Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't worry, folks, she won't leave you stranded...
I am a big fan of Poppy's stuff and this book was no exception. Although it is very, very disturbing I would still recommend it, but if you have never read any Poppy before, I would not start here. Try Lost Souls? first. This book is horror in the truest sense of the term and written by a writer who is not afraid to tackle some pretty darn scary subjects that most...
Published on 14 Aug. 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dahmer retold
Brite, the daring author of two previous novels ("Lost Souls?" and "Drawing Blood") is, I must admit, my favorite author in the horror genre. Needless to say, after "Drawing Blood," I was waiting and waiting and waiting for "Exquisite Corpse." As I read the novel, I was annoyed at how the book was progressing. It seemed only to be...
Published on 7 Mar. 1998


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't worry, folks, she won't leave you stranded..., 14 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Poppy's stuff and this book was no exception. Although it is very, very disturbing I would still recommend it, but if you have never read any Poppy before, I would not start here. Try Lost Souls? first. This book is horror in the truest sense of the term and written by a writer who is not afraid to tackle some pretty darn scary subjects that most people would automatically shy away from. Whatever you may think of her choice of subject matter, I would say that this book was very finely executed and is a very gripping story. It stands alongside her other books and should not be shoved aside just cause its a scarier and more disturbing than the rest. I think this book exists to encourage we readers to broaden our horizons a little and to not expect our reading matter to be safe and cozy all the time. Poppy shows us some frightening stuff, but at the same time keeps us to the path she has put us on.
And, a final suggestion - read this book at home and not on the bus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get your teeth into (unless you're slightly twisted), 1 April 2003
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
When I discovered this book (I must say it was the pretty sadomasochist-style cover which attracted me) I thought it would be sick in an Easton Ellis kind of way- I was wrong. Exquisite Corpse is necrophiliac, cannibalistic porn, and you will probably be shocked when you start reading. However, no matter how sickenned you are, Poppy will draw you in, she will make you both horrified and turned on; you won't stop reading, it will stay with you every second, Jay will visit you in your dreams, even weeks later- the word "corpse" will be overheard and that nauseating flood will pour out of your soul- if you read this, you will NEVER forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dahmer retold, 7 Mar. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
Brite, the daring author of two previous novels ("Lost Souls?" and "Drawing Blood") is, I must admit, my favorite author in the horror genre. Needless to say, after "Drawing Blood," I was waiting and waiting and waiting for "Exquisite Corpse." As I read the novel, I was annoyed at how the book was progressing. It seemed only to be a barely fictionalized account of the Jeffrey Dahmer case. Anyone who is familiar with Dahmer's attrocities can tell you that this book could well be a newspaper account. But, I had faith in Brite, knowing that before the last page she would put an interesting twist upon it. I was, however, greatly disappointed. Gone was the beauty, romance and true horror I had come to expect. I was shocked. I was "grossed-out", but I felt nothing for the characters. What I did feel was an immense sadness and a great hope that the family of the Vietnamese-American boy that Dahmer killed NEVER, EVER, EVER read this book. If they do, they will get every gory detail of their son's/brother's death as fictionalized by Brite. That possibility disturbs me more than the graphic-ness of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the faint hearted..., 24 Jun. 2009
By 
Natalie Hansen (Finchley, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
I love my horror novels, I am surprised I had never come across Poppy Z. Brite before (maybe because she is not commercial enough for my local bookshop), but I am pleased I did!

First and foremostly, this is not a book for someone easily offended, or likes their horror novels to be more about suggestion and holding tension. This isn't for someone who wants their image of internal organs to remain looking like a string of sausages covered in tinned spaghetti - this is an out and out gore-fest, bodily fluid and faeces - the lot.

I agree with what someone previously said, the main gripe I have with this is that there naff all story line, and I did initially find it hard to keep track of the characters (especially as it was my commute read, and one character I would get to know on Monday, I would not see again until Wednesday, and by that point, I would have forgotten about them). However, what Exquisite Corpse does is allow Brite to show off her skill for creating interesting characters - and will draw you in and shove you head first into subject matters, such as AIDS, necrophilia and cannibalism, in all its sickening twisted glory sans sugar-coating, where many seasoned horror writers are too scared to tread. What truly impresses me is Brite's ability to get into the minds of people we would normally regard as monsters, vile creatures of the devil, and give them a short sharp breath of humanity.

What I could not help but notice, and I am not too sure whether this was intended or not, but with two of the main protagonists, Andrew and Jay, I couldn't help but see a number of events running in parallel with the lives of serial killers Dennis Nilson and Jeff Dahmler (two examples being the murder of a man with a "cut here" tattoo on his throat, and the victim trying to make his escape being picked up by the police and effectively given back to his attacker and would-be-killer respectively).

This is my first Poppy Z Brite novel, and it certainly will not be my last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gross in the extreme, but totally and utterly engrossing!!, 1 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
This book blew me away!!. After the first 5 pages I wasn't sure if I wanted to continue reading, however, I was on a flight across Europe and had nothing else to read so I persevered. I'm SO glad I did, I had it read by the time the plane landed!! This is an outstanding book, I'm a huge fan of Poppy Brite but put off ordering this one due to its subject matter, however true to form Poppy paints a realistic and fatal picture with necrophiliac canibals as her subject matter. I could not put this book down, felt a little strange at feeling I'd enjoyed reading it, but as with all her other books she kept me engrossed until the very end. How she depicts such gruesome subject matter and has the ability to portray the mind of a brutal serial killer is a mystery, all I know is she is one talented lady!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXQUISITE CORPSE, 1 Sept. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
This has to be one of the most fantastic books I have ever read. Her characters are not only real, but display what real people are like. I found myself hateing and loveing the different characters and it is very difficult to actually become attached to a character when they are mostly cardboard. Though her style in this book is much more gory than I am used to by her, I found it to be a most enjoyable and wonderful way to read. It is not every day you can find a book that makes you so sick that you must put it down and settle your stomach! Other books by Poppy Z. Brite include Drawing Blood. This is the first one of her books I read, and it made me a true lover of her work. I would have to say that she has certainly matured as a writer when it comes to her later work compaired to her recent. It seems she has found more ways to work her magic into our minds, and in my case, my stomach! I do hope to see more of her work in the future, and Poppy, if you are reading this, just know that I am by far your biggest fan, and can only hope to be a fantastic writer like you someday. You may be asking yourself why it is I gave this book five stars. You have to look at the aspects of her style. She writes in a way that, as I stated above, can work wonders right into your mind. Her books, especially this one, was impossible to put down and a heart brake to finnish, as I have found with all of her books. She seems to have re invented the murderer in this book, and it seems like she is a damn good inventor! So, I give this, and much more praise to anyone who will listen, Poppy Z Bright is a fantastic and soulful writer that desirves much much more than she gets in terms of recognition. I cannot talk of most places, but most people around here have not herd of her. I can only hope she will have a priority over King and Koontz some day. In conclusion, I have to say that if you have not read this book yet, don't! You really have to read her earlier works, like Wormwood, Lost Souls, and Drawing Blood to truely understand her as a person as well as a writer. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply exquisite..., 4 July 2002
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
I was apprehensive about this book - reviews had consistently said it was different from Poppy's other works, and particularly graphic and shocking - however, when I read it I found that it captivated me as much as Poppy's other works had, and I didn't find the style particularly different or the contents THAT shocking - perhaps I'd been prepared by reviews etc. but the most graphic scenes, whilst certainly explicitly gorey and disturbing, were no more so than in other books not considered to be of the horror genre - i.e. Brett Easton Ellis' American Psycho - and, as with Poppy's other books, the characters are so three dimentional that the book plays like a film in your mind as you read it - the reader is forced to care about them, feel their emotions and in this book that includes the 'bad guys', so often kept insular by authors - and the plot is expertly crafted, several subplots running alongside each other without confusion and coming together perfectly. Anyone who has enjoyed Brite's other books will almost surely enjoy this one just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely amazing, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
Poppy Z Brite's work never fails to amaze me. I have read most of her novels and short stories and was worried that this one would not live up to my expectations...I was wrong. After the first chapter it became clear that this would be as astounding as 'Lost Souls' and 'Drawing Blood'. The characters are explored in depth, you are drawn in to their lives, into their world and the hidden depths of the French Quarter of New Orleans.
Exquisite Corpse is a compelling read, holding my attention until its violent end. This is by far Poppy's most disturbing novel to date however the arresting way in which she writes means no matter how shocked or disgusted by what you read you will not be able to draw yourself away!
I recommend this to all Poppy fans and anyone with an open mind, vivid imagination and a strong stomach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very close to the bone, 26 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Lost Souls but this was not my sort of thing at all. Brite's style is very readable and I had no problem getting through it, I guess a kind of morbid fascination drove me on. It's not horrific but it is pretty gruesome, perhaps it is a bit too close to the bone.
The passages set in England betray a lack of research as there are numerous inaccuracies. I'll be sticking to stuff that has a more supernatural flavour in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Darkest Side, 9 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Exquisite Corpse (Paperback)
Having been recently introduced to the writing of Poppy Z Brite I was immediately entranced by the first few pages. A lover of writing and reading gothic fiction, I found the immense detail Poppy gives to her horrific subject hideously enjoyable. You are drawn into the darkest side of human nature through the eyes of Andrew Compton and the third person narratives of Jay, Tran and Luke. Each page reveals new horror. At times difficult to read on, the novel takes you into the depths of despair with at times enlightening sensitivity and leaves you shocked and disgusted. A truly gripping read which engenders both empathy and utter distaste for the actions and emotions portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exquisite Corpse
Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite (Paperback - 21 Aug. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews