Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly imaginative, but the ending is flawed
Set in the mid 21st century, this sci-fi novel, like Egan's later novel Diaspora, ties together many fascinating scientific and metaphysical ideas in a single book (The emphasis is very definitely on the "sci"). However, unlike Diaspora, there is a strong central theme underlying the story, a baffling idea called the "Dust theory". Any attempt to...
Published on 22 April 2000 by Neil Fitzgerald

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex but compelling.
In the near future humans can have their personalities scanned and stored in computers so that after they eventually die the Copies can be activated and can live on in an artificial virtual environment. However there are a few down sides to this sort-of-immortality. You have a dependency on computers which can only run at certain speeds and of course Earth and the...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by March Payne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly imaginative, but the ending is flawed, 22 April 2000
By 
Neil Fitzgerald "sdhkbsdalhthoclhnjkhowh" (asdhajklwehrjkhijhlks;ahng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
Set in the mid 21st century, this sci-fi novel, like Egan's later novel Diaspora, ties together many fascinating scientific and metaphysical ideas in a single book (The emphasis is very definitely on the "sci"). However, unlike Diaspora, there is a strong central theme underlying the story, a baffling idea called the "Dust theory". Any attempt to describe that theory here would be pointless, but I can say that it compels the reader to ponder some fundamental questions about the nature of reality. The theory is completely absurd yet not all that easy to refute. It has certainly caused me a few headaches... The dust theory is motivated and explained via another key theme in both this book and Diaspora - the concept of having a human "download" his mind onto a computer. Aside from the suspension of disbelief required in order to accept that such a thing is possible, Egan presents us with a well-thought-out and plausible scenario regarding these downloaded humans or "copies".
There are several other themes, of lesser importance, but fascinating in their own right, notably the "Autoverse": A piece of software that allows you to have complete control over your own virtual mini-universe - a world capable of modelling objects as complex as bacteria, down to the level of individual atoms.
Well that's the sci part. The human story behind all this doesn't have much intrinsic interest - the characters are vehicles for the ideas, and often one gets the impression that it is Egan who is speaking, not the character (they all seem to be uncannily good at making detached, intelligent comments on whatever is happening). This aspect didn't really bother me, as I think the ideas deserved some detached, intelligent commentary anyway.
The biggest flaw, I found, was the contrived ending. I won't go into details here, but needless to say, the dust theory turns out to be correct (in the story, at least). Once this is established, the author needs some kind of crisis with which to sustain the reader's interest, and it is this crisis, and the circumstances that brought it about, that I found to be rather contrived.
All in all though, I would definitely recommend Permutation City to any fan of "hard" sci-fi, or anyone interested in metaphysics or the philosophy of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex but compelling., 19 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
In the near future humans can have their personalities scanned and stored in computers so that after they eventually die the Copies can be activated and can live on in an artificial virtual environment. However there are a few down sides to this sort-of-immortality. You have a dependency on computers which can only run at certain speeds and of course Earth and the universe will not last forever so your immortality is going to be limited.

Enter Paul Durham, a man obsessed with creating a sanctuary which will give Copies geniune immortality for all eternity...

Permutation City is a novel full of big ideas which made my head hurt quite a bit while reading it. Several times I felt I had just got the gist of it and then another huge idea was slathered on top so I felt I was eating an impossible sandwich full of techno jargon and which upon eating was probably going to give me heart burn.

I am not a huge science head. I don't claim to be. I read this book because it was for a book group I'm a member of. At the end was I glad I had read it? Yes. Did I feel like I had got something out of it even though I didn't understand everything? Yes. Would I read another Egan book? Possibly.

On the whole this is a fascinating book but be prepared to feel stupid whilst reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 10 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
In the twenty first century it has become possible to noninvasively scan a human brain and implement the resulting data on a computer: Copies of human beings are alive and well in virtual reality.
Few science fiction writers can run as far with the implications as Greg Egan. Copies are just the premise, and before long we are in much deeper waters as one man begins to question the fundamental nature of reality. It's a magnificent exploration of the true implications of computationalism. If you feel the same when you're scanned and run on a supercomputer, would it feel the same to be run on a billion abacus over a billion years? To be accidentally implemented by the random shuffling of atoms across countless universes? Go read it and feel your mind boggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, read it and then think., 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
This book introduces the concept of running 'Copies' of people on computers on the very 1st page. But it is about so much more than Artificial Inteligence. Greg Egan explores concepts of existance and consciousness that I never knew existed.
This is just a SF book, but it has still changed my perspective of the world.
Read it and then think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, inspiring and magical, 15 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
I read this book in 1994. It still crops up daily in my mind. What would you do if your soul was offered immortality? Would you accept the offer? If not, why? And if you do, how would you spend the rest of eternity? There are passages in the book that I find I live my life by. I don't want to give the plot away - but if you are at all interested in the riddle of where the border between external and internal reality lies you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Permutation city' Greg Egan, 17 Jun 2004
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
In 'Permutation City' Egan contrasts the most utterly convincing techno mysticism, with a forensic inquiry into identity that will leave you unable to speak. This is a thoughful book that's interested in it's reader only in so far as it explores the possiblity of redemption, while teasing our obsession for escape. You can not but suspend your disbelief, but this a book that won't return the favour; leaving you forever spoil for writers of other stuff.
Note: it's not necessary to be familiar with cellular automaton, but if you are interested see Stephen Wolfram, A New Kind of Science, Wolfram Media Incorporated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning - and even better the second time you read it, 29 May 2010
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
This is not just sci-fi. It's a philosophical masterpiece.

If the following terms mean something to you, then you will absolutely love this book. If not, you should Google each of them, then read this book as quickly as possible. You will never think the same way again.

Cellular automata (Conway's Game of Life or "Wolfram NKS")
Turing test
Universal computer
Solipsism
Relativity
Quantum suicide

MMcA
"I exist because I exist." (You'll get it, trust me...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!Concept Vertigo!!!, 11 Jan 2010
By 
numpty (Great britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
Firstly; watch out for plot spoiler reviews!!
(it's not a mystery tour if you know where your heading)

Egan's work is 'Hard' Sci-Fi of the highest order. I give him the edge over Brian Aldis (my other favorite), as concepts are heavier and plots driven by 'rawer' science at a blistering pace.

His breadth of vision astounds; always extrapolating logically to the n'th degree. A modicum of effort may be required from the reader at times; but one is richly rewarded with a sense of awe, discovery and achievement. Each book is a Grand Odyssey.

Hold tight and don't look down, because he'll take you a long, long way from where you started....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Sep 2008
By 
Zoe (BOLTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Permutation City (Paperback)
I first read this book in the mid '90s and it has stuck with me ever since. As a vision of the future it is breathtaking; as a depiction of what could happen to someone who has achieved immortality in a world where everything they desire can be theirs in an instant, it is terrifying. Greg Egan paints a world that is both wonderful and horrific at the same time. It is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Permutation City (Kindle Edition)
If you are a lover of thought provoking science fiction then this book is for you. Beautiful read that sets the imagination running wild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Permutation City
Permutation City by Greg Egan (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews