Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book
this book does a lot of thing and answers a lot of questions and other things that the t.v seris leaves out such as details of how the cylons rebelled and what happened during the war as well as proving important links with other important characters from the seris such as tom zerek i'd recommed this book to an averege sci-fi reader as well as series fans
Published on 26 Aug 2007 by I. cobley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating.
Although the concepts and events of this book have all been superseded or contradicted by the third season in general, and "Razor" in particular, that is the least of the problems with the book.

Firstly it's almost pure dialog, or inner monologue, and there isn't much narrative, this gives the book a frankly childish feel to it. Since the re-imagined Battlestar...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by scruffy bob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating., 4 Jun 2008
Although the concepts and events of this book have all been superseded or contradicted by the third season in general, and "Razor" in particular, that is the least of the problems with the book.

Firstly it's almost pure dialog, or inner monologue, and there isn't much narrative, this gives the book a frankly childish feel to it. Since the re-imagined Battlestar Galactica is directed at an adult audiance, the style doesn't fit with the rest of the franchise.

The author frequently slips into a very specific American Dialect, which isn't typical of the show, and adds another irritation. Typo's on the back cover do nothing to endear this book either.

There were some good ideas there, but it ignores some of the obvious questions, and doesn't make particularly good use of Zarek, Adama or Tigh, any characters could have been used in the place of these three, and the book doesn't make any real use of the characters' histories or hint at their ongoing motivations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 26 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Cylons' Secret (Gollancz S.F.) (Paperback)
this book does a lot of thing and answers a lot of questions and other things that the t.v seris leaves out such as details of how the cylons rebelled and what happened during the war as well as proving important links with other important characters from the seris such as tom zerek i'd recommed this book to an averege sci-fi reader as well as series fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This reads like a precis of a good novel, 26 May 2008
By 
Andy (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cylons' Secret (Gollancz S.F.) (Paperback)
It's what they call "fast moving", I suppose, but that also means there's no real depth to the narrative, leading to a shades-of-gray, 2-d feel. Still, I liked the plot, and it kept me interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average story, 26 Mar 2008
By 
T. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cylons' Secret (Gollancz S.F.) (Paperback)
this was the second battlestar novel i have read, and i have to say it was a bit of a let down. the writing itself seems less involving, although the story is fast paced and it still makes enjoyable reading.

what does set this apart from the others is that it is set at a time long before the tv series takes place, where bill adama and saul tigh are, though not young, are not yet exactly old.

it does introduce tom zarek a little better than in the tv series, giving a glimpse into his life before he became a political terrorist, and is actually portrayed in a good light.

as a fan of the tv show i enjoyed this because it added a new depth to the existing universe, but i wouldnt recommend this to a general sci-fi fan who feels like exploring into the world of battlestar galactica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 10 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. C. N. Sweeney "book wrrm" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was very good, well written and a clever plot. Can't understand why people are more impressed about it. Loved the character development and really liked the look behind Tigh's behaviour as a consequence of the first war.
As you see in Season 3 Tigh is scary good and not easily afraid of anything. And he is just a minor character in this book and so well written so just imagine how good the other characters are written.

Give this book a shot if you are a bsg fan you may be pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cylons' Secret (Gollancz S.F.)
The Cylons' Secret (Gollancz S.F.) by Craig Shaw Gardner (Paperback - 14 Jun 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews