Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Philip K Dick's Best
"In the overcrowded world and cramped space colonies of the late 21st century, tedium can be endured through the use of the drug Can-D, which enables the user to inhabit a shared illusory world. When industrialist Palmer Eldritch returns from an interstellar trip, he brings with him a new drug, Chew-Z, which is far more potent than Can-D, but threatens to plunge the world...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by M. D. Jenkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting
Only just discovered Dick and have already read Electric Sheep and Ubik. Palmer Eldritch had gotten great reviews, butI' m a little disappointed. I loved Ubik sooo much that I had to check out the other top rated books. I thoroughly recommend Ubik. Electric Sheep was ok... Palmer Eldritch is the worst out of the three in my opinion
Published 12 days ago by Alan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Philip K Dick's Best, 9 Mar 2011
By 
M. D. Jenkins (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
"In the overcrowded world and cramped space colonies of the late 21st century, tedium can be endured through the use of the drug Can-D, which enables the user to inhabit a shared illusory world. When industrialist Palmer Eldritch returns from an interstellar trip, he brings with him a new drug, Chew-Z, which is far more potent than Can-D, but threatens to plunge the world into a permanent state of drugged illusion controlled by the mysterious Eldritch."
-- from the back cover

Written in 1964 and published the following year, The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (Philip K Dick's sixteenth published novel), deals with a number of the themes that dominate his work (pre-cognition, the nature of reality, drugs etc..). As with all PKD's works this novel is packed with ideas that make you marvel at his imagination but also (if you are of a philosophical turn of mind) bring you to question and consider the themes he raises for yourself. PKD also creates characters that I at least find believable. As Ursula Le Guin has said "There are no heroes in Dick's books, but there are heroics. One is reminded of Dickens: what counts is the honesty, constancy, kindness and patience of ordinary people." PKD's characters always strike me as in some way authentic.

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch was nominated for the Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1965.

"I am afraid of that book [The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch]; it deals with absolute evil, and I wrote it during a great crisis in my religious beliefs. I decided to write a novel dealing with absolute evil as personified in the form of a "human." When the galleys came from Doubleday I couldn't correct them because I could not bear to read the text, and this is still true."
-- Philip K Dick

"The worlds through which Philip Dick's characters move are subject to cancellation or revision without notice. Reality is approximately as dependable as a politician's promise."
--Roger Zelazny in Philip Dick: Electric Shepherd (1975), Bruce Gillespie, ed.

If you are new to Philip K Dick's work I would also recommend the novels (which generally seem to be regarded as among his best):

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?: The novel which became 'Blade Runner' (S.F. Masterworks)
Ubik (S.F. Masterworks)
A Scanner Darkly (S.F. Masterworks)
The Man In The High Castle (S.F. Masterworks)
Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said (S.F. Masterworks)

That said, though some of PKD's works are better than others, to my mind they are all well worth reading. I would also recommend his short story collections:

Beyond Lies The Wub: Volume One Of The Collected Short Stories
Second Variety: Volume Two Of The Collected Short Stories
The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Short Stories
Minority Report: Volume Four Of The Collected Short Stories
We Can Remember It For You Wholesale: Volume Five of The Collected Short Stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-Layered and Rich in Content, 9 Jun 2011
Firstly, this book is easy to pick up and read. Some reviewers suggest that you should try other works first, but I don't see why this should be the case. The story is quite involving and complex (as an idea), but the actual writing style and explanation is clear and very well described. Eldritch is coming back to earth and quite what he has with him, and whether he is still human is up for debate.

As you read this book, you almost go through all of the deadly sins and their impact on human life - someone is trying to upgrade their beauty or their intelligence (vanity), a co-worker is trying to take your job (envy), the boss is sleeping with the consultant (lust) - Dick plays out the story against a backdrop of impending doom, with the present-day prophet of the universe about to set up a new world based on his own self, a self that is alien, obnoxious, and without a true soul. The interesting twist to the story is the fact that we are all a part of this monstrosity, and perhaps Dick was ultimately trying to lay out the process by which the mind loses itself. I read somewhere that Dick could never actually read this story again, and never checked the final draft as it scared him.

For such a doom-laden book, it is remarkably upbeat, and the central figures have a lot to like in them, and a distinct sense of purpose even in the most trying of times. Towards the end the fight against Eldritch mounts, and the all-knowing nature of the new god is put into question. Everything is a question with Dick, and all is never lost.

This is classic sci-fi, and highly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eldritch by name, 31 July 2010
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
One of the finest of Dick's 1960s works, "Palmer Eldritch" is a book brimful of superb ideas. Some are bitingly satirical (future colonists will relieve the excruciating boredom of their lives by entering the ideal world of Ken and Barbie analogue Perky Pat, making dolls and doll accessories the most prized items in the solar system). Some are sad (humans undergo a cosmetic process to accelerate their evolution, but sometimes the process goes awry). And some are just plain terrifying, particularly those ideas surrounding the evil messiah Palmer Eldritch, who returns from Proxima Centauri with a divine sacrament that just might grant eternal life.

Unlikely ever to be filmed, (though John Lennon and Timothy Leary reputedly tried to secure the rights), and unlikely to appeal to hardcore sci-fi fans on account of its playful treatment of religious themes, "Stigmata" is nonetheless a brilliant, thoughtful novel about the slippery nature of reality and the untrustworthiness of those who claim to be experts on the subject. The fact that it's so often overlooked is understandable, but for those who can be bothered it will more than reward your patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perky Pat , drugs and hallucinations, 27 Sep 2002
By 
Rob Burns (Datchet, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Stigmata deals with a number of Dick's themes: identidy, what is reality, drugs. I read this book a couple of years ago, and I bought it for about 80 pence in a second hand book stall. It was one of the best investments I've ever made. The pages that deal with the Perky Pat playsets are particularly memorable , revealing Dick to be a thoughtful , witty writer.
In a nutshell, buy it, borrow it , steal it...just do what you have to do to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Questioning reality four decades before Inception, 9 Feb 2012
I just finished reading this wonderful masterpiece, and as with so many other of Philip K. Dick's novels it left me both enlightened and confused, happy and sad, courageous and frightened - all at once.

"The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch" deals with many subjects but the most important ones seem to be the nature of reality and the nature of pure evil - two subjects not as separate as one might think. This is especially true in a story where an alien drug, known as Chew-Z, is brought to the Solar system by Palmer Eldritch, an industrialist who has spent many years in a far away star system. Especially tempting to colonists who live a rough and laborous life, the drug allows the user to enter an illusory world where one's desires and wishes can "become true". When the drug is first introduced, the distinction between reality and illusion is blurred especially when one begins to learn about the nature of the power that infiltrates every illusory world.

If you've seen Inception and you became intrigued by its metaphysical side, then you will love this book. It is easily one Philip K. Dick's most sinister yet magnificently brilliant books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of philosophical Sci-Fi, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
If you like a bit of existential doubt to pop into your life every now and then, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, 5 Mar 2011
By 
Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
This is one of those books that deserves a very thoughful review. Phillip's books are often some of the more complex in Science Fiction with numerous twists and turns.

The story is one of an earth which is heating up causing humanity to colonise the solor system. The imagery is evoked of settling the west and the harsh lives that are lived. Against that the escapism of drugs and new realities that can be experienced.

This delves into difference senses of reality, religious themes as well as the state of time. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book......Takes Some Thinking, 18 Dec 2004
By 
J. Maddison "Bunchuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
This is a very good book and must be read by every person who loves Phillip K. Dicks novels. Be warned this is one of Dicks harder books to follow. The multiple dimensions of reality that Mayerson experience in novel will leave you scratching heads trying to figure out what's happening and if this is the real reality or an illusion. But This is good as it makes you think about the novel more and so come close to understanding what Dicks Talking about...
If you are a first time reader of Dicks novel i would suggest that you read Do Android Dream Of Electric Sheep as it is contains the same sort of theme but is alot more accessible...
This is a really good book and should be read by any Science Fiction Fans.... A Must Buy!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dick at his best, 1 July 2003
This review is from: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
A lot of text indicates that this book is one of Philip K. Dick's 3 key works. Not surprisingly then it deals with many of the author's reoccurring themes, most obviously, identity and drug abuse.
At first I wasn't convinced by the world described, but the more I read the more I was drawn into the world of PP Layouts and Chew-Z, like the hovelists described on Mars. The sheer imagination and vivid description makes it almost cinematic and the creepy aura Dick creates around the mysterious Palmer Eldritch is quite incredible - an unnerving presence as he is for those who are introduced to the Chew-Z narcotic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only just discovered Dick and have already read Electric Sheep and Ubik. Palmer Eldritch had gotten great reviews, butI' m a little disappointed. I loved Ubik sooo much that I had to check out the other top rated books. I thoroughly recommend Ubik. Electric Sheep was ok... Palmer Eldritch is the worst out of the three in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaea6db04)

This product

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Philip K. Dick (Paperback - 13 Mar 2003)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews