Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War! Hur! Good God!
There are those who would say that Haldeman's seminal novel, The Forever War, and the subsequent follow-ups are derivative, that Robert Heinlein's Starship Troopers is being ripped off. I for one disagree. Haldeman's voice is unprecedented and much emulated in the years after it was published. The characters, the situations, the emotional turmoil that Mandella suffers as...
Published on 13 Jun. 2007 by GRBD

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variable
This was the first Haldeman I have read and it got off to a cracking start. The first Story Forever War is brilliant. It's well written and the relativity idea works well. The snapshots of future earth are great.

The second Story, Forever Free is a direct sequel and is not as good. The characters are as good and strong as before and the build up of the...
Published on 5 Aug. 2008 by Invader_Ace


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variable, 5 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This was the first Haldeman I have read and it got off to a cracking start. The first Story Forever War is brilliant. It's well written and the relativity idea works well. The snapshots of future earth are great.

The second Story, Forever Free is a direct sequel and is not as good. The characters are as good and strong as before and the build up of the story is excellent. However, the ending; will be a love-hate decider amongst readers. It took me a while to gather my thoughts on it and I came away disappointed.

The third story Forever Peace, is not related directly to the first two. Have to admit I found this hard going. I (unlike a lot of other readers) didn't mind the switching between 1st and 3rd person narrative. However, I did mind that a lot of interesting ideas were only skimmed or poorly realised. The ending, to me at least, seemed rushed.

If I were reviewing Forever War alone it would be 4 or 5 stars, but as a whole it pulls the average down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS VERSION, 30 Oct. 2011
By 
Theo (Gondwana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is a collection of three novels bound into a single volume. Unfortunately, whatever imbecile wrote the back cover "blurb" gave away virtually the entire ending to the first novel. And yes, even more besides. I really hope whoever was responsible lost their job over this.

So if you do wind up with this edition, STAY AWAY FROM THE BACK COVER!!!

Please understand that this is truly the only reason why I gave this collection a 1 star review: I just wanted my warning to leap out at people so that others could avoid my fate; the fate of a man who knew too much. Some things in this life you don't WANT to know. Like the ending of a novel BEFORE you read it.

Man, I really do hope that person lost their job...

As you can probably tell, I still get steamed just thinking about it. And all this is really quite a pity: the front-cover artwork is unusually powerful and evocative of the story itself. But that's just life I guess.

Incidentally, because I have seen some of my reviews crop up for editions other than the one I originally wrote them for, let me stress that I am saying all this about Peace And War: Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War: " Forever Peace " , " Forever Free " , " Forever War " (Gollancz S.F.).

Other than that, this is nice collected epic that includes three separate novels in a single volume. The style can perhaps best be described as intelligent space opera. Much of the technology to be found in this book is grounded in real science; particularly the use of sub-light space flight. This means that the time dilating effects of relativity come into play, which in turn becomes the basis for the most fundamental challenges faced by the characters on a psychological level. One never forgets that the first novel in the series - The Forever War - is a book that followed closely on the heels of the "new wave" of science fiction pioneered in the 1960's by authors such as J.G. Ballard.

The Forever War is also a novel that can very easily be interpreted as an allegory for the experience of many Viet Nam war soldiers; for the war they fought, and the experience of returning to to a society very different from the one they left. And indeed, in the author's note Haldeman provides, he himself accepts that this is part of the basis for the novel. However, The Forever War is also sufficiently grounded in universal human concerns that it works on a more timeless level as well.

If I wasn't judging the book by its cover, I'd give it 4 stars.

So yes; this is something that I would recommend reading. Just do yourself a favor and buy another edition.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War! Hur! Good God!, 13 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
There are those who would say that Haldeman's seminal novel, The Forever War, and the subsequent follow-ups are derivative, that Robert Heinlein's Starship Troopers is being ripped off. I for one disagree. Haldeman's voice is unprecedented and much emulated in the years after it was published. The characters, the situations, the emotional turmoil that Mandella suffers as a soldier who becomes obsolete after his first time-spanning tour of duty, returning to an Earth that has left him behind, and that is no longer a world where he feels he can live as himself, is achingly well depicted and deserves a much wider audience than the geeks and freaks stereotypically derided as the main consumers of the genre. If there is one book that might turn you on to science fiction, then this is it. I urge you to try it, or failing that, pick up a copy of The Forever War. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good old fashioned science fiction, 30 Oct. 2011
By 
Ter (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Good old fashioned science fiction. The first book, "Forever War" had lots of interesting thoughts about how relativity would influence a war where "time travel" is involved. The second book, "Forever Free" built on the idea that the human race may split, and that there may then be conflict. It also has an intriguing all-powerful figure at the end of the book. A book full of ideas. The third book, "Forever Peace" was not a follow on from the first two, and was in my eyes significantly poorer than the earlier two. Would give the first two maybe 4.5 stars, but maybe only 3 or even 2 to the last one, so settle on a 4. Enjoyed the first two - the last one I finished just in case it got better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi Classic, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is the third time I've bought this book (they never give it back!!) and the third time I've read it. A bit like Blade Runner, gets better every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
A true science fiction fan will love this book. Well developed and interesting characters, excellent and engaging plot and an overall thought provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the first book is a classic...., 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
this is great value for the three novels. The first is a classic book, the second not bad at all and the third just average, but , read them in sequence , in a week or so and the trilogy sticks together nicely, but the first one stays with you for sure, what an incredibly brave novel to write and how clever to tie in the ground breaking ideas about our future... BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nothing more nothing less. Forever magnificent....., 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
A brilliant book, could not put it down; Absolutely magnificently well written, well researched. Joe! you are the king of Sci-fi. BRILLIANT. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desn't get better than this, 25 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
First Book: The Forever War is perfection. I was blown away. I've read it more than a few times. Haldeman really conveys the horror of war, the isolation the soldier feels both on duty and having returned home, and the apparent apathy to the war and soldiers back on earth. Apparently its based on his experience of Vietnam. Buy it and love it. The other two books whilst not in the same class(Forever Peace and Forever Free) are still very good. Go on. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing work of science fiction..., 11 April 2011
This review is from: Peace And War: The Omnibus Edition/Forever Peace, Forever Free, Forever War (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
... is what you get with this book (or rather, collection of three books). The writing is amazing. I personally find that the Forever War is my favourite. This book/books truly are works of art. The third one is not actually related to the first two, but is also worth reading.
If you like sci-fi, especially war based sci-fi, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews