Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fantasy fiction
I've been a fan of Barclay's Raven ever since the first novel Dawnthief and have followed with keen interest the development of the characters as well as Barclay's writing style (improved significantly with each book).
This is his finest book yet, but new readers be warned - don't start here, this is not a novel you will enjoy as much without reading it's...
Published on 31 July 2003 by D. Mutton

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trailing Off.....
Having thoroughly enjoyed the other books i must say that i was dissapointed with this offering. Having killed off most of the original cast Barclay has replaced them with sub standard copies and this series is now starting to drag it's heels in the dirt. This book lacks the pace and intensity that the others had. Worth a read if only to finish off storylines that have...
Published on 24 Jan. 2004 by catirifire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fantasy fiction, 31 July 2003
By 
D. Mutton (Amersham, UK) - See all my reviews
I've been a fan of Barclay's Raven ever since the first novel Dawnthief and have followed with keen interest the development of the characters as well as Barclay's writing style (improved significantly with each book).
This is his finest book yet, but new readers be warned - don't start here, this is not a novel you will enjoy as much without reading it's predecessors. For the full effect start at the beginning with Dawnthief, Noonshade and Nightchild, but if that is too much definitely read the 1st book in this series Elfsorrow.
Shadowheart picks up straight after Elfsorrow and the plot is relatively simple: The Dark College of Magic, Xetesk wants to do X (I will not spoil it for you), the Raven and the other colleges disagree, the Wesmen have their own ideas, add in a dying Dragon, Elves with a big score to settle, a Raven mage struggling to control the One Magic and the result is non-stop, page-turning action from start to finish which made me wonder which he would run out of first - Elves, Mages or the Raven themselves.
The characters are intense and believable, fighting against the odds for what they believe is right, whilst mourning a great loss. The writing is superb making it easy to visualise the action, hear the sounds of a frantic siege and smell the stench of magically burnt flesh (of which there is rather a lot). Coupled with emotional scenes when the Raven is stretched almost to breaking point, make this book a classic of fantasy fiction. I can't wait for the final installment in this trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non stop action, 1 Aug. 2003
Shadowheart continues the Raven saga in a well trodden path, battles, viscreal description, continual cliffhanger endings, pursuit, chases, magic and danger. The characters have developed beyond ciphers for the action, and although cursed with fantasy book albatros of silly names, seem likable and make agreeable companions. Having bought the first, I continued to read the rest in quick succession. They are undemanding, exciting, escapist, and although not expousing great insight into the human condition, provide a rollercoaster ride through another world. I can't wait for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting thin on the ground., 9 April 2008
That is the Raven are, having lost members. The core of the group are still there but the lost members aren't fully replaced as the events are happenning in a fairly short space of time. Still the events sweep everything along, and the Raven do what they can to save the day, or more acurately the Julatsan college of magic.
All the elements that make the raven books great are here, and the pace is pretty good, however it really does feel more like a middle chapter than a book in its own right. If you haven't read the others start at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
second in this series and still gripping. next one please.
Great
Enjoyed this series more than Game of Thrones, at least the characters here have a purpose before getting killed off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent as always, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Action packed from start to finish, never letting up. Not as much nuance as previous books, but a fun ride all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shadowheart, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always this was a brilliant bit of writing, left me wondering to the end who'd live and who'd die by the end of it all. Now i'm on Demonstorm, which picks up just where Shadowheart left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi I am still reading this book as I have read the others in this sect and find it riveting

Thanks. Aileen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How much more exciting can these stories get and still grip the reader to never want them to not continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic read am so glad i found this author think well on a parr with Eddings once again a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trailing Off....., 24 Jan. 2004
Having thoroughly enjoyed the other books i must say that i was dissapointed with this offering. Having killed off most of the original cast Barclay has replaced them with sub standard copies and this series is now starting to drag it's heels in the dirt. This book lacks the pace and intensity that the others had. Worth a read if only to finish off storylines that have been hanging around since Dawnthief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadowheart: Legends of the Raven (Legends of the Raven 2)
Shadowheart: Legends of the Raven (Legends of the Raven 2) by James Barclay (Paperback - 13 Nov. 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews