Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Crom!!!, 13 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
This really is a fantasic idea bring all of Robert E Howards creation ( note not the countless rip-offs from other authors) into one volume. Conan, the barbarian from Cimmerian, has some amazing adventures, which work very well as most of the stories are short, therefore you get to the action much faster. To those who dismiss it out of hand as a typical 'sword and sorcoery' book I would remind them that Howard fathered the modern fantasy, and influence a certain man call Tolkein... I would recommend this not just to fantasy fans but to all who love a good adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal review of Conan Chronicles., 11 Feb 2009
By 
Trevor Sproston (Hertfordshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
I first met Conan during my university years, when I nourished my brain on fantasy writing, to relieve my boredom at studying French literature.
Conan came to me via the Sphere paperbacks,with cover art by Frank Frazetta, and I devoured the stories - instead of what I was supposed to devour. Still, they were far more entertaining than Sartre and Voltaire.

Now being much older, it was with some trepidation that I bought this volume. It's a very well-presented collection of the original stories, written without collaborators, and arranged in order of publication, so that you can see how Howard fleshed out his character over time. I would, however, recommend that you don't read too many of them at one sitting. If you do, you may find the repetitive formula of Conan + steely thews + black mane + piercing blue eyes + ravishing beauty + lost civilisations + sorcerers, begins to pall. This is writing for a specific audience at a specific time. I think it stands up well, for what it is, but it's best by far to read the tales with a month or more between them [rather as they appeared in the pulps].

The potted biography of Howard is interesting, but leaves much unsaid.

For fans and students of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Conan you'll ever need, 9 July 2013
By 
Emalf Thirteen (A Fantasy World of my Own, Somewhere on Planet Fiction.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
Swords, sorcery, bloodthirsty violence, sexy wenches and high adventure...

Every Conan story ever written by the talented fantasy writer Robert E. Howard, in chronological order. Including the one and only Conan novel "The Hour of the Dragon".

The book is thick, solid, well produced and looks great with gold lettering and design. The pages are thick, the print of average size, with no complaints from me. There are even illustrations for each story.

When else is there to say? A great collection, a great book, by a great Author, at a great price. By Crom, BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conan, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
My first encounter wtih the Cimmerian was through Marvel comics. Then I've watched that movie (which is in it's own right great). But, much later I discovered Conan's real origins. And I must say, the only real Conan is Howard's Conan. He can easily be the greatest fiction hero of modern time. And Howard made him that. I would recommend this book to every avid reader on this planet, and of course to every lover of fantasy. You can watch or read Game of thrones, and think that is the real deal, but first you must encounter this man, Conan the Cimmerian, father of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is where fantasy started., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
A must read for every fan of the fantasy genre.

+ Very immersive and down to earth stories (well as much as a fantasy book alllows)
+ Every sentence is a work of art not a simple narration of events as is common with the recent fantasy releases
+ All the conan stories in one book (I was looking exactly for that) and
+ In the order written by the author
+ Excellent hardback, looks good on a bookcase.

- Nothing bad, really. If You haven't read the conan stories yet, you must get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - but two small annoyances, 26 Sep 2012
By 
C. SMITH (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
This book really is great fun. A real blast from the past, from an age when people could write stories about straightforward heroes and diabolical villains, with having to include lots of psychobabble and political correctness. I love every one of these stories.

Now the (very) small annoyances - firstly the pictures in the hardback version seem to have been positioned incorrectly. In almost every case, they appear in the book a page or two before the events they portray occur in the text. Any suspense the reader might be feeling as to what is about to happen is immediately dispelled when you can suddenly see a picture of it just before you get to the relevant part of the story.

Also - why no e-book version? The Conan collections available for free or at cheap prices in e-formats are almost all rubbish - littered with typos, some with bits missing (like the excellent Hyborian Age essay included here), or only including some of the stories and not others.

For these reasons I would like to give it 4 and a half out of five, but snce I can't ... 4 it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 14 July 2010
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
This is an absolute must read for any Conan fan. So sad it had to end. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ernest Hemingway of Fantasy., 20 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
Atmospheric,fast paced,honest writing from an author that lit up my world with a sense of wonder when I was growing up.Unlike most fantasy authors Howard is a true original combining elements of the western genre,the thriller and good old fashioned adventure stories to make a world all his own.Often imitated never bettered he is amongst the first rank of fantasy writers(his Tower of the Elephant Conan story is still in my opinion the benchmark for all sword and sorcery writers to pit themselves against).His clipped journalistic sentances make him for me the Ernest Hemingway of fantasy.This collection is an excellent read.My only beef with it being that the illustrations are not good enough.Nothing however can detract that much from Howards superb skill.I recommend this book to anyone looking for an original read in fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...a true legend, 3 Sep 2009
By 
J. L. Turner "G.I.Joe" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
Quality leather hardback with all the conan tales for a very reasonable price..this is the bible for fantasy lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AM CONAAAAAAAAN!!!!, 7 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this book shortly after having a reminiscing afternoon watching youtube videos of cartoons from my childhood. 'Conan The Adventurer' brought back many fond memories, so I decided to buy the season one DVD. Managed to stumble across this book and on a whim, bought it. Up until then, I'd never heard of Robert E. Howard, never knew that there were stories from which Conan was created, barely knew there were comics, and had seen the Conan movie with Arnie a coupla times.

I've been a big fan of barbarian-type character such as He-Man, Hercules, and as mentioned, loved the conan cartoon. The book is fantastic. I am currently only half-way through it but there are so many stories. As mentioned by others, the order of the stories isn't chronological (it starts with a a couple of stories that should be at the end of the book, not at the beginning) but they pave the way for what to expect.

The stories show the various sides of Conan, apart from his barbarism, and there are a few unexpected actions from Conan even when you begin to understand his character. Don't expect origin stories that depict Conan's birth, his childhood or adolescence. They are stories that deal with an adult Conan, spanning from his earlier days to his later ones.

The writing is fantastic and completely involves you in the action. You WANT to read the next story, the next page, the next paragraph.

There are rumours that a new Conan movie is to made. If they are true, the writers, director and main actor should all read the book to get an accurate picture of what Conan is like. There is more than enough material to make a beautiful trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition
The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition by Robert E. Howard (Hardcover - 19 Jan 2006)
18.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews