Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
It is difficult to overestimate the effect of this ground breaking novel on present day science fiction - hardly anything I read today by writers like Iain Banks, Alastair Reynolds, Peter Hamilton et al escapes its brilliant influence. I read it when it first came out in the late seventies and was staggered by its vision. If many of its insights now seem trite, it is...
Published on 2 Aug. 2002 by ianlokibailey

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
CAUTION - SPOILERS!

I came at this book straight after 2001: A Space Odyssey, so perhaps my opinion was slightly influenced. Basically, a random cylindrical object appears in our Solar System so a small team is sent to check it out before it gets too close to the sun. They spend the entire book wandering round trying to find out what the object does. They find...
Published on 5 Sept. 2012 by Scott


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The driest and hardest of hard SF, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
Mark Poles (Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) (Paperback)
Not much in the way of characterisation, leaves most of the questions unanswered yet still works as one of the best SF novels I have ever read. Wonderful - both in the sense of simply being very good and in the sense of being literally full of wonders and a sense of wonder.

And a proper page-turner too, with short, punchy chapters. And it's not too long either. Many of the reviews on this page mention all the modern hard SF authors influenced by this - I only wish authors like Alastair Reynolds and Peter F Hamilton would get the plot of one their novels into less than 300 pages.

Something slightly off-the-wall - it actually reminded me of H.P. Lovecraft's antarctic horror 'At the Mountains of Madness' - the same feelings of danger, isolation, scale and wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hard science fiction novel and gripping read, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent hard science fiction novel and gripping read. It contained great imaginings of a spaceship thousands of year old, that had travelled across interstellar space as well as its cryptic technology. Also the reaction of humans with finding a spaceship in our Solar System seemed very realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RAMArkable, 9 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) (Paperback)
This book constantly stretches the imagination, it is not easy to maintain a minds-eye vision of what Rama is like, given its vast scale. Quite often memories of books fade and get muddled with other similar books. Not this one though, it is unique and unforgetable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Sci-Fi from the Best Sci-Fi author ever, 30 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (Paperback)
Quite simply this is a perfect sci-fi book.
A story of alien contact with mystery, suspense and excitment with good believable science that even I could understand.
A joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rendezvous with rama, 9 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) (Paperback)
As an old SF fan I rate Arthur E Clarke as one of the masters. Rendezvous with Rama is one of his best. His attention to detail and the story line makes it very realistic. a magnificant yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) (Paperback)
CAUTION - SPOILERS!

I came at this book straight after 2001: A Space Odyssey, so perhaps my opinion was slightly influenced. Basically, a random cylindrical object appears in our Solar System so a small team is sent to check it out before it gets too close to the sun. They spend the entire book wandering round trying to find out what the object does. They find out it's an alien spaceship, wander round some more, see some 'animals' running around, wander round some more, and just happen to deus ex machina a hoverbike so a crewmember can investigate some other confusing objects across a sea. The conclusion is that the team still knows nothing about the origins, future or purpose of the cylinder, and it just flies away. I also didn't enjoy the complicated descriptions of the cylinder's geometry, but that's just me.

Yes, it's a book grounded within the laws of physics. Yes, it's fairly decent science fiction. No, it's not a classic in my opinion. I didn't come away from it enthused for space and science as I did with the first two Space Odyssey books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur C Clarks, finest, the start of the journey., 11 Oct. 2014
By 
stuart mcmillan (Clydebank, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendezvous with Rama (Hardcover)
A sci fi god, one of the best sci fi books ever written, and when they get round to it, its gonna be one of the best sci fi films ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT DESCRIPTIVE WRITING!, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read! I am not a usual sci-fi fan - but I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) (Paperback)
Great book, I couldn't put it down. Easy to read. Will definately be buying more books by Mr Clarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarke at his best. Provokes much after-thought and a thirst for more, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb read, Arthur C. Clarke at his best. Provokes much after-thought and a thirst for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.)
Rendezvous With Rama (S.F. Masterworks S.) by Arthur C. Clarke (Paperback - 13 April 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews