Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BT Fun
I would recomend Barry Trotter and the Shameless Parody for any age group. It is an excellent book about a man called Barry Trotter who is 30 (going on 13) and his wife Ermonie Gringer. Micheal Gerber uses some great phrases through the book. For the price it is an excellent buy and I think anyone with a sense of humour would enjoy it. I found Harry Potter boring and I...
Published on 9 April 2005 by Taribo

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but clever..?
A shameless parody is exactly what this book is. It's quite fun and entertaining, but I feel it could have been much funnier. Barry Trotter is a perpetual student who is doing everything in his power to avoid leaving Hogwash School and get a job. He uses his celebrity to make money and take advantage of impressionable young ladies! The humour in this book comes from...
Published on 27 Sept. 2003 by TheLibrarian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BT Fun, 9 April 2005
By 
Taribo (Stranraer, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
I would recomend Barry Trotter and the Shameless Parody for any age group. It is an excellent book about a man called Barry Trotter who is 30 (going on 13) and his wife Ermonie Gringer. Micheal Gerber uses some great phrases through the book. For the price it is an excellent buy and I think anyone with a sense of humour would enjoy it. I found Harry Potter boring and I decided that Barry Trotter was more humorous and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but clever..?, 27 Sept. 2003
A shameless parody is exactly what this book is. It's quite fun and entertaining, but I feel it could have been much funnier. Barry Trotter is a perpetual student who is doing everything in his power to avoid leaving Hogwash School and get a job. He uses his celebrity to make money and take advantage of impressionable young ladies! The humour in this book comes from seeing favourite characters portrayed in a slightly less innocent light. The problem with this book is that the joke wears thin very quickly. Yes, there are some funny moments and the sarcastic comments about the Harry Potter merchandising monster are good. I feel that this joke could have made a great article or story in a magazine, but there wasn't really enough material for a whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trotter better than Potter?, 1 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
Barry is a truely brilliant book. It has an excellant humour, that portrays the funnier side of the original book. As a fan of the Harry Potter books, I found that Barry Trotter fantastic, with Bumblemore a personal highlight. But I found that a knowledge of the original books is essential before picking up any Barry Trotter book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 10 Dec. 2003
I thought after "Barry Trotter and the Shameless Parody" that Gerber could not get any better. I had trouble reading this book because of the tears of laughter. I must admit to being a fan of Harry Potter and this book (especially the title) make fun of the entire genre. I hope there's another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Harry Potter parody, 30 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
I am the world's biggest Harry Potter fan, and so when I read an article about this parody in the Chicago Sun-Times I had to get it. What the hell, it's only ten bucks anyway.
I'm so glad I did! It's one of the funniest things I 've ever read. It's not really a parody of a specifc book in the series -- instead, it starts when Barry (Harry) is twenty-two, made incurably lazy by his famous life, and unwilling to leave Wizard school, where everyone caters to his every whim. It's only when he learns that a Hollywood movie is being made out of his life -- and that if the movie suceeds the school will have to close and he'll have to get a real job -- that he is galvanized into action.
What's especially hilarious is seeing the grown up Barry Trotter using magic in ways that any 22 year old guy would if he could -- to meet women, to get out of trouble he got himself into. Also wonderful is the way that Michael Gerber comes up with little bits of magic that are worthy of JK Rowling, except funny... like "Traveling Snuff," something wizards use to fly. Usually with snuff, you see, you stay in the same place and the snuff comes shooting out of your nose... but with magic snuff, IT stays in the same place, and when you sneeze, you go shooting up into the air.
So, if you like Harry Potter, and you like to laugh, do yourself a favor and get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Thin Line between Getting a Message Out and Being Funny, 3 Jan. 2012
I enjoy parodies as a genre, the sillier the better usually, there's been great books like the somewhat outdated Bored of the Rings and in the film industry Airplane and the Naked Gun Movies. But modern parodies aren't quite as good, becuase they often take themselves too seriously or try and construct a complicated plot at the expense of the humour on screen or page. Barry Trotter was soemthing I approached after reading Bored of the Rings and thought Why Not? Just to set ground rules I like the books and the films, they're good teenage fiction, I'm not a die-hard fan of either medium or a hater, in some respects coming from either background of love or hate may be the best to come at Barry Trotter as it appeals top both, but doesn't cater as well for the ones in the middle.

Barry Trotter's main problems lie in its content and the fact that clearly the author has some kind of agenda beneath the gags and poking fun at the series. The problem is that often this message gets in the way of advancing the plot and had the author stuck with the events of maybe Philosopher's / Sorcerer's Stone with an already laid out plot which could have had plenty of gags on - can think of plenty of ways the giant chess game could have been done humourously, then maybe the laughs would have gotten through. Barry Trotter's main point is actually a decent one, it's all about the money being pumped out of the franchise through the films, and the way the books are disregarded as opposed to the inferior (no offence to the films but the books are always better) movies which people see more often and don't know what they're missing in terms of depth, power and heart. Whilst this is a good point that I fully support this is a parody with the main idea to parody the events of the stroy, and to an even further point - make the reader laugh.

Now this is a funny book, plenty of gags throughout, the names are all parodied with some very funny, in the same style as Bored of the Rings did for its characters. The plot satirises many parts of the books to a humourous manner with the limits of magic being one of them, as well as the oddities of the characters. The book even makes fun of the fanbase for Harry Potter and the lunacy many of the fans of the series have.

The problem comes near the end mainly and the fact that the comedy is presented in quite a dull way. Parodies mainly work with the structure of many long sentences with the jokes at the end whereas Gerber's prefers a conventional style of mixed range. Evidence of this is found in Bored of the Rigns which emphasises that how content is presented is just as important as the gags themselves. And then the other problem lies in the fact that after a major plot point and the usual confrontation with Lord Valuemart, which is quite funny as a scene, the book goes downhill without a chance of recovery. It's too nice and lovey-dovey, everyone smiling and being happy. In some respects, it turns too wet whereas had it continued a dry, cynical tone of parody as opposed to making its own point it would have worked better humour-wise. Also becuase it strayed away from the established plot of the books then the story falls apart with a lack of ideas mainly and a lot of padding to make up for it.

So whilst it's a funny book and given time I'd read it again, it has some writing problems and ultimately doesn't measure up to many parodies of the past. But for die-hards and haters of Harry Potter it'll work for both of you very nicely but it's just a silly parody and it does what it's meant to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trying too hard, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
Yes, it was amusing but it was also hard going. The author was trying so hard to come up with a 'witty' take on every name in the original Harry Potter that I just felt the plot and writing got forgotton. I plodded on as I don't like to leave a book unfinished but I was glad to come to the end of it. If you want a well written fantasy book, buy Harry Potter, if you want a well written parody - don't buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry Trotter, 7 Jan. 2003
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
I love anything to do with Potter, so I thought I had to buy this. I was really looking forward to it. But when I started it, I had hoped it would be funnier. Loads of things in it are just daft, typical American name changes, like Bumblemore and Lon, which aren't very inspiring. The storyline is good, however, and will keep you entertained for a while, buts its unlikely you'll want to pick it up again ,or reccommend it to other Potter fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good fun!, 13 July 2008
By 
Steen Lykke Laursen "Fortes Fortuna Juvat" (Oksboel, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
A whole lot of "funny ha-ha" spiced with amble amounts of "funny peculiar".
But I don't think it will be as entertaining at all if you haven't read at least the three first Harry Potter books. Even the look-a-like names made me laugh.
I would be surprised if this book couldn't draw a smile on J.K. Rowling's face. There's absolutely no reason, as I see it, to send the "I hate you" note you'll find at the very end - and that's spoken by a true (not fanatic) Harry Potter fan.
I don't consider it a children's book though because of the sexual innuendo that appears occasionally and usually on behalf of Ermine.
Entertainment wise it's easily a four star book but all the clever and hilarious messages and notes earn the fifth star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great one liners, but the plots a bit thin -, 19 Sept. 2009
By 
Tom (Belfast, NI) - See all my reviews
Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody scores with many funny one-liners, but misses with a plot that runs out of steam. Maybe the plot should not bother me, but to my mind it is a bit of a glaring omission because of the way the plot hangs together so neatly over the seven Harry Potter books. Perhaps a parody does not need concern itself too much with plot and this is simply a good vehicle for some jokes at the expense of the Harry Potter series.

The verdict is - do read this for a bit of fun, but don't expect a story with a plot up to the standard of JK Rowling who, of course, wrote the books parodied here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Michael Gerber (Hardcover - 19 Sept. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews