Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive
Genny is sidhe, a noble fae living in London and she has a secret, well perhaps more than one. She works for Spellcrackers, a witch run organisation which helps remove spells for their clients. Genny's fae magic means she can see the spells and unwrap them but she's not so good at casting them herself. She blames this on her condition, infected with V3, vampire venom...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Curiosity Killed The Bookworm

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan
This book is not at all to my liking. I don't like the characters, the plot is okay,if somewhat convoluted, but the execution is horrible. My husband liked it okay, but it left me cold. Oh, except when it left me raging. Mz McLeod? Real Goths can and do wear PVC all the time. It does NOT make you a cheap fake Goth. Kthnxbi.
Published on 9 Nov. 2011 by Ann Kowles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Genny is sidhe, a noble fae living in London and she has a secret, well perhaps more than one. She works for Spellcrackers, a witch run organisation which helps remove spells for their clients. Genny's fae magic means she can see the spells and unwrap them but she's not so good at casting them herself. She blames this on her condition, infected with V3, vampire venom which draws her close to the very creatures she wants to avoid. When a celebrity vampire is accused of murder, she finds herself being coerced into investigating...

The Sweet Scent of Blood marks the start of an addictive urban fantasy series by Suzanne Mcleod. Her world is full of magical creatures but grounded in a very familiar London. There's plenty of brooding, handsome vampires but Genny doesn't go all swoony and I love her attitude throughout. Even when she has her moments of weakness, she seems to give herself a mental prod to keep her on the straight and narrow. There's just the right amount of sexy without it descending into porn.

The plot is twisty and turny, with lots of interesting and potentially suspicious characters. It's a classic mystery with a supernatural twist and a smattering of humour. I loved that there was an office bet to find out if Finn, the satyr, has a tail underneath his glamour and that the goblins bling themselves up. It's a fantastical and well thought out world that I just didn't want to leave.

I liked her use of V3 as a medical condition. Vampires can choose to inject their venom when they feed which creates willing blood slaves. The venom acts as a drug which not only makes them more attracted and attractive to vamps, but affects them physically; causing their red blood cells to multiply...more food for the vamps but also dangerous if they don't let blood on a regular basis. Of course, Genny being fae, she is extra tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable New Series, 7 July 2009
The Sweet Scent of Blood is about Genny, the only sidhe living in London, who works for Spellcrackers.com cleaning up or `cracking' spells which have been created by various brownies, pixies or other magical creatures and are causing havoc around the city. Like in many urban fantasy novels, this is a world in which the supernatural and magical are part of everyday life. The plot itself focuses on the death of a famous vampire's girlfriend, and Genny's subsequent involvement as she is dragged into the case by various interested parties who believe Melissa's death was caused by magic.

This book is jam-packed with non-stop action and has a large cast of characters from vampires to witches to trolls, and it is probably because of this that the real bad guys are a surprise up until the end. The author has also set up the ground work for characters, relationships and various subplots in this book which look to make for an thrilling new series. The writing style is a little reminiscent of early Anita Blake, especially in Genny's visits to the police station, in which the suspicions of police officers, the Dolph-like character of Hugh and even the characters of the vampires themselves have echoes of early Laurell k. Hamilton. The continuous action, heavy on the police procedural and metaphysical, also reminded me in a good way of Anita Blake at her best, but with the interesting twist of Genny's sidhe magic keeping it fresh and entertaining.

As much as I enjoyed the book overall, a few things did annoy me enough to give it 4 and not 5 stars. Firstly, a lot of the time the writing is a little confusing, making it difficult to understand what's going on at times and why. This is particularly true of Genny's infection with part of the vampire virus, or V3, which we are told about early on in the novel. It is never made exactly clear whether the symptoms she experiences are due to this infection (or in fact precisely how she was infected) or to her own heritage, and everything about her vampiric alter-ego had me utterly baffled. Secondly, the story did lag a bit around the middle with no obvious direction. I also found the heroine's visit to the vampire club a little inconsistent, considering she previously had done everything she could to avoid all vampires and that her sidhe blood was irresistible to them, not to mention her reasons for going were pretty flimsy.

Despite these problems The Sweet Scent of Blood is a quality addition to urban fantasy, and one I found enjoyable to read. It has a little bit of romance, with a promise of more in the next book, lots of magic and mystery and an exciting new heroine. I would recommend it to any fans of the genre as the beginning of what looks to be a great series, and I will definitely be looking out for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start for a new urban fantasy series, 2 Nov. 2008
By 
J. Cooper "Jude" (Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweet Scent of Blood (Spellcrackers) (Paperback)
A very good book that has the potential to become an excellent series. And set in London which instantly gives a few bonus points to British readers of urban fantasy - currently I feel I know Seattle better than London and I lived in London for 18 years!
Great characters, led by Genny, the part sidhe, part other things (so as not to spoil it) and great locations - I loved the fact that Suckertown was really Greenwich. Lots of potential to develop in different directions.
My only debate is that it needs aspects of light to go with the dark - if it is permanent gloom and doom then you have no contrast to compare the terrible things with the good or happy things. In this it reminded me of Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampires series. For that alone I gave it 4*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing British fantasy, 24 April 2012
The Sweet Scent Of Blood is the first in the Spellcrackers.com series and British author Suzanne McLeod's debut book. The story is jam packed with action, the plot is intricate and the world building complex; which keeps you guessing to the end.

The Sweet Scent Of Blood hooks you from the beginning and takes you on a wild ride through a modern London where supernaturals exist side by side with the mundane. Suzanne McLeod has written vampires the way they should be written, as well as a array of witches, trolls and other supernaturals.

As a long time book addict, it's not often I come across a book that that I absolutely adore; that leaves me excited for the next instalment without having a giant cliffhanger killing me with frustration. But what I loved most was reading an urban fantasy that takes place in familiar settings. To see these places the author describes, in a new light.

If you like Dark urban Fantasy which don't need explicit scenes or cliffhangers to keep you wanting more, you'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothically Great, 13 April 2010
Well first off I'm not going to rehash the blurb for you. This book is so good I borrowed it from the library and then had to go out and buy it. I appreciate the vastly bi-polar reviews may leave you thinking what's going on with this but hear me out. I am a huge reader and my tastes encompass many genres but since my teens (I am now in my 30's) I have had a major soft spot for vampire and fae themed fiction which lead me to the urban fantasy genre which in the most case is written by American writers. I loved this book for the fact it is set in London. Also it is aimed at adults, since the release of the the Twilight Saga there seems to be a dearth of badly written vamp fiction being pushed under the YA bracket. The other thing I loved about this is Ms McLeod has not taken the faerie or vamp lit porn route. The thing for me is it seems to be reclamation almost of the British heritage for gothic fiction. It's not pretty, it is dark. We have a heroine Genny Taylor who is the only Sidhe Fae living in London with the Vampire Virus, as vulnerable as she is strong. We have seductive vampires and straight laced trolls. It is an emotional rollercoaster of a book. I have to give it a 5* rating as I simply cannot wait to read the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series, 12 Feb. 2012
I came across this series by chance at the library and since then have bought the books. The story is fast moving and because it has magic as a major theme can change unexpectedly, but I makes for a great story. I read the books one after the other, then immediately re-read them to take it all in. A week later the story and characters are still alive in my imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Jun. 2010
Just gave this a try and loved it. The blurb put me off a bit as while I like vampire urban fantasy some of the fae stuff can be a bit weird but this was brilliant. The writing and story are brilliant the vampires are a good mix of bad guys and good guys but they are all scary no bleeding heart vamps present.

I thought the main character was excellent and you can really emphasize with the character. And best of all the action and intrigue are all in the front seat if there is a real romance plot in this I've yet to really see it only hints of one in the future.

This is great new Urban Fantasy and I'm looking forward to the series. And as a plus its set in the UK which is a great break from all the US stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
sl Ratcliffe (midlands, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweet Scent of Blood (Spellcrackers) (Paperback)
This was a fabulous read, refreshing for a british author to master a novel of this genre. If you like Christine Feehan, Laurell k Hamilton, Kim Harrison etc then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets better the more you read..., 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A strange one this one...the way the characters were introduced kept giving me a nagging feeling I'd missed something somewhere, as though I was starting a series part way through. As such, I didn't really enjoy the book too much to begin with, however the plotline was intriguing enough to get me to read on...and I'm glad I did.
By the time I was about half way through the book on my kindle I couldn't put it down, and I can't wait to read the next one. I'd advise you to persevere with it as there are some interesting themes here, and the books is unlike any others I've read in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet Scent of Victory, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
Lisa Hamilton (Perth, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweet Scent of Blood (Spellcrackers) (Paperback)
Suzanne McLeeod has created a great read with The Sweet Scent of Blood.

The story is about Genny a Sidhe fae who works for Spellcrackers.com. An organisation run by Witches which provides Genny with protection from Vampires. Roberto aka Mr October aka Bobby a sexy vampire calander pin up is accused of the murder of Melissa his girlfriend. Genny is forced to investigate the mysterious death. This plunges Genny into the vampire world, a world that she is desperate to avoid at all costs. In the course of the investigation Gennys life is put on the line constantly. Her job is at risk and with her job in jeopardy the Witches protection it affords is forfeit. There are one or two secret that Genny is desperate do not see the light of day and unfortunately it is not only Genny's neck on the line but all her friends as well.

I highly recommend this book and found that from page one I was engrossed. The only problem I had with the book was that in some places you really have to concentrate as you may loose vital plot threads. For that reason I was considering giving this book four stars but overall the book was such a good read that I could not bring myself to do so. I highly recommend this book and think it is a great addition to the genre and have already pre-ordered the second in the series. Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweet Scent of Blood (Spellcrackers)
The Sweet Scent of Blood (Spellcrackers) by Suzanne McLeod (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews