Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good but read the previous books first, 5 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The River of Shadows (Paperback)
The ship has now reached the other side of the sea but finds that there are now no humans living there. This book deals with events on this sise of the sea with new revelations about the characters and new plot developments. The characters are all well written and are easy to identify with. However I found this book difficult to get into since there is NO summary of the previous booksand there is no character glossary included. I found it difficult to keep track of whose who in the book. Dispite this I found this book to be well written and an enjoyable read.
This review is for book 3 River of shadows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The River of Shadows, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third in the Chathrand Voyage series (of 4 books altogether). These books are a fantastically innovative and well written series which features incredibly well executed and indepth world building and an utterly brilliant storyline.

In this third book, the Chathrand has crossed the Ruling Sea and now finds land in the Bali Adro empire. The allies on the Chathrand of Pazel, Thasha, Hercol and the rest are still at a stand-off with Arunis who bides his time to get the Nilstone. Captain Rose and the imperial assassin Sandor Ott are playing their own games, although I wondered from time to time whether Rose was really still in his right mind, or had lost it completely. Felthrup desperately tries to get word on what he has found about Arunis to Thasha and the others before it is too late.

With new allies and enemies rising in the South, the alliance and the balance on board the Chathrand now moves to the dry land. Those who seek ultimate power not only in the South but over the whole world are starting to show their hand. Can Hercol, Thasha, Pazel and their friends protect the world from the Nilstone if Arunis gets hold of it? And just what is it that their enemies are trying to achieve?

Utterly brilliant, these books just keep getting better and better. The first book (The Red Wolf Conspiracy) requires concentrated reading to ensure that you don’t get confused by the amazing amount of information of people, places and contexts that is thrown at you. Once you settle into it you find yourself absorbed in this wondrous new universe that the author has created. I cannot wait to find out how the story concludes in the fourth and final book, The Night of the Swarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth the wait..., 10 Jun. 2011
By 
simon211175 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is every bit as good as the first two in the Red Wolf series (The Red Wolf Conspiracy: The Chathrand Voyage, Book One and The Rats and the Ruling Sea (Chathrand Voyage 2)), but I found it a struggle to remember where we were and who was who after waiting for so long since reading the last instalment.

Once I worked out what I was meant to already know, we were well away - the book flowed really well, and the several different sub-plots all fit together nicely. I did think there was a small amount of filler towards the end though, the section in the temple didn't feel as though it needed to be there, although perhaps it's necessary for the concluding book in the series - assuming I can remember it when that one is finally released next year.

Overall, there is a lot in this book to keep your interest. If you've read the first two books of this series, then you should read this one - I'd recommend searching for a quick plot summary of the first two beforehand though if like me, you read them as soon as they came out.

I would recommend this book, and this series. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series but sad that lack of character development lets it down, 19 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The River of Shadows (Paperback)
All in this series, to date, has gone from strength to strength and whilst it's a series that has done well on so many levels, it feels that it is the lack of character building that has really let it down. They're pretty standard fantasy fare and its been a great shame to have this overrule the sheer talent presented within. As usual the description and worldbuilding is magnificent, the prose outstanding and its the double dealing and politics that really sell Roberts work. If you can get past the character flaws then this is definitely a series that has made its mark on the fantasy world.

Finally add a pretty good authorly voice to the mix and its definitely something to pick up in my opinion, yes the characters have problems but it's the sheer passion and work within that make this a series worth pursuing for its engrossing nature as well as the cleverly woven arc within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid reader, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Shadows (Paperback)
Am really enjoying this last book in the series. What a pace! I'm very loth to put it down so am getting through it at an amazing rate, although it is a pretty big volume. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A consistently brilliant fantasy quadrology, 14 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Shadows (Chathrand Voyage 3) (Paperback)
I'm more of a science fiction than a fantasy fan, but I'm glad I tried out this consistently brilliant series. Redick is my new favourite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, read 'em all, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not going to give individual reviews for each of the books in this series because it would take me too long to say what I loved about it. But it's worth reading the lot if you like great fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River of Shadows (Chathrand Voyage 3)
The River of Shadows (Chathrand Voyage 3) by Robert V.S. Redick (Paperback - 8 Mar. 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews