Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, very Clarkean read
This is the second book in the "Time Odyssey" (as opposed to "Space Odyssey") series. This time, those aliens who messed up the world's historical times in the earlier book are back, having in the normal timeline shot a Jupiter-sized planet into the sun thousands of years ago to cause a major solar eruption and the cleansing of the solar system of human life. As the line...
Published on 16 Jan 2007 by Teemacs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More Stephen baxter than Arthur Clarke I think
This wasn't up Arthur C Clark's usual standard IMO. A bit drawn out with not a lot happening, and the characters were weak.
Published 16 months ago by Topfox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, very Clarkean read, 16 Jan 2007
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is the second book in the "Time Odyssey" (as opposed to "Space Odyssey") series. This time, those aliens who messed up the world's historical times in the earlier book are back, having in the normal timeline shot a Jupiter-sized planet into the sun thousands of years ago to cause a major solar eruption and the cleansing of the solar system of human life. As the line in "2001" puts it, "And sometimes, dispassionately, they had to weed". The attempts of humanity to avoid catastrophe with a daring technological innovation are the subject of this book, a typical logical Clarke outworking of the concept. And, in a delightful twist at the end (the sort of O. Henry-like flourish that Clarke seems to enjoy) the actions of the aliens, instead of destroying humanity to purify the solar system, serve to bring them into contact with humanity in a most unexpected way.

The two books really don't hang together as a series. They have in common British Army captain Bisela Dutt, who came back from the time-splintered world of the first book via the agency of the mysterious aliens who caused the whole mess and introduces to the world (or at least the great and good of the world) the idea that the coming sunstorm is not entirely a natural phenomenon. However, independently, they are great reading for all lovers of good science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunstorm, 5 Dec 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second book of a trilogy. I have read the first book, but it isn't necessary to have read it as the connection between the first and the second is fairly tenuous.

This is an Armageddon story of the near future. Can mankind survive a cataclysmic event through ingenuity and collaboration?

You do have to suspend your disbelief to take in this story, after all could we build a structure the size of the moon in the span of four years. But there you go, if you are a science fiction fan, this is all par for the course.

The story weaves together technologies we actually have today and a bit of future tech as well.

The characters are drawn fairly lightly as the main point of the book is the story itself.

A fairly light brisk read that does not take too much effort on your part, unlike some other heavy duty science fiction I have read recently.

I did enjoy the book and plan to get the third of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the trilogy, 3 Aug 2010
Hard science fiction at its best. This volume 2 of the times odyssey trilogy is the most engrossing. The sheer scale and detail of the story is intricately worked out and the science underpinning events accurately portrayed and lovingly woven into the story - but not at the expense of characterisation. The motives of the firstborn are explored in more detail and our fragile existence and fight for survival dramatically portrayed. All 3 books can be read independently of each other but it is better to read them in order as the background stories do develop over the 3 books. This one though is the pinnacle of the 3 writing wise. Volume 3 ups the ante but doesn't quite bring it off like this one does.

Splendidly big concepts, good science, good characters well written. Probably the best collaboration between these 2 writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sunstorm review, 6 Jun 2010
By 
P. Williamson (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written Sci Fi yarn that fits well with the other two books in the trilogy.
Uses many up to date scientific theories especially in particle & astro physics which gives it some credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars part 2 of a brilliant series, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. D. F. Green "watcheronthewalls" (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this Book is thoughtfully written. Don't expect just some way-out writing- these two authors have produced a great trilogy. Arthur Clarke may no longer be be with us, But Stephan Baxter is a worthy baton carrier. Read this triology, the future of the Sci-fi gendre is all here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fight for survival, 26 Feb 2006
By 
Ross P. Gidman "Vampire fiction fan" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the first book the protagonists were first introduced to a fractured world, and struggled to come to terms with their changed circumstances. At the end of that book, one person was allowed to return to the home world that had been lost.
In this book, we get the returnee having to come to terms with what has happened. We also get the prospect of scientists realising what will happen, with one genius predicting what will happen to the earth during solar storms, and if the damage to the earth can be limited. They also discover the tampering done by an intelligence first introduced in the first book.
The interplay introduced between scientists, politicians, religions and people is nicely interwoven, and we get to see the best of humanity. We also get to see some of the more base reactions that humanity can produce, but thankfully these are rare. This book is more about a feel-good version of humanity, and what might be achieved if there is a common purpose.
The story woven is detailed enough to satisfy the curiosity of most, without being too detailed and thus boring. This book moves along at a faster pace than the first book, and has a greater sense of urgency. Due to the subject matter, this is appropriate. It is well written and involves the reader better than the first book did, and I enjoyed this book more.
I would recommend this book be read, but ONLY after the first book has been read, as otherwise some of the refences made may not make sense. It can be read independently, but may not then be as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Sci-Fi at it's best., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While you read it you can easily imagine that it could be true.I can't wait for more stories from this pair of authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Put down and not returned to, 10 May 2014
1 star because it was boring. The characters never came to life. The story didn't either. The previous book's events were totally disconnected from this novel, apart from a cameo role it seemed. And my pet hate - descriptive factual narrative. "This is the sun. It's big and yellow. This is how it works. This is the moon. It's also big but not yellow. This is how we would be able to live on the moon.."
Aaaaargh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Stephen baxter than Arthur Clarke I think, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This wasn't up Arthur C Clark's usual standard IMO. A bit drawn out with not a lot happening, and the characters were weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good sf read, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not quite finished this bookbut it isso SF it got me spelbound and cant wait to get back to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunstorm - A Time Odyssey: Book Two: Sunstorm Bk. 2
Sunstorm - A Time Odyssey: Book Two: Sunstorm Bk. 2 by Stephen Baxter (Hardcover - 21 July 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews