Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ending.
James Barclay managed to pull off an amazing and somewhat unexpected ending to the Raven series with Demonstorm, managing to round off the Raven's adventures with a final, desperate fight to save the people of Balaia and Calaius from destruction at the hands [or claws/tentacles etc] of the Arakhe, which could easily be the worst enemy they have had to fight throughout the...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by Kerry E. Garnsworthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Once more into the breach
An unexpected addition to Barclay's raven series. I say unexpected because most of them died heroically at the end of his last book.

The Raven is/was a band of mercenaries that have included warriors, mages, Elves and even a shape shifter. As the series progressed through 7 previous books the line-up changed and they morphed from mercenaries to heroes and the...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ending., 24 Jan 2009
By 
Kerry E. Garnsworthy "Coldheart" (Devon, South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
James Barclay managed to pull off an amazing and somewhat unexpected ending to the Raven series with Demonstorm, managing to round off the Raven's adventures with a final, desperate fight to save the people of Balaia and Calaius from destruction at the hands [or claws/tentacles etc] of the Arakhe, which could easily be the worst enemy they have had to fight throughout the series.

Without giving too much of the plot of Ravensoul away, Barclay has managed to bring in an even fiercer enemy than the Arakhe. One that even the dead have reason to fear. He has managed to pull off another amazing Raven plotline and as has been said in other reviews, it's not just the lovable, loud mouthed barbarian back for a visit. Ravensoul gives an even better ending to the Raven, though the last few pages seem a little too rushed.

All in all, this is still an amazing read. If you've read the rest of the Raven books, it's a must. If you haven't read the books, then I recommend that you do so. Immediately. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Once more into the breach, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4) (Paperback)
An unexpected addition to Barclay's raven series. I say unexpected because most of them died heroically at the end of his last book.

The Raven is/was a band of mercenaries that have included warriors, mages, Elves and even a shape shifter. As the series progressed through 7 previous books the line-up changed and they morphed from mercenaries to heroes and the land's best hope against all sorts of evil intent. A very enjoyable series which came to a natural and satisfying conclusion with Demonstorm.

So a bit of a shock to find another one pop up, and the author could have taken the easy route of fitting in an extra story set somewhere between the earlier books, but no, this is set some 15 years after Demonstorm. In this story, the dead are coming back into the bodies of the recently deceased. At the same time an ancient an unstoppable enemy is sweeping all before them, including the forest homes of the Elves. Can a Raven consisting of dead souls in new bodies make a final stand? There are a variety of bad guys in this, but the one who turns out to be the main human one will come as a bit of a shock!

This was okay and I like Barclay's writing, especially the easy camaraderie between the Raven and his dialogue in general. The plot and the threat was a little complex and it was harder to get into then I was expecting. Inter-dimensional jumps and links to previous books and characters did cause pause for thought a few times as I had to jog the memory, and this was a bit of a flaw. It feels like you should read this with the other books fresh in your mind, if you have read a lot of books since Demonstorm then it will take a while to refresh. It would have been helpful to have a list of the Raven members at the front and a reminder of which books they were from and how we left them.

It was an interesting concept to bring back the Raven, but I think it took something away from their previous sacrifice and the rounded ending that Demonstorm gave us. I think Barclay's many fans will enjoy seeing their heroes back, but may feel some discomfort at a book, perhaps. too far. It is also not a book for new readers to start with, they need to start at the beginning with the excellent Dawnthief and they have a treat in store. For those of us who have read all the books, I am not sure if this adds anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but a reasonable finale for the Raven, 29 Oct 2009
By 
T. Robinson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4) (Paperback)
It was nice to see the Raven operate again and James again creates wonderful archetypal characters.
This is probably the worst Raven book but if you have read the others this is worth a read just to see them work together again.
Some very thin plot lines that are even less credible than previous encounters but still some very good action scenes.
Summary: worth a read if you're a Raven fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same but happy none the less, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Bakersboy (Kingsbury, Staffs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4) (Paperback)
I must say from the outset that this is very much a book for fans of James Barclay, and particularly the 'Raven' series. While the plot is slightly different in that the adversaries are different to the last book, this novel very much follows the tried and trusted 'Raven' formula with witty dialogue and fast furious action from start to finish. Anyone new to this series MUST read all of the previous Raven books to gain any real value from this as most, if not all, of the interaction between the characters involved are based on an understanding of what has gone before. But for fans the the 'Raven' this is a surprising 'resurrection' of this series and a joy to read as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read thoroughly enjoyed the series., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the series straight through which was good as you keep track of characters and events. The only downside for me was the fight 'scenes' got a bit repetitive and seemed drawn out. That's just me though, fight fans will love it.

Thanks for a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave me this way, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last in an enthralling series and it has been a tremendously worthwhile read. The storyline and the inventiveness keep you wanting more.
I would recommend without hesitation anyone to get involved but please make sure that you start with Legends of the Raven 1 and work your way forwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this series twice now and it is a very good read, and if you like this read his earlier books, Once Walked with God & Rise Of the Taigethen are also very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The good prevail........unlike real life!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, part of a series of 7 books altogether. Well written, and the author has a vivid imagination and that all important talent of making you impatient to turn the pages to see how our band of heroes fare in all their trials and tribulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved being able to follow all the characters through their various trials/ journey. Find this genre of books fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read most of the Raven books in paperback format but read this one on my Kindle. Really enjoyed reading it and found it difficult to put down. Barclay has a way of making fantasy characters believable and describes their world in such a way that you can imagine it easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4)
Ravensoul (Legends of the Raven 4) by James Barclay (Paperback - 13 Aug 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews