Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fears and tears
As with other novels by Dan Simmons, the worst horror is the reality so movingly depicted. The real monster is Calcutta, a city dedicated to Kali, goddess of death, with its open morgues and its fresh dead on the morning streets - something that should be dead, but putrefyingly persists. This is not the only source of horror, however - at least one scene in an unlit...
Published on 6 Jan. 2004 by Tobias Murran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric.
This reads a little like an old fashioned horror, all about the atmosphere rather than the events themselves with lots of exotic native colour.

Robert is a decent character who behaves in a perfectly reasonable and believable manner as things get progressively weirder and worse.

The pace never seems hectic even at the climax but there is always...
Published on 31 Oct. 2010 by plot hound


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An odd but well crafted tale, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Kali (Kindle Edition)
It is an odd, compact little tale. An assignment takes a journalist, his wife and young daughter to Calcutta. Here, his pursuit of the story and recovery of a collection of poetry purported to be recently authored by a dead writer, lure him into the darker, grimy depths of the city and it's cultures, ultimately drawing both himself and his family inexorably into a nightmare scenario. Satisfying, well paced, engaging story telling. I felt frustrated, menaced and begrimed! It's Mr Simmons on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and powerful, 6 Jun. 2012
Calcutta (Kolkata) is a city unlike anywhere else I have ever visited. The writing in this book is beautifully detailed and captures the violence, desperation and passion of the city in a way that could only be achieved through acute observation. Once started it was hard to put down. Since I've finished it has stayed on my mind. The next book I read has a lot to live up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) (Paperback)
This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. The plot is really rather minimal but do not be put off by that. The descriptions of Calcutta and Kali really get under your skin and you will not be able to put the book down until you have finished it. Wish there was more books with such spine chilling descriptions. If in doubt just buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing, 14 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) (Paperback)
A "must" read book . It's got the most brilliant backdrop for a story and the way dan Simmons describes places and people it makes you feel like your in the book living the horror with the main characters . By page 10 you won't want to put the book down... Page turner .. Enjoy... I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny read if you know Calcutta!, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) (Paperback)
This is quite a funny book for those who live in or have spent some time in Calcutta. There are lines such as "the Goonda brotherhood of Calcutta is older than the Kapalik Society" which will bring laughter to anyone who is familiar with these words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy addition to the Dan Simmons works I have read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More horror story than science fiction perhaps along the lines of Steven King's works. Increasingly nightmarish spin to story although relieved a little at the end. Describes the brooding menace and abject poverty in a believable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting..., 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great first novel and clearly demonstrates the fruits of his later greatness but slightly overwrought. However, an important start in reading the Simmons canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Behold Calcutta, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Kali (Paperback)
I liked this book very much. It is not very heavy, but the author does a very good job in decribing the city and installing a sense of dread in the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) (Paperback)
Bought for my husband - he loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Hollycat (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) (Paperback)
This is the best Dan Simon s book I have read. Good story and setting and not too long and dense which I found with some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks)
Song of Kali (Fantasy Masterworks) by Dan Simmons (Paperback - 21 Aug. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews