Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone but never forgotten
The last of the Raven books and well worth waiting for. Not many authors can produce six books on a single story line and keep them all exciting, taking you with the characters as they live and die, but Barclay has succeeded. In this book we reach the final apocalypse against the demons. The heroes are older and slower not the Raven of old but a wiser more mature group...
Published on 10 Sep 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book to start with
I found this book in the library. When I got to page 50 I noticed they were still fighting and there was very little hint of a story. And so it went on ... and on ... It would be a good book with 150 fewer pages, and even better with 200 fewer. It's a good story, but you need patience and I would not recommend this unless you were familiar with the Raven books and...
Published on 14 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone but never forgotten, 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last of the Raven books and well worth waiting for. Not many authors can produce six books on a single story line and keep them all exciting, taking you with the characters as they live and die, but Barclay has succeeded. In this book we reach the final apocalypse against the demons. The heroes are older and slower not the Raven of old but a wiser more mature group going out for one last time to save the world. It sounds trite but Barclay has you believing every step. He makes it work because they have grown and this time they know that they can't do it on their own and help comes from some unexpected quarters.
Obviously this is not a stand alone book, you need to start at the beginning and read all six but believe me it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Excellent Fantasy, 26 July 2004
By 
Anduy (Chippenham, Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Chronicles and the following Legends of the Raven are truly one of the best fanatsy sagas ever written. The plot is very fast-paced, drawing on multiple plotlines, to keep the action fresh and surprising.
In this the book, the Ravens six-year battle for their home continent draws to its climax, with their biggest challenge, not dragons, swordsmen or mages, but the invading force of an entire dimension - the demons.
This book is a fantastic end to a truly fantastic, genre-defining series. The action rushes astonishing description, yet what makes the books truly great are that they are not like other fantasy novels. In this, you a true sense of scale. You are dropped into the violent world of Balaia, which has thousands of years of history, more of which becomes apparent as the series draws towards its climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Like many here, I found this book incredibly gripping. It's a great way to end what became for me a much-loved series, and once again James Barclay will have you laughing one minute and leave a sizeable lump in your throat the next. I discovered the series by accident, and I can honestly say that the money I spent buying every single book, and reading them in the space of around two months, was well and truely worth it. I would recommend this series, and have done so over the last few months, to anyone who enjoys fantasy. It's just a shame that it's over now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is unbelievable, definitely one of the very best, 1 Oct 2005
By A Customer
The last in the Raven series, this book and all the others are so brilliantly written and have such fantastic plots, that it practically lets you live in the world that Barclay created. I can hardly believe that this came out of one man's mind. Sheer Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demonstorm, 16 Sep 2004
This is the final book in a truly remarkable series. Over the last six books you have grown close to The Raven and have learned to trust the author with their story. James Barclay doesn't betray your trust with the last story of The Raven. Demonstorm is filled with the desperate confusion of battles, cowardice and bravery by the spadeful, the sometimes awkward displays of love and sacrifice between friends and family with hope and humour thrown into the mix.
Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic end to a fantastic series, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
As with all the other books in the Raven series, Demonstorm is utterly riveting. James Barclay delivers a brilliant, refreshingly unpredictable plotline written so vividly that not only do you walk the roads of Blackthorne and the colleges, but you feel every twinge and sword/claw thrust delt out by Raven, human, dragon or demon (and there are many).
Demonstorm is the final book in the series. Every page is written at fever pitch and builds to such a climax that by the end all you can do is slump back and try to force it through your head that you've run out of pages. But despite this there is still room for the affection and banter that you've come to associate with Barclay's loveable mercenaries.
As mentioned above there is no point in reading Demonstorm until you've read the previous books but the investment is definitely worth it. It's probably my favourite of the 6 books (followed closely by Nightchild and Elfsorrow) and I know they'll all fall apart before I'm done reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bitter end, 17 Mar 2006
The end of the road for the raven. It is one of the best of the series, I won't spoil what happens for those of you who haven't read it yet.
As for those who have never read a Raven book, don't start here. Pick up dawntheif and work through.
These books have many nay sayers, to them I say, try again you are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One last time..., 1 Jun 2007
By 
This is without doubt my favourite of the Raven books. In the course of reading you experience humour, sadness, exultation and tragedy - it's a rollercoaster ride from start to finish. The story told with all the flair I've come to expect from a James Barclay book, the triumphs and tragedies hitting all the harder because you feel like you KNOW the raven.

the character development is superb, the story is epic and the dialogue between characters is fantastic. I just cannot praise the book enough - this is one of the books I now re read at least once a year, along with Legend by David Gemmel. And like Legend - it's a novel that moves me to tears every single time. Pure genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Romp, 27 Feb 2008
By 
I really didn't want to like this book.

Two reasons really. One, because this was a free gift with a book club. (Brilliant idea give him the sixth book in the series and make him buy the other five) and two because I had read some negative reviews.

I had a choice, take a risk and buy the first book in the series or just jump in near the end. Well I am glad I read this book as I have now found another must have author. Barclay writes with an incredible pace and the characters shine though their actions.

The battles are relentless and bloodthirsty. You can see how much the author likes the characters he has created in the passion he depicts in The Raven. The story is dotted with sadness and emotion. The Raven themselves provide plenty of humour with their banter.

Barclay gives plenty of nods to fans of the series and there is a scene in particular involving a face off between The Raven and "The Raven" which must have had fans drooling as they read through it.

I cannot recommend starting with Dawnthief as I have not read that yet but I will most certainly read it and soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book to start with, 14 Jan 2009
I found this book in the library. When I got to page 50 I noticed they were still fighting and there was very little hint of a story. And so it went on ... and on ... It would be a good book with 150 fewer pages, and even better with 200 fewer. It's a good story, but you need patience and I would not recommend this unless you were familiar with the Raven books and were keen to know what happened to them all in the end. Am now reading Dawnthief which is in a different class altogether and a real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demonstorm: Legends of the Raven (Legends of the Raven 3)
Demonstorm: Legends of the Raven (Legends of the Raven 3) by James Barclay (Paperback - 13 Nov 2008)
7.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews