Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic concluding omnibus
How does a novelist follow up one of the most incredible, awe-inspiring and enlightening SF books ever written...?

Dan Simmons does it by taking the formula of Hyperion (another journey this time through the River Tethys and its farcasters, the manipulation of humankind by the TechnoCore, the reappearances of the strikingly memorable shrike), but placing it in...
Published on 6 May 2006 by Mr. C. A. Shoebridge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but too long
The first two books in the Hyperion quartet are excellent (especially The Fall of Hyperion) and while the Endymion books continue the story well and are full of good ideas they are far too long. Whole chapters could be taken out without any discernable effect on the plot/story. I found myself struggling with parts of this book given over to long descriptions of planets...
Published 7 months ago by daveoc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
What can I say.Dan Simmons must be one of the best writers around.
He has written some really good horror books and done some very good Historical/horror
sort of books. As for his Hyperion and Endymion books they are epic sci fi.
More of the same please Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Simmons at his best!, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is one of my personal favorite sci-fi books of all time.
The plot, the characters, the world created..
It all comes together very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Books, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Well, enough has been written about D.Simmons Hyperion series that I don't need to repeat here. Suffice to say that I agree with all the 5 star reviews, for all the reasons they say. If I had to live on a desert island, then this is the book(s) I would take. Perhaps in 2000 years, people will read it the way people read the bible....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The rest of the story...., 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Follows on brilliantly from the Hyperion Omnibus. Ties off some lose ends and opens up some more. Best Science fiction I have read in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best, and heaviest, book I've ever read, 9 Mar 2012
By 
JD (Kingston Upon Hull) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
I rarely review anything online but this two book is so good I had to. My feelings are exactly the same as Mr. Steven Calvert, and likewise, this the only book that has actually brought tears to my eyes.

I wont say too much about the details of the plot as other reviewers have covered most of what I would say. If you have read Hyperion/The Rise of Hyperion then this is a must read. The writing style is very similar, including the slightly overlong descriptive sections and reminders of what has already happened. However these are overshadowed entirely by the sheer scope and beauty of the novels, the narrative is always gripping and exciting, most chapters demanding you read to the next; i.e. you will regularly be lying in bed grappling with this enormous volume until 3am. I think I ended up reading the last 300 pages in two days, much to the annoyance of my fiance.

Most of the mysteries left at the end of Hyperion are explained, with a few notable exceptions suggesting possibly more novels? As others have noted there is some alteration of facts established in Hyperion but this does not really detract from the story as the explanations are fairly satisfying in themselves.

Lastly: The conclusion of this novel is where it shines most. you will probably see it coming well in advance but when the bittersweet end arrives it will smack you in the face and linger in your mind for days afterwards. Whereas The Fall of Hyperion ends a little messily, fizzling out, The ending to these books is near flawless. I wont say anymore than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply oustanding and a MUST READ, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Damon Doyle "damonde" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
There is little that I can add to the many 5 star reviews of the "Hyperion Cantos" except to say the following: Dont dare call yourself a book reader, sci fi fan or fiction fan if you havent read the "Hyperion Cantos" including, Hyperion, The Fall of Hyperion and the Endymion books. This answers most of the questions from books 1 and 2 and leaves the reader feeling his life has changed for the better in reading these books. Ground breaking, revolutionary and one of the true classics of the 20th centruy. Future generations will have this series on their reading lists when studying English. It stands alone amongst modern sci fi and will NOT be repeated. One of the 5 MUST READ sci fi series of the last 100 years. The only thing Im waiting for is Ridley Scott to make a film of the books like he did with Dicks, if done well, I can die happy. Astounding and life changing series of novels culminating in Endymion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting conclusion, 5 May 2011
By 
Barry Carroll "Sci-Fi Fan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
It isn't often that a book consumes the reader as much as this one did.

I didn't get answers to all the questions that I had from the series but the conclusion wraps things up satisfactorily and leaves it up to a given reader to imagine what they want to.

My only gripe is that it was overly long in places. There are some instances where Simmons goes overboard on describing a scene or one of the less vital passages in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Please!!, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is the best story I have read for a long while. Endymion, together with the preceding Hyperion omnibus, offer a huge SF scope of time and distance and a gripping storyline with brilliant individual character portraits. I was several times close to tears. I never wanted to put it down - except to rest my hands from the sheer physical weight of the omnibus editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This is an astounding conclusion to the Hyperion cantos! The plot has already been summarised by other reviewers, who noted that the book shares many of the central themes with the Hyperion omnibus, though it is set over 200 years later and features new main characters. That's not to say that there aren't a few suprise appearances from old characters throughout.

There are some minor crticisms; there are around 200 superfluous pages here and the main character (also the narrator) is just a little bit dense at times. The criticisms are vastly overshadowed by the book's sheer brilliance however. The characters come to life (I loved de Soya), there is a wealth of mythology both Christian and created by Simmons himself, it is emotionally hard hitting and the technology is never too overblown.

The conclusion is excellent and answers ALMOST all the questions raised throughout the entire series. I hope to God that means that Simmons will revisit his universe. If you like intelligent, credible space opera then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow... just wow, 16 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Ok so i came across Dan Simmonds via Hyperion and i thought it was truly wonderful, with this book he actually betters the previous book which doesn't seem possible but i literally couldn't put it down.

I actually used to go to bed early just so i could read it and then find it was 4am! Time just flashed so i cant give this book high enough praise, if you're reading this then please go and buy this book, if you dont like it i'll give you your money back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Endymion Omnibus: Endymion, The Rise Of Endymion (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Used & New from: 48.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews