Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to the series
Like some other reviewers I found parts of this book not entirely convincing, but I was reading faster and faster, and looking up when the next book in the series is published before I had finished. Complex, enjoyable, and clearly setting the scene for a great series.
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by V. Nicholl

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious world-building is let down by poor writing
Brought up on a wagon train, Isak is used to being hated and feared. His father blames him for the death of his mother in childbirth, and others see him only as a strong and unpredictable white-eye. His only friend is Carel, a former soldier turned trader who's training Isak to join the Ghosts, an elite band of soldier who serves Lord Farlan. When Isak arrived in Tirah...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by I Read, Therefore I Blog


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to the series, 25 Mar 2008
By 
V. Nicholl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
Like some other reviewers I found parts of this book not entirely convincing, but I was reading faster and faster, and looking up when the next book in the series is published before I had finished. Complex, enjoyable, and clearly setting the scene for a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't really too sure when I bought this book having never heard of the author before.

The more I read the more I enjoyed this book, I really came to sympathise with the main characters and by the time I had finished the book I just had to buy the next one in the series.

Good read for anyone who likes fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best fantasy series of books of the last few years !, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
Not an instant love but please keep reading, soon develops into one of the best and creative series of books I've read in the last few years, a series to rival Joe Abercrombie at his best.

Huge characters, epic battles, Gods, demons and vampires, what more could you possibly want ?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Took a chance, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had read all Peter V Bretts books and hoped this would be in the same genre. I was not dissapointed, my only gripe was the editing. Somebody needed to read it before publishing. Don't let his put you off from a good story. I have got the second one in the series to read next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Original approach and an explosive book, 11 Jun 2006
By 
This book does not follow any preconceived formulaes for fantasy fiction novels. Its new, its vibrant and it grips you from the very start. The world is so detailed it feels real, the fact that certain aspects, creatures none central to the plot are just accepted, written as though everyone should know about them, just makes it all the more believable. It makes the reader think in a good way. Politics and intrigues abound but don't overpower the story, aren't overly complicated so that they add lovingly to the plot rather than detract from it or take center stage. By the very nature of the key players violence is always just under the surface barely held in check. The characters have believeable flaws and fears that add depth and credibility. Equal time is given to character development, detailed and enthralling action scenes, politics, mysticism and magic. The Final result is awe inspiring, and beyond doubt the best book I have read since I first picked up david gemmels book Legend when that was first published over 10 years ago. I can not wait for its sequel.

The story centers arround Isak. Isak is a "White Eye" these are stronger faster and alot more violent versions of Humans that are especially born to be the God's representatives on earth, and defenders of the land. A wagon rat with a bleak childhood suddenly raised as Krann the chosen of the god Nartis and heir elect to Lord Bahl Lord of all the Farlan. Everyone wants to use and manipulate him. Its the age of Fulfillment and prophersy, but everyone has there own version, and everyone one of power, all the Gods try to influence it, and Isak for there own purposes. But all they end up making is something none of them intended, Isak has more power than intended but is not ruled by prophersy, or god inspired abmition, or anyone elses whim. The story is far far better than that. It is not your typical phrophercy sword and sorcery bout, it is much much better and a MUST read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as Elric:, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
Isak just grabbed my imagination from start to finish, not faint praise from this seasoned fantasy reader, five stars awarded. I cannot wait to read of his further fate as leader of the whiteyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars takes time to get into, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed however it could be a little confusing, Once you were into the story it got better I shall read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start to what promises to be a brilliant new series., 16 Feb 2009
This is a great book and Lloyd though young he his has managed to write a great book with one of the most fascinating protagonists I've read in a long time. This book has just about everything a Fantasy lover could ever want, an amazing cast of interesting characters, some really great magic that promises to develop well in Lloyd's later books and is truly action packed with some great battle scenes as well as some assassination and politics thrown into the mix as well. Seriously, what more could you ask for?

The great main protagonist is a boy named Isak, Isak is no ordinary boy though, he is a White Eye, one of gods chosen to rule the world of men. Isak doesn't start of as a ruler though he is a wagon brat who rides from place to place selling his wares. That is until he steps foot in the city of Tirah were the Duke, Lord Bahl who is also a White Eye recognizes that Isak is to be he successor and rule over the Farlin people. This is were Isak's story begins and were he will face constant danger from friends and foe alike, Isak must be careful also for he is not the only one in danger the friends and people who are around will face danger too, but not just from their enemies but from Isak himself, for the temper of the White Eyes is deadly to behold.

I've just ordered the second and third books in what i'm hoping will carry on to be a great series, if you like fantasy give this book a go, you'll be in for a hell of a thrill ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some good writing on display, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
Whilst a few of the elements of the plot seemed confusing (not complex, just unclear), some very good descriptive writing made this superior to many of the current crop of fantasy writers. Characterization was above average, although was disappointed at one or two outcomes (my personal preference). I will definitely investigate the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun fantasy, 12 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
This is a cracking debut. A very decent high fantasy novel with plenty of action. The central character is well written, the world building is good and the plot becomes increasingly complex as the story progresses. Lots of politics, well crafted fight scenes and a petulent teenager with a berserker rage for a temper. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stormcaller: The Twilight Reign: Book 1: Book One of the Twilight Reign
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews