Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent well written master piece
Stormcaller was an amazing, well written, breath of fresh air for the fantasy scene, that it was the first book of a new author was remarkable to say the least. This is his second book in the series and The Twightlight Herald proves beyond doubt that Mr Lloyd is a very skilled story teller and an author to be watched with great enthusiasm. This is a very strong second...
Published on 17 Oct. 2007 by Mr. A. J. Simpson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but their are better out there
This is NOT a masterpiece, BUT it does get 3 stars for being a moderately enjoyable read, which owing to the fact that I have got through books one and two in this series now suggests I will have to try book three to see how it all pans out. This series does not have the humour of the Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie novels (with which these books are often bracketed) and...
Published on 13 Dec. 2007 by Big Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent well written master piece, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. A. J. Simpson "GrimNir" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
Stormcaller was an amazing, well written, breath of fresh air for the fantasy scene, that it was the first book of a new author was remarkable to say the least. This is his second book in the series and The Twightlight Herald proves beyond doubt that Mr Lloyd is a very skilled story teller and an author to be watched with great enthusiasm. This is a very strong second book of which any author could be proud. It grips the reader by the throat and holds you mesmerised and spellbound throughout.

The review "gloom , doom and destruction," makes me wonder if we read the same book. Yes there is a vampire in the book, but not so much as a blood sucking monster type of the horror genres. Here vampirism is kind of incidental, it forms a power base of an individual. It is not a central point to the story although the individual is a central character.

This book is gritty. It has intrigue and conspiracy, but on a level that is easily followed and well balanced. It has well written characters with a good insight into their worries, concerns and flaws, the stuff that makes them human and easier to relate to. It is a bit claustrophobic in places, but then it is supposed to be, as this is a major under current to the whole storyline, pressuring the characters and the situation. That the author is able to transfer that so well to the reader shows his skill. Action is plentiful and well written, with various storylines gently twisting as they run towards convergence. Isak seems to take a back seat a little in this book which is a bit of a shame after being the central aspect of the first book. However the alternate central aspects more than take up the slack and you find yourself routing for various different people in various different ways.

[SPOILER WARNING: You become aware at the end of this book that the bad guys won this round, and the heroes barely survived. But this isn't "gloom, doom and destruction" instead this feels like it is setting the scene for the next book and looks to be building up into one help of a clash of the titans.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twilight to Dawn, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a reader of a lot of fantasy and as one that didn't fully appreciate the original book in the series I'm pleased to report that I was proved wrong with Tom's second novel. The book is well written with cracking description with characters that develop as the situation affects their situations, a sign that the author has not only put a lot of thought into it but also shown that the characters have more of a tie to real life people rather than just the cycled out fantasy cliché's. Rather than concentrating on sticking to the established formulaic approach in the world creation, Tom has a touch more of the real world about his work and whilst his style of story won't appeal to everyone, the fact that the book leaves you asking more questions and worrying about how the characters are going to survive in their dark world it means that the purchase of the next novel in the series is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I beg to differ..., 18 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
ATTENTION MR JONTYBALL. When reviewing a book perhaps I might suggest actually doing just that instead of citing a litany of other authors and deploring the times we live in. Yes Twighlight Herald is not all sweetness and light and indeed there is a pervadingg air of unease in sections of the book. That, I would argue, is entirely in keeping with a story which has been quite well crafted by Mr Lloyd. Having read his first, Stormcaller, on the recommendation of a friend I delved into Twighight Herald with some understanding of the background and indeed a few expectations. These have all unquestionably been met. For such a young author Mr Lloyd depicts an unreal world with admirable skill, and while some dialogue may seem somewhat trite it is a minor gripe about what is a really rather enjoyable read. I do not pretend to be a fan of all things fantasy, and find some of it down right peculiar, but this book is accessible and enjoyable for any reader that wants a good story and doesn't have to have a disney like ending to be satisfied. Good luck to Mr Lloyd and role on book three I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as the first!, 2 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
As with the first in the series Lloyd has created a fantasy feast of well written characters and a beautifully vivid world full of magic, war and turmoil. Isak as always is a great character, one of my personal favourites in the fantasy genre, he is young, powerful and often times brutal but we still see is vulnerable side when he is with his friends, this makes the main character much more in depth and satisfying to read.

In this story Isak has to comes to terms with the voice of an ancient Elven King inside of his head and the treason of one of his most powerful Lords. As if this is not enough he is forced to send out his army to a small town called Scree were an enormous amount of magic is being used. In this small town all the powers of the lands are represented there, both good and evil, there in this small town we'll see assassinations, demons raised from the pits of hell and awe inspiring battles. Will the be to much for the young Lord Of The Farlan to control? Or will he rise above the expectations of the world?

If you love fast paced with huge battles, politics and everything in between then Lloyd's work a go. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twilight Decends, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
Having been underwhelmed by the first book in this series (The Stormcaller) mostly due to sluggish pace and the writing style being a little basic compared to other new Fantasy titles I've read recently I was a bit worried that I had bought books 1-3 on Kindle all in one go in a wasteful hurry; a friend had assured me that they were a fantastic read, that they were worth the money and that I should persevere.

The pace in the second book is kicked up several gears from Isak's plodding political life in the Farlan, which was sorely needed to retain my interest. Once Scree is set up as a lodestone for every power in the Land, things take a turn for the worse for the characters, but is a delight for the reader. Sadly, the pace doesn't last forever and I felt the wind-down of this book a little disjointed but the threads of stories left unfinished and deeds undone are just about enough to get me to read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff - T.L. does it again!, 10 July 2008
There's always a daunting feeling starting a new book by a favourite author, for fear they disappoint. Happily Lloyd does not let his faithful readers down. This wonderful tale of violence, betrayal, plot twists and good old-fashioned heroism had me gripped. Well done Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
This is the second book in a four book series. It picks up directly after Stormcaller ends but takes a very different turn from that first book. Whilst Isak is still a key character, others are introduced and developed well. Including vampires, daemons, rogue mages and necromancers. Again there are several different threads running through this book which makes it interesting. The bulk of the story centres around the city of Scree whose inhabitants are turning into a muderous mob due to the influence of some dark magic. The vampires are not cast in the usual role which is refreshing. Politics and faith play their part and the story comes to a blistering fight climax. In the same way that Isak grows into his leadership, so this story grows on from the first. Looking forward the Grave Thief
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
I don't normally write reviews on this, but I am compelled to say how much I enjoyed this book. The action is tense from the beginning which meant that I found this book hard to put down. The reader is caught up with the many characters and drawn into the very well written claustrophobic atmosphere- Stormcaller was a great start, this is an excellent follow on, and I am extremely looking forward to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but their are better out there, 13 Dec. 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign (Paperback)
This is NOT a masterpiece, BUT it does get 3 stars for being a moderately enjoyable read, which owing to the fact that I have got through books one and two in this series now suggests I will have to try book three to see how it all pans out. This series does not have the humour of the Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie novels (with which these books are often bracketed) and is somehow slower and more formulaic BUT there is promise. Lets see how book three ends and hope Mr LLoyd can perhaps reduce the seriousness in it and in further series. By the way you may be "gripped" by this novel not "griped" by it (see review by Mr Murphy below) - although this may refer to Mr Jontyball's review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST....., 7 Aug. 2009
By 
Kristin Roper "Fantasy Crazy" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Continuing Isak and many other characters stories from 'Stormcaller', Tom Lloyd introduces the second installment in the 'Twilight Reign' series. The action picks up seriously in pace, and everything starts to feel like it is spiralling out of the characters control. New and sinister characters are introduced, and they do nothing but enrich Lloyd's spell-binding story-telling. The Twilight Herald is as brilliant as 'Stormcaller', if not better and I loved every minute of it. Never have I read a novel that has left me with so many conflicting emotions with regards to the central players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twilight Herald (Gollancz S.F.): Book Two of the Twilight Reign
£12.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews