Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent debut novel
I'd heard this debut novel was similar to both Iain Banks' and Dan Simmons' universes, and I was pleased to note that this was true - though only on a surface level. There's a very strong sense that the author sees the novel form as a vehicle for exploring science fact. It isn't hard to accept that this man is a hard scientist in his actual life, and even easier to accept...
Published on 7 Aug 2001

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and interesting but...
Having read Reynolds' second book Chasm City, I decided to try his first, Revelation Space. It is set in the same universe, where mankind has splintered into different sects and groups, and travels the galaxy at just under the speed of light in giant "lighhuggers."
Revelation Space revolves around the destruction of an alien species a million years before...
Published on 5 April 2006 by Avidreader


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent debut novel, 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I'd heard this debut novel was similar to both Iain Banks' and Dan Simmons' universes, and I was pleased to note that this was true - though only on a surface level. There's a very strong sense that the author sees the novel form as a vehicle for exploring science fact. It isn't hard to accept that this man is a hard scientist in his actual life, and even easier to accept that he's a passionate man in his imagined one. I don't think I have ever read science fiction that marries 'hard' sci-fi with a convincing narrative quite so assuredly. I was initially gripped by the solidity of his universe, but as the manifold plot lines began to unfold that all seemed to take a background role to the lives and motivations of his characters. I was never less than completely engrossed, and I put this down to Reynolds' keen eye for what is actually interesting in the sci-fi form. The primary 'revelation' for this reader was Reynolds' ability to create a dystopian future that is, intrinsically new. From Lighthugger ships and their nauseatingly intimidating weapons, through to the stupendous alien artefact we come to see a central to the story, there is always an underlying sense of purpose and symmetry. If you've read Banks, Simmons, Hamilton or even Sagan (and were impressed) then buy this book. It is that rare thing: an original science fiction universe; one you recognise but have never visited. Hard science fiction for non-'hard' sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When space opera meets hard science fiction, 30 April 2009
By 
Panagiotis Karatasios (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation Space (Paperback)
A.Reynold's Revelation Space is, perhaps, the most original product of science fiction in the last 20 years at least since Baxter's Xeele universe. The wrighter brings in the genre a unique and almost genious compination os space opera (mystery, andventure, futuristic technologies, starships and large spans of space and time) with the themes and scientific plausibility of hard science fiction. The basic theme of his books is, ofcourse, the answer to fermi paradox together with a plausible vision of humanity's future in the stars.The prose is not great but it is good. But reynolds is a master in world building in a way that only the old masters of the '50s achieved. The central mystery is trully cosmological nothing less than the mystery of the universe itself. The plot is original and intriguing sometimes even fascinating and it is benefited from Reynolds's use of the relativistic effects of sublight space travel compined with a complicated narrative told from different viewpoints coming from different characters who start in different points in space and time and are gradually converging as the mystery builds in. Some people found the end unsutisfying but it is not an and at all. It is only a provisional end. If you want to apreciate Reynolds's universe you must read all the 3 books in the trilogy plus Chasm city and the novella Galactic North in the short story collection with the same name.
Ali in all it is a tour de force and a trully original and authentic voice in contemporary science fiction litterature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Sci-Fi, 7 Aug 2005
I love this book, like some people, I was bored by the first few pages, they didn't cut it for me. But I stuck at it and realised this book is a gem. The way Reynolds uncovers the plot piece by piece is beautiful.
Keep and eye on the dates underneath each chapter, story lines interupt each other and they are usually from different places at a different time. You have to create a timeline in your head with all these storylines on it. This may be confusing for some, but by the last third of the book Reynolds has tied them all together.
This is a beautifully written book, one of the best things about it is the lack of beauty described. Don't expect elegant space ships with nice gleaming curves, because there aren't many in this book.
Great read, recommended to all Science Fiction fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Revelation Space' gives hard-SF a new credibility., 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revelation Space (Paperback)
Revelation Space is a sophisticated, gripping and satisfyingly well written novel that elevates the hard-SF genre above the undignified mire of techno-fetishism. This is a big book that many a poor trekkie will find heavy going, but for others its quality of prose, ingenuity of plot and clarity of vision will make it a satisfying and grippingly addictive read. In many ways 'Revelation Space' brooks several hard-SF trends. Alistair Reynolds has created a story of complex drama and progressive characterisation that few other SF authors come close to achieving. From the very beginning a disturbing sense of disclosure unfolds from a troubled archaeological dig on a long-dead alien world. The painstaking and thorough toil of the archaeologists, familiar to any viewer of "Time Team", is an immediate and reassuringly human contrast to the consumerist high-tech whiz-bang we normally expect to find at the heart of a pulp SF novel. Not that this book is short on titanic machines, terrifying weapons and twisted biologies. The story's Faustian central character is a convincing portrait of irrational brilliance and ontological paradox that lays bare the far-reaching implications of present day developments in genetics and machine intelligence. Alistair Reynolds is showing us how Western concepts of identity and subjectivity are being eaten alive by their own children, and Revelation Space takes us brilliantly to the endgame of our nihilistic techno-driven culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first science-fiction masterpiece of the millennium!, 27 July 2001
By A Customer
Alastair Reynolds has produced an amazing masterpiece (an incredible debut!) blending the extrapolations of hard science with unforgettable characters set in a possible and disturbing future five centuries from now. This is a thinking person's novel, not light reading to be finished overnight. The conceptions from nanotechnology, astrophysics, genetic engineering, and computer science will stimulate you and keep you thinking long after finishing the book. It is so well written, that despite its length I was left wishing it would continue for a few hundred pages more. The vast panorama of intergalactic history and conflict, spanning billions of years, and the original ideas the author presents establish him as one of the most powerful voices of modern science fiction, in the tradition of Arthur Clarke, A.E. van Vogt, Jack Williamson, and a very few others. Although the power of this novel emerges primarily from the dizzying vistas of the future and the alien artifacts and civilizations it paints in cataclysmic brush strokes, it also features outstanding characters not easily forgotten: Khouri, the soldier assassin, and Ilia Volyova, the dynamic Triumvir on the starship Infinity, are easily two of the strongest female characters in sf literature, and the pathos of Dan Sylveste will long linger in memory as well. This novel is a first rate masterpiece of the calibre of Clarke's CHILDHOOD'S END, Williamson & Gunn's STAR BRIDGE, and A.E. van Vogt's VOYAGE OF THE SPACE BEAGLE. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 5 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revelation Space (Paperback)
I thought this book was excellent. The plot is effectively summarised elsewhere; suffice to say that the task of drawing together three (or more) main threads from different locations and times to an original climax is skilfully done, with a pace that kept me reading well into the night. Revelation Space takes a while to absorb (it's big), but it was well worth it. Mr Reynolds' writing can feel somewhat densely-packed - you have to absorb adjective after adjective - but these adjectives end up crawling through your mind afterwards as remnants of the dank scenarios portrayed in the story. It's an extremely effective method to drag you into the atmosphere. Technological ideas are scattered throughout the book with abandon these can seem throwaway but on consideration they all seem to be plausible. It's too easy to just make these up, and it's impressive that you find yourself trusting these interpolations of what we know (there's no easy assumption of faster-than-light travel for instance). An effective and interesting book, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I don't read much science fiction, but I'm glad I picked this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction To an Exciting Universe, 8 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic novel from Alastair Reynolds who really took a gamble with this in my opinion, and it paid off spectacularly.

Throughout the book the author continually demonstrates his significant grasp of Physics (he was working at Cern at the time afterall), and his painting of a future universe which is not all wine and roses is refreshing.

However he does have a tendancy to let himself down by overdoing the physics by intoducing overcomplicated technobabble where its sometimes not required, this can detract from the tension that he has so expertly built up and this can spoil certain scenes.

The sense of claustrophobia and lonleliness with the Volyova story arc is masterful storytelling. The story builds to a tumultous conclusion which leaves you really wanting more from this universe and the characters involved.

A great intoduction to a vast new universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class of its own. (Iain M Banks an exception), 21 Dec 2007
By 
Night Writer (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
I picked up a copy of Absolution Gap in a charity shop and it spent around 6 months languishing on the shelf while I read what I thought were better books.

Once opened though I spent the first 3 hours reading the next on Amazon buying all his other works. This and others pure class.

The only other author I get as excited about when a new book is on the way is Iain M Banks (Sci-fi and others). If you like this try his as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and aggressive., 2 May 2005
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the hardest books I have read, though certainly not THE hardest, as it quickly sets its pace as heavy science fiction. Perhaps the happy medium between the elaborate science fantasies of Iain M Banks and the intense descriptions of Arthur C. Clark. Reynolds paints the portrait of the future with a brush that both can invision all the unknown fantasies as well as respect even the most detailed levels of astrophysics and science.

The story seemed to be quite slow to start, bouncing between three different characters whose destinies are bound to converge: Sylveste - a fantastic and renown archeologist who uncovers the remains of a long dead alien species on a barren moon and becomes infatuated with uncovering the secrets of their mysterious demise. Khouri - a soldier/bounty hunter who is hired to track down Sylveste and kill him, though she is never told why. Volyova - a weapons specialist aboard an interstellar starship, crewed by a handful of cyborgs, who seek Sylveste and the artificial simulation of his father, who may be the only man who can cure their dying Captain.

The story is a complicated one, set over a stretch of fifteen years from the first discovery of the remains of an ancient civilisation, to the end where all the different pieces of the story fit together.

Whilst the telling of the story is fantastic and very elaborate, I could not help but feel a small bit dissapointed towards the end. Given the length of the book and the patience that it expects of the reader, the story certainly could have been made more interesting or with a better twist at the ending. Many ideas were not covered as well as they could have been, the Shrouds for example were suggested to be the hiding grounds of the technologies of long since departed alien species, though they are never explained in the detail that they deserve. Perhaps that is something to be covered in the later books.

One thing to be certain is that this book marks the opening of a very interesting and fresh series of science fiction novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very promising debut novel. Character development was similar in style to Peter Hamilton (without the overt sexuality) - the characters were flawed and some unlikeable, although this did take away some of the empathy one might feel towards them. The plot was broad and the time scales involved mind boggling, whilst not being too complex for the reader to follow without backtracking. Ending was nicely drawn out and written, with just enough questions left to make people go back for more.
Only gripe? The Russian woman on the lighthugger (Volvoya from memory?) - maybe one too many leaps of insight and understanding to allow the story to flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelation Space
Revelation Space by Alastair Reynolds (Paperback - 11 Dec 2008)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews