Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anubis Day Would Come...
There are so many reviews of fantasy books claiming that each one is better and more exciting than the last, but this really is a stormingly good book. It has so many elements to it and such a fast pace that the whole thing sucks you in from the beginning and shakes you in it's teeth until the very end. A huge variety of bizarre, macabre and historical figures all collide...
Published on 16 Aug. 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK book, poorly transribed
Bought because I wanted to try a 'steampunk' novel and apparently this was a good one. Was sadly disappointed... it's not a bad book, but it's not what I would have considered steampunk. One annoying thing is the kindle edition is poorly transcribed - many time 'th' is interpreted as 'm' which made some parts difficult to get through and really detracted from the...
Published 23 months ago by EvilEdna


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anubis Day Would Come..., 16 Aug. 2002
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
There are so many reviews of fantasy books claiming that each one is better and more exciting than the last, but this really is a stormingly good book. It has so many elements to it and such a fast pace that the whole thing sucks you in from the beginning and shakes you in it's teeth until the very end. A huge variety of bizarre, macabre and historical figures all collide and the books is packed with conspiracy, cultists, gypsies, crooks, mad scientists, scary jesters, innocent victims, poets, magic and Eygptology of the best hokum kind, all jostling for space in the seedy backstreets of a not-quiet-London. The plot twists and curves, from chases to black magic to underground dens of thieves. The prose is tight and often grim, but without the longwindedness that so often besieges fantasy writers. This is a wonderful, exciting book crammed with ideas, and great fun to read with the story continuing to surprise until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time travel, Clowns, Sorcerers, Poetry!, 31 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Well what's not to like? One big time travel conundrum, from present day America (well, 1983 as this is when the book was written) to the start of 19th century London, Egypt, and even back to 17th century London for a while! What's going on? Well, basically there are evil sorcerers trying to destroy the English establishment by means of body cloning, but they did not bank on the famous(!) poet William Ashbless being on hand to save the day!
There are themes here that Tim Powers goes on to cover in other books, such as Last Call, particularly ones of people "switching bodies". This means you need to pay close attention at times to make sure you remember who is actually who. This is typical of his books and means concentration is definitely required to fully keep track of what's going on. The main culprit for this act of body switching in this case is none other then Dog-Faced Joe, who has been terrorising London, leaving a trail of bloody bodies behind him, and alway eluding the authorities. He is just one of many great characters met along the way. There is also Horrabin the Clown, leader of a vicious clan of cut-throat beggars running the streets of London, who is also a freak only able to walk on stilts for fear of his contact with the earth depleting his magic skills learnt from the Doctor Romany, King of the Gypsies! Doctor Romany also happens to be the "ka" of the real Doctor Romanelli, sent to London to facilitate the plan from the Master back in Egypt, to get rid of King George! If this all sounds confusing, then the best thing to do is read the book. Don't just take my advice, all the other great reviews say it all really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Poetry Turns Deadly, 14 Feb. 2006
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
If you think it would be impossible to meld Egyptian gods, time travel, poetry, and historical fiction, think again, because this book does it.
Brendan Doyle, a scholar with expertise in Samuel Coleridge and the (fictional) William Ashbless poets of the early 19th century, is drawn into a scheme to actually travel back to the period of those poets via `gaps' in the integrity of time flow left from the performance of a major spell by a mysterious survivor/sorcerer of ancient Egypt. Kidnapped and marooned in this time period, Doyle is introduced to the underwold of that London, becoming a beggar who must hide from the sorcerer's disciples (and their ka's, replicas grown from the original's blood). Figuring out why he is object of such attention and determining what to do about it forms the balance of this work.
The action is fast paced, the situation complex and in places appropriately horrific, the described environs of London and Egypt in that period very well done. Most of the characters were well drawn, from the ka Romany to Jackie the beggar, and their motivations and actions normally made good sense. Historically, this seems to be quite accurate in terms of known events, from the Duke of Monmouth's attempts to take the English crown to the known early life of Lord Byron. Some of the images and ideas of this book are excellent, from little four inch high men to a valid, believable werewolf. And it does provide an interesting explanation for some of Coleridge's visions.
Where I had some problems with this work was with the character of Doyle himself as he changes from something of an ivory-tower milquetoast to a man of action and derring-do, as the change just did not strike me as totally believable, even given that he was almost forced into such action or die. In some of the later stages of the book, I also had trouble following just who was who, especially for some of the minor characters (why this confusion exists is one of the mainstays of the plot).
But most disappointing to me was that Powers basically copped out on providing any answer to the philosophical question that time travel almost necessarily entails: if you go back in time, are all your actions from that point on totally pre-determined (else history would change), is there some wiggle room for self-determination if the actions were never documented; or can history be changed and a new universe born? How he managed to not answer this forms a somewhat surprising coda to the main action, good in its own right, but still left me feeling a little cheated.
Still, a strong action novel, well researched, and very different from most books that fall under the umbrella of `time-travel'.
--- Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Sept. 2005
By 
T. H. Duncan "KOTOC" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Tim Powers has that rare skill of dragging the reader into his world from the very first page. And this book does not disappoint. The characters are many but all are full and wonderful. The reader is never in doubt as to their motives or feelings to their situation or surroundings. Being set in Victorian London, there is always ample going on and Powers puts this across with gusto. Twists and turns in plot as well as the dark alleys of sinister London has the reader continually suprised but not in a way to distract from the main theme. Magicians, scary clowns on springs, half men/dog beings giving chase to our reluctant hero who tries to use his future knowledge to help him get back home.Wonderfully written. Fantastic story line. Characters that you care for. This book stays with you well after the last page. Many read it over and over again. Twenty stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam packed book, 18 May 2008
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I can honestly say that I've never read a book so, so jam packed with different ideas, plots and congruent storylines, its a work of genius.

The central themes and ideas, socerous intrigue behind political fates, fortunes and national ascendency, werewolves, transmigration of the soul, time travel, victorian underworlds of beggar gangs and cut throats, will be familiar but here they all occur simultaneously.

However its managed very well and its never overwhelming or hard work, I was recommended this book as a steampunk archetype, it certainly does fit that genre (although there arent any derigibles or blimps) and in many ways it could fit as easily the category of science fiction as fantasy.

A throughly enjoyable and very well paced read with great characterisation, you will really feel for the protagonists and antagonists, full of surprises from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Thursday Week (Bruton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Hello!!

Ignore any review that gives this book any less than four stars. It is a glorious rollercoaster ride of adventure, poetry, time travel, Dickensian London and Egyptian magic. I am on my fourth copy of this book - purely for the fact I have leant my copy to friends who have loved it so much they have asked to pass it on.
This book is simply a joy to read, and is even better read for the second time - which I guarantee you will do the minute you finish it the first time. You do not have to be a die hard fantasy/scifi fan to enjoy this - if the end of the first chapter does not grab you.....give it three more pages and you will be hooked!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Original, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
A. Grevy "A.G." (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prepare yourselves before delving into the page-turning depths of this book.

Rarely do i read something that actually surprises me with every page I turn - this book was such a rarity though. It was simply amazing. However, I must admit, I was not hooked from the very first page. It took a chapter or two before I was really into it and by the third chapter there was just no turning back. I was up into the early hours of the morning, continously reading.

The really great thing about the story is how you start really caring about the characters as they (especially the main character) evolve. The story was incredibly original and kept me interested all the way through. At no point while i was reading did i find myself thinking "get on with it already" because it was clear that everything written was written for a reason.

And the style with which Tim Powers has written this story is also very good. There is a subtle humour that makes you smile, outstanding dialogue and narrating that leaves out just enough information to keep you guessing and reveals just enough to keep you satisfied for the time being.

All in all a great job from Tim Powers; it's one of the best books i've had the pleasure of reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Sept. 2001
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
I picked up a copy of the Anubis Gates 14 years ago and have been hooked on Tim Powers since.
Time travel, gypsies, love story, fantasy, intrigue......The Anubis Gates has it all. As ever Powers weaves a web which sucks the reader in and then takes you on a rip roaring roller coaster ride of your life.
The only bad thing about the book is that it ends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent time travel fantasy, 29 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
This was excellent and I really enjoyed it. It has time travel, sorcery, body-swapping, Egyptian mythology, and nineteenth century history. This is an excellently constructed time-travel fantasy, and reading it I find myself wishing there were more like it.
I found that the plot moved along at a fair pace and despite various complicated things happening it wasn't hard to follow. There were some plot twists that I guessed fairly quickly, including one of the main ones, though I suspect that it might have been due to my familiarity with time -travel stories. Even though it is mind-boggling time travel is one of those things I do tend to think about when I'm presented with it. In this case the events in the book manage to form a loop that seems free of paradox. I admire the planning and sleight-of-hand that must have taken.
I definitely recommend The Anubis Gates to any one who enjoys smart fantasy and/or well made time-travel stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars took me years to get around to reading it-well worth the effort, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
Ross Kitson (Halifax, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anubis Gates had been on my to read list for years but other (usually sprawling multi-tome) fantasy epics had got in the way. When I got a kindle this xmas I thought I'd download it and finally read it. I'd heard of it whilst nosing through some article about Bryan Talbot's Luther Arkwright graphic novel and 'Steampunk.' Interestingly enough I don't think it was all that relevant to either of those but rather was an excellent time travel novel with one of the most original concepts of sorcery I've ever read. The characterisation is superb and it oozes idiosyncratic charm, especially in the scenes involving Horrabin the clown. Although now, with another thirty years of time travel-paradox literature following it the twists are fairly easy to spot, the narrative is still entertaining and a delight to read. I would thoroughly recommend this to all readers, whether SF/fantasy buffs or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS)
The Anubis Gates (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) by Tim Powers (Paperback - 8 Sept. 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews