Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a Relic. This is THE one.
Wow. Wasn't expecting that much. This 900 pages book look so huge and is fantastic with the black leatherbound cover. When first opening it you got a Arkham map illustrated on the inside of the cover. All the great stories of H.P. Lovecraft are in there, even some poems. They all have the original published date and infos on them too. It's like a Lovecraft Encyclopedia...
Published on 12 April 2008 by S. Mcgraw

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, but...
A collection of the best of H P Lovecraft's tales, in a book which is well crafted and beautifully presented.
But the proof reading and sub-editing are abysmal.
Mostly just irritating typos; 'this' instead of 'his', 'flight' instead of 'light' and the word 'he' omitted in error. These 3 examples from one short story alone (The Haunter of the Dark). But in other...
Published on 14 Mar. 2012 by Cruncher


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a Relic. This is THE one., 12 April 2008
By 
S. Mcgraw (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
Wow. Wasn't expecting that much. This 900 pages book look so huge and is fantastic with the black leatherbound cover. When first opening it you got a Arkham map illustrated on the inside of the cover. All the great stories of H.P. Lovecraft are in there, even some poems. They all have the original published date and infos on them too. It's like a Lovecraft Encyclopedia! There are just enough illustrations and at the end you got a LONG biography of Lovecraft beautifully written. For this price it's a steal. I must stop writing now, Cthulhu calls me! GET IT!

(For the glue on the back sticker it's pretty easy to remove. First get the sticker off and then stick it again where there is glue remaining. Do that several times and all the glue will be removed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Lovecraft collection, 18 April 2008
By 
Joshua Turnbull "Poncho the Wise" (Bristol, Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
It appears that I, unlike the other reviewers of this book, am a new edition to the legions of Lovecraft fans that I had until recently been completely unaware of. I have long since been a fan of horror film and have read my fair share of such obvious novelists as King, but never could have dreamt of something as elegant and terrifying in the nowadays all too neglected medium of the written word.
The tome itself bleeds horror; the black leather cover (which alone would suggest a much higher price) and occasional illustrations and even the feel of the pages spark the imagination, but it is undoubtedly Lovecraft's own artful imagery and originality that would be expected long after his time makes this a vital part of the collection of not just any horror fan, but any literary enthusiast.
However, as has been said before me, the sticker is the one blight of this book, and you must be prepared for a strenuous battle. The glue! THE GLUE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary vision, 7 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
Neil Gaiman once said that people should read Lovecraft because that is where the darkness started.

And he's not wrong.

This collection of short stories is a wonderful array of the strange, the very strange, and the "oh my god, what is that?!" It is wholly entertaining and original.

That said, I've marked one star down because there seems to be a problem with the editing - quite a few silly little errors seems to have slipped though, and it feels like Gollancz have rushed this.

That said, these stories are just great and it is easy to see where the Twilight Zone, X-Files and Lost got their inspiration. Even on to expanded literature like Stephen King's Mist, The and the amazing A Gathering of Twine (The Spirals of Danu), all take their cue from the master.

Well worth a read on a cold and stormy night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necronomicon, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. V. F. Hadley (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
Apart from the annoying sticker on the back, this is a book that any Lovecraft or horror fan worth their salt should treasure. It is as books should be - beautiful & hefty! The inside covers are a map of fabled Arkham and there is even the odd picture throughout. The book is presented to suit the mood of the stories within.

Unrelated to the actual quality of the book, but fitting to tell you about nonetheless, is when my copy arrived I opened it, squealed in excitement and then put it down. No sooner had I done that than the weather turned from a sunny morning to a big booming thunderstorm with sleet & hail! And if you like Lovecraft, or go read up on his works, you'll know why that is a very apt anecdote to put in this review! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Review: Superb - all e-books should be like this, 11 Jun. 2011
I've been looking for a better Lovecraft anthology ever since purchasing the slightly disappointing "The Definitive H.P. Lovecraft: 67 Tales of Horror in One Volume" (you can read my review). This is it.

I'll get the only downside out of the way first: it is nearly as much as the hardback, which I also purchased, and is thus not cheap. However, if you are willing to look past this you will find what I consider to be the best collection of Lovecraft stories I've ever found, and one of the best e-books I've ever purchased.

Many people have already reviewed the book, so suffice to say that unless you are a complete Lovecraft addict, you will not need anything else. The Kindle version is superb. It is as close to being an exact copy of the hardback that I'm convinced the two were prepared from the same digital manuscript. It has the same excellent illustrations, and mercifully few typos so far as I have read (each of which is also in the hardback, so it's not the result of lazy OCR scanning).

It has the full e-book treatment. You can navigate to the TOC, cover, beginning, end, location and even page corresponding to the hardback book. You can navigate between stories with the 5-way, fantastic when you just want to skip a story you know you're not keen on. It has all of the correct formatting, including headings, quotes and italicization of the book. It effectively is the hardback, except it isn't the size of a dictionary and doesn't weigh over a kilogram (nearly 3 pounds).

I have returned my copy of "The Definitive H.P. Lovecraft", citing the problems I raised in my review, for a full refund. I said there that "I'd pay three times this for a copy that's at least been proof read and given a proper e-book treatment." Well, I ended up paying nearly eight times as much, and I think it was worth it.

Other e-book publishers take note: this is how books should be done. Make them like this, and make sure they are no more expensive than the physical copy, and I will buy them.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am writing this under an appreciable mental strain, since by tonight I shall be no more..., 8 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Cooper "Deano" (England Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
Nothing much else to say what already hasn't been said to be honest. This is an incredible book of some of H.P Lovecraft's finest short story's. They are all different but most of them are connected into the 'Cthulu Mythos' which deals with entity's from other worlds, extra terrestrial and inter dimensional.

''Common themes in Lovecraft's fiction are the insignificance of humanity in the universe and the search for knowledge ending in disaster. Humans are often subject to powerful beings and other cosmic forces, but these forces are not so much malevolent as they are indifferent toward humanity. ''

You've got the terrific short story 'The Statement of Randolph Carter' at only 5 pages long, still manages to be highly creepy with the best end line I've ever read.

Then we have 'At the Mountains of Madness' at around 50 pages which centers on a groups expedition to the antarctic where they find that an ancient race once dwelled there.

You have tales about Rats, Cats, Aliens, and many other things to weird to mention!

Not one bad story here, and most of them are fantastic. I never thought that story's from nearly 100 years ago could be so thrilling and downright creepy, but i was proven wrong.

This is a must by for any fans of horror literature....

The end is near. I hear a noise at the door, as of some immense slippery body lumbering against it. It shall not find me. God, that hand! The window! The window!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, but..., 14 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
A collection of the best of H P Lovecraft's tales, in a book which is well crafted and beautifully presented.
But the proof reading and sub-editing are abysmal.
Mostly just irritating typos; 'this' instead of 'his', 'flight' instead of 'light' and the word 'he' omitted in error. These 3 examples from one short story alone (The Haunter of the Dark). But in other places the errors are much more serious.
For example, this sort of sentence from 'Cool Air' "My amateur efforts, however, proved of no use; and when I had new piston would have to be obtained." (sic). Shoddy.
Although HPL wrote mostly for the pulp magazines he was a meticulous craftsman. It is as much his style and precision as the sweep of his imagination that make him the important, influential and popular writer that he remains.
He deserves more care than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection of Lovecraft's weird tales, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
HP Lovecraft is widely acknowledged as one of the most influential horror writers in the genre, and rightly so. Necronomicon is a collection of some of his best work; some 800 pages-worth of suspenseful stories and toe-curling tales. Whilst it doesn't include all of his 96 or so works, it does feature a significant number of them, starting with the shorter, more accessible stories and working up to the longer novellas, including The Dream Quest of Unknown Kadath and The Case of Charles Dexter Ward, both of which are around 100 pages long. Lovecraft's work is beautifully written, and his language puts many writers today to shame.

Necronomicon's stories are tales of the unknown, with mysterious and horrible entities, re-animated corpses and odd cults all making appearances. The tales are slow-burners, ramping up the tension without revealing much, until the last minute. They're very satisfying to read, and it's a great genre. Whilst it might not be to everyone's tastes - it can sometimes feel slow and slightly arduous going, it can also be absolutely compelling.

At the end of the book, there's a brief biography of HP Lovecraft and an account of the writers, films and games that his writings have influenced - and it's a long list. The book itself is beautifully set out - it's a large, chunky, satisfying hardback with a few illustrations throughout. The one annoyance, which other reviews have touched upon, is the label on the back - it's quite hard to get off without leaving bits of itself still on the back cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb edition - finally!, 9 April 2008
By 
Terje Huse "MycroftsMatch" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
This is truly a most worthy edition of the master's tales - and the price is laughable! A bargain if there ever was one!

I must, however, give vent to my anger regarding one point. It would seem as though the fine people at Gollancz - unknowingly, I'm sure - have amongst their ranks a daemon! This fiend has revealed its presence to me by its ingenious manoeuvre of making sure that the sticker on the back of the book (combined price- and barcode sticker) has been applied using the most heinous kind of glue heretofore known to Man! Upon having removed the sticker, I found, much to my dismay that the slime, which lay hidden beneath, would not yield without a fierce fight; and it is with sore fingers I now write these words of warning. So either keep the sticker or be prepared to set aside some time for removing the glue.

In conclusion I'd like to express my hopes that Gollancz will follow up this release with similar editions of other authors such as, say, Clark Ashton Smith. Well, one can always hope ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice collection, but..., 14 July 2010
By 
D. McDonagh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
The complaints about the sticker on the back cover draw attention away from a more obvious problem: the fact that the book is appallingly proofed and edited. The text is full of transpositions and typos. Now maybe this is down to it being lovingly reproduced from the original pulps and amateur press publications, but it still looks a bit shoddy next to the beautifully edited and annotated texts of the stories in the collections ST Joshi has put together for Penguin. A lot of people may take exception to August Derleth's overzealous editing of the '60s editions that were probably most UK readers' first encounter with Lovecraft, but at least they didn't have the last paragraph of The Call Of Cthulhu open with the phrase: "Gthulhu still lives..."
For a book costing this much, and which is obviously supposed to be a desirable and cherishable object and the definitive one volume Lovecraft collection, that's downright shoddy. I fear that Stephen Jones needs a good slapping, particularly when this book is compared to the rather finer job he did with the Conan centennial collection. It just looks half arsed. Docked two stars for this blatant contempt for both the author and the reader, which is a real flaw in otherwise beautifully presented collection. Unless you particularly want a one volume hardback, stick to the Penguins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews