: Far Fetched Fiction.
How many writers can claim that?
Yes, I've read better books. The Brentford stories are among his best,Jim Pooley and John Omally being my fave characters in bookdom. But it takes balls to base a story like this in Toy Town. He has the ability to make you suspend belief and nit picking pedantism and shove it up your sense of humour. That takes talent.
So, sum it up: start reading old Rankers.
Addictive, so he is.
And, as I said, A Right Old Larf.
Seriously frothy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Eddie Bear!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
G. Hutchinson (My house) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toyminator (Paperback)
I love Rankin. Subtle (and not so subtle) humour, a darkness in the writing yet enthralling, though I do find a couple of his books kinda heavy. I read the "bunnies" and just fell in love with Eddie. There is so much potential there for the characters.

I had thought that "Jack & Jill" might be the follow-on but that was glossed over as an unfortunate incident - though knowing Rankin she could come back with a bang (pun).

I found this book harder to get into and much blacker but still a must to have on the bookshelf. The cover (with the beer cap) is excellent.

I am now addicted to Eddie (and Jack).

More please!

M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars toytown and beyond, 3 Dec 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toyminator (Paperback)
a new novel by humourist writer robert rankin, who usually writes novels that are the height of absurdity in their style. best described as an english spike milligan. this is a direct sequel to earlier novel the hollow chocolate bunnies of the apocalypse, set in a place called toytown where toys are real and live much like humans. the main characters of that book, teddy bear detective eddy and his human sidekick jack return in this volume to deal with another case.

Whilst still very funny in places, this isn't the best robert rankin novel ever. it feels a bit too long at 360 pages, the story rather marks time in the first two hundred pages, and although things do pick up once the setting expands midway through, that rather loses the uniqueness of the toytown idea. all is wrapped up in a predictably chaotic fashion, which does lead to a few good laughs.

But all in all a rather average rankin lacking the originality of his usual works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Toyminator
The Toyminator by Robert Rankin (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
6.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews