Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best
I first read these books some 20 years ago when first published. In my opinion they exceed even 'Covenant'! It is the best 'adult' fantasy I have ever read. The concept of mirror travel is detailed and fully realised allowing the story to flow logically. It is also beautifully plotted, though you may need to read it a couple of times to grasp all the threads! The...
Published on 13 Feb 2007 by M. Porter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Not as complex as his Thomas Covanent books but a good read nevertheless. Ok its spot the cliche time but he produces some strong female characters and the story finishes in only two volumes.
Published 23 months ago by badger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best, 13 Feb 2007
By 
M. Porter (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
I first read these books some 20 years ago when first published. In my opinion they exceed even 'Covenant'! It is the best 'adult' fantasy I have ever read. The concept of mirror travel is detailed and fully realised allowing the story to flow logically. It is also beautifully plotted, though you may need to read it a couple of times to grasp all the threads! The heroine is, frankly, fantastic. In turn vulnerable, puzzled, sexy, powerful, she moves from the start where you want to just shake her out of her depression, to the major mover in the story that will have you cheering for her. Her scenes crackle with sexual energy and are fantastically well written. The hero begins as a hapless, would be magician, who grows throughout the story - not always in ways one would expect. Donaldson has taken the usual fantasy stereotypes and fashioned a tremendously original story. I use the term 'adult' advisedly. There is no description of any detail but the tension on the page jumps out and grabs you. I have this in two volumes - one would be nice and, if you do buy it (and if you like fantasy I strongly suggest you do) you will need to put away a day or two (and possibly a night) because I doubt you'll want to put it down. OH, and unlike the timeless series that we get now, it does finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donaldson's first and best work to date., 19 Mar 2009
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
It you're a fan of Donaldson then I think you'll really enjoy this novel, it's more traditional Fantasy than his Thomas Covenant series. Mordant's Need is still a Portal Fantasy but as with most others in this genre you don't see much of our world, which is something i'm glad for. As you would expect from Donaldson his writing is very good and his story telling ability is way up there with writers like Hobb and Jordan. My only bone of contention is that there wasn't enough battles or action, that being said it doesn't take away from the story being told or the quality of it.

The story starts in an apartment in New York city a young women called Terisa sits in front of her mirror when an amazing thing happens. Instead of seeing her own reflection in the mirror she sees the image of a young man, suddenly the mirror breaks and out fall the young man, his name is Geraden. He has come in search of a champion to help defend the Kingdom of Mordant he finds instead Terisa, here starts their story, a story of battles against armies and magic and strange beasts from other worlds a story of good and evil.

If you're a fan of Fantasy then this is a definite book to read, as are all of Donaldsons other Fantasy reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who needs a covenant?, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
The first of the Tho.Cov. books was also the first book ever I put down (after a couple of chapters) never to pick up again. However, I found the Mordant's Need books fascinating and infinitely preferable to Mr D's more famous works.

I stumbled across them in a book store whilst waiting for a train. Seeing the author's name but no link to Tho.Cov. decided to give 'em a go.

Now, 20-odd years later, I will be buying again.

Goodness only knows where my slightly dog-eared original copies have gone. The great library in the sky more likely than not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class fantasy, 9 Sep 2007
By 
Darren "DC" (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
An often overlooked masterpiece, this is Donaldsons best work to date. If you've not read it your in for a treat. Even if you have read it a couple of times and lost the second book a few years ago, its still a treat :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars corrections/review, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Just a couple of corrections to amazon's details: This book is actually 979 pages long rather than 570 stated. It's also extremely heavy (the pages are quite thick) making it difficult to hold up for long periods of time - it's probably preferable to get the two volumes separately if possible (unless you want to strengthen your hands while reading...).

The books themselves are excellent - although it takes a while for the action to get going the story never becomes dull due to the fantastic/detailed descriptions and character development.

In typical Donaldson style, all of the major characters are damaged goods giving them a little extra depth. Donaldson's writing style here is a little different to his other books - a little more accessible (less complex and not as dark as his others), so maybe a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remembered, 21 April 2013
By 
Tanya (Dundee, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read these books when I was at college (over 20 years ago). I think Stephen Donaldson may be better known for the Thomas Covenant series, but I prefer these. This story never left me and I found myself thinking about the characters years later so when I saw it was available for Kindle and you could get both books at the same time, I couldn't resist and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another of his greats.
takes you away from the bad on the tv. either the news or the poor quality programs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a must for any donaldson fans; kept me riveted for the best part of a week on holiday
It is much easier to read and less verbose than the later covenant books and has a very strong plot, though the ending is perhaps a little predictable. A very good addition to the kindle library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Have just re read this double book and loved it as much as I did the first time round.Takes you to another place and time
could not put it down If you love Stephen Donaldson books you'll love this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 May 2012
Not as complex as his Thomas Covanent books but a good read nevertheless. Ok its spot the cliche time but he produces some strong female characters and the story finishes in only two volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8f77d68)

This product

Mordant's Need: The Mirror Of Her Dreams & A Man Rides Through (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews