Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection.
Alastair Reynolds' previous novels and novellas in his signature Revelation Space universe have been almost unanimously excellent works, but at times the reader (or this one, at any rate) can feel that there's a lot going on that they're not in the loop on. Characters appear whose significance is initially unclear and their backstories remain resolutely unexplained,...
Published on 18 May 2008 by A. Whitehead

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to the Reynolds universe
Galactic North is a selection of short stories set in Reynolds' "Revelation Space" universe and as such adds welcome detail to the previous novels. The stories range from the (in Reynolds terms) near future with the early days of the Conjoiners, one of the competing streams of humanity which feature in the later novels, through stories which are contemparies of the...
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by P. G. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing Reynolds outing to revelation space, 10 July 2007
Sometimes there are authors that make you stop and think...Alastair Reynolds is one of those.

If you believe all should begin and end with magic wands and happily ever after then this is not for you. If you want to be challlenged, you want reality with techonology, an examination of the human condition with all it's frailties and vanity then Reynolds is the new Master and you will not be disappointed.

All the stories in this collection appear chronologically which is helpful.

In this book the most amazing story is 'Weather', it will touch your 'soul'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
TonyH (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic North (Kindle Edition)
Another fine Reynolds work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something of a Revelation, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Galactic North (Paperback)
Galactic North is redolent of some of the best space opera from the 50s and 60s. Reynolds's nicely-honed baroque pulp fiction is brimming with inventiveness and is grandiose in scope. He creates convincing worlds that you will want to explore and technologies that are truly ingenious. His writing style is evocative while remaining clear and controlled. My two reservations are that his characters are rather clichéd and the denouements are sometimes disappointing. The bottom line, however, is that this is an entertaining and well-written book. I shall be reading more. And that says something, as space opera is a genre I'm not normally partial to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure, 19 Aug 2009
By 
mog43 "mog43" (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galactic North (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is first Reynolds book I have read and to be honest I was not all that keen, some of the subjects were a little too macabre for my taste, I suppose being an old SF reader I am keen on the 'little green men' and Flash Gordon type of story.
So do not be too put off by my thoughts but personally I would have to be pushed to purchase another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Reynolds winner, 22 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic North (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
As the title suggests this is another excellent book by Mr Reynolds. Safe to say that if you enjoy his other books you will enjoy this collection. I'm not a short story fan but I got this because I like his Revelation Space series this is a fitting addition to that. Worth getting even if you don't normally like short stories or novellas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginative, 24 Jan 2007
Reynolds is sometimes capable of writing evocative baroque science fiction.

He is unfortunately very weak with characters and his plot-lines are unimaginative, if not, simply repetitive of the masters. Ideas that Asimov, Clarke and Heinlein bandied about in the days of pulp fiction are clad in a thin skin of modern-day physics and rewritten in Reynold's weak style. I write thin skin, as Reynolds, despite being a trained scientists, does not attempt to give reasons or explanations for the science elements of his work, relying instead on deus ex occurances and manifestations, i.e. magical Conjoiner star drives that draw power from somewhere, strange biological/nano plagues that simply mysteriously appear and the granting of telepathy to soem of humanity through a process that is never explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galactic North (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Galactic North (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Alastair Reynolds (Paperback - 8 Nov 2007)
7.65
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews