Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew my mind...
After Reading "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep", I must admit that I was concerned that I would not be able to top that. Fortunately, Ubik surpassed all my expectations. Other reviewers here have detailed the plot, which I think is unfair, since Ubik is a constant page-turner and fascinator. So I will not give anything away.
Fortunately, Minority Report touches...
Published on 13 Aug. 2002 by Mr. A. B. Nathan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great SF!
PKD is an author with some genuinely original ideas, that have stood the test of time.

Ubik is one of those books where he uses ideas that he has developed in other stories, such as pre-cogs, and blends them with a cryogenic lab that keeps people's minds alive. Add to that an untimely murder on a Luna station, and PKD grasps your reality in this book and flips...
Published 17 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Dick, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably my favourite Dick novel. Fascinating and spooky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A jewel in a dung heep, 16 Oct. 2012
In the good old days of books under 200 pages you could get through a lot and I did,especially P K Dick - who a good friend assured me was 'the most brilliant SF writer in the world'.Maybe my friend was on the same drugs that Dick used when he was writing,though incredibly quite a few people hold the same insane view.
For those new to SF and/or Dick here is a brief guide:

1)Dick has some quite good ideas but rarely is able to structure a novel arond them - under no circumstances try him because you liked the movie adaptations,your expectations will be cruelly dashed.One possible exception is 'A Scanner Darkly' this might be his best novel(haven't read 'The man in the high castle' as I really dislike alternate history)though despite its future setting it's not actually SF,and clearly he was clean when writing it.

2)The main character will get confused as to what is real and what isn't,this may go on for a while,however the reader will stay confused - the lauded 'The 3 Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch' is particularly bad

3)The ending will be poor,maybe it was the drugs but Dick consistantly is unable to finish things off in a satisfactory manner,ranging from not making sense(the otherwise decent'Flow my tears the policeman said')through plain 'wrong'(Do androids dream of electric sheep)to disgracefull('A maze of death')

Anyway, my friend loved 'Ubik' and rightly so - it combines all the 'classic' Dick themes without losing the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start you PKD collection here, 8 May 2001
By 
Robert Strudwick (Old Windsor, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is the book that got me into Science Fiction 15 years ago. I have re-read it many many times and it remains one of my top 3 books of all time. In my opinion, one of the best Dick books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant story, worthwhile reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually messes with your head!, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A society where the dead aren't always completely dead and people with gifts of the ESP variety are commercially employed to either engage in or thwart industrial or economic espionage. A mixed group of these recruits meet with a disastrous event while deployed on the moon and subsequently find themselves, one by one falling prey to some kind of retro time slip. By the time you realise that your mind has been bent a little out of shape, it will be too late. I like P K Dick and began innocently reading, enjoying the ideas; even liking the fact that the vision of future technology is framed by the available technology of Dick's present. Then I got to the end and realised I would be prone to intermittent interruptions of thought by the disturbing implications of the final pages for some time! You really don't know what's going on, then you think you do, then Dick metaphorically slaps you upside the head and you're not sure at all. Ever wondered at which end of the rabbit hole you really were? Or is that just me? Suffice to say, I'll be re-reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ubik - Philip K Dick, 3 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
such haunting ideas, layers of meaning - not the best writing style but after a while the mental images take over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
mind bender, and very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intense page turner, 17 Aug. 2006
By 
S. Heseltine (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The adventure of Joe Chip in this frenzied escapade make me wonder what exactly Dick was on when he wrote Ubik.

A must read for anyone with a brain.

For a more modern madness try Chasm City by Alistair Reynolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought Bladerunner was good...., 31 Oct. 1999
By 
This review is from: Ubik (Paperback)
I thought Bladerunner was Philip k. Dick's masterpiece...boy was I ever wrong. You are introduced to the characters, all part of a multinational anti psi corporation, until you get to Pat, the new recruit. At this point things flip upside down and the story takes off and all within the first 20 or so pages. The plot unravels, a rival company that gives 'hostile' takeover a new meaning, extremely difficult to put down and well written although a little hard to understand at first bear with it it will pay off,In short if you read only one of Dick's books make it this one you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ubik (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Ubik (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Philip K. Dick (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2006)
Used & New from: £1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews