Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best
Lyrical writing, beautiful world-building, engaging adventure. Moorcock never lets you down.
He's a marvellous antidote to the billions of cloned Tolkien books out there. His is Hammett to Tolkien's Chandler. Read him and read Tolkien, and you have read the two most influential writers in modern fantasy. But they are by no means the same in intention. Tolkien...
Published on 6 Jan. 2002

versus
6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too stoned
This is a good series of science fantasy. But (and it's a big one) the man has done much better. I can't escape the feeling that this was a day job of a series. It seems rushed out to a formula compared with most of the rest of his writing. Cornwall & christians & celts? Do me a favour. Elric has a big black soul drinker of a sword, Erekose has the doom of remembering and...
Published on 16 Aug. 2002 by Mr R Castley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 6 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Lyrical writing, beautiful world-building, engaging adventure. Moorcock never lets you down.
He's a marvellous antidote to the billions of cloned Tolkien books out there. His is Hammett to Tolkien's Chandler. Read him and read Tolkien, and you have read the two most influential writers in modern fantasy. But they are by no means the same in intention. Tolkien slots easily into the English Dream. Moorcock is constantly addressing what you might call the English Nightmare. Both are part of the Matter of Britain and both can make great claims to have continued to examine it.
This sense of myth and history is why critics like Peter Ackroyd single Moorcock out. That he was never as comforting as Tolkien is no doubt why his work is no longer understood as it seemed once to be understood and appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Classic Moorcock, 25 Jun. 2002
By 
J. L. Probert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe (Paperback)
Apart from a last-minute title change to Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe, and a new cover painting, this Fantasy Masterworks offering is identical in every respect to the (still in print) version of the first three Corum books issued as Volume 4 in Moorcock's Tale of the Eternal Champion series, also published by Gollancz.
That said, if you're a fan of sword and sorcery and have never encountered this particular Moorcock hero then get hold of a copy now. While I have always been more of a fan of Elric, Hawkmoon and Jherek Carnalian, it was actually a pleasure to read these stories again. Indeed it's hard to believe that they are now over thirty years old. Each of the volumes contained in this omnibus fail to reach the two-hundred page mark, and they remain an abject example of prose which is economical yet bursting with ideas - a lesson which today's writers of fat fantasy tomes could do well to learn from. Reading some of the more breathlessly inspired passages, you can almost see Moorcock behind the typewriter, getting new ideas faster than he can set them down. This make-it-up-as-you-go-along style of writing does have its flaws, however, and things do become a little erratic in the third part, with guest appearances from both Elric and Erekose, the original Eternal Champion himself. Nevertheless this is a must-read volume and I presume the title change is because Gollancz intends to bring out the second trilogy of Corum adventures, The Prince with the Silver Hand, at some point in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite Moorcock creations., 2 April 2009
This review is from: Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe (Paperback)
Corum is one of my favourite Moorcock characters, they are beautifully written and well realised, you truly get a sense of knowing the people and you begin to care what happened to them. To me this is the mark of a great writer and storyteller, as with all of his work this novel is based on the wars between Chaos and Law. The action again as with all of his work is hard and fast paced, often bloody and brutal. The Magical system is amazing, I particuly like how Corum can reach into another realm and summon the aid of fallen warriors and other dead beasts. All in all you don't get much better than Corum, if you're a fan of Fantasy give this a go, if you like it read all of Moorcocks work, you'll be in for a treat.

The story begins in the world a Corum, a small castle filled with family and a few servants. He sets out on a mission set by his father the King to travel to the North to seek out more of his lost race. When he arrives at the destination he discovers that he is to late, the castle of his kin is burnt to the ground and the dead are left to rot in the open fields. This sets Corum on the path of revenge were he we fight epic battles with man and Gods and travel the different realms and times to restore the order of Law were Chaos rains. Will he and the world he knows survive the coming struggle? Only the Gods will decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Elric or Hawkmoon, try this..., 26 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
In classic Moorcock fashion, the Corum saga throws the reader into the most vivid imagery experience. Moorcock is not affraid to pit his heros against deities the size of titans, and demons as powerful as entire armies. This is true 'high fantasy' and a must for all Elric and Hawkmoon fans. Corum is a worthy incarnation of the eternal champion, and his adventures are a pure delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Classic Moorcock, 20 Jun. 2002
By 
J. L. Probert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe (Paperback)
Apart from a last-minute title change to Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe, and a new cover painting, this Fantasy Masterworks offering is identical in every respect to the (still in print) version of the first three Corum books issued as Volume 4 in Moorcock's Tale of the Eternal Champion series, also published by Gollancz.
That said, if you're a fan of sword and sorcery and have never encountered this particular Moorcock hero then get hold of a copy now. While I have always been more of a fan of Elric, Hawkmoon and Jherek Carnalian, it was actually a pleasure to read these stories again. Indeed it's hard to believe that they are now over thirty years old. Each of the volumes contained in this omnibus fail to reach the two-hundred page mark, and they remain an abject example of prose which is economical yet bursting with ideas - a lesson which today's writers of fat fantasy tomes could do well to learn from. Reading some of the more breathlessly inspired passages, you can almost see Moorcock behind the typewriter, getting new ideas faster than he can set them down. This make-it-up-as-you-go-along style of writing does have its flaws, however, and things do become a little erratic in the third part, with guest appearances from both Elric and Erekose, the original Eternal Champion himself. Nevertheless this is a must-read volume and I presume the title change is because Gollancz intends to bring out the second trilogy of Corum adventures, The Prince with the Silver Hand, at some point in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 17 May 2014
By 
Markie "marx1977" (hereandthere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion there is no finer writer of fantastic fiction than Michael Moorcock. Corum may or may not be his finest work depending on your own personal point of view, but for me it is my favourite collection in the Eternal Champion series. Quite simply I could read this over and over again.
The stories are bursting with ideas and fantastic imagination as the worlds of law and chaos collide while Corum, a pawn in the game between them, seeks revenge on the horde of savages who killed his family then captured and tortured Corum and leave him minus one hand and one eye (I kid you not!!) before he escapes. Settle yourself down in a nice comfy chair to find out how Corum regains his strength and over comes his early set backs to fight back and become a truly brilliant incarnation of the Eternal Champion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality like this never dates or ages.........., 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Rik P "Rik P" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
I initially read Moorcock's Eternal Champion books in the 70's when I was a teenager. Now at the age of 50 I've come back to them and these books are a complete delight. I always felt that Corum was one of the better realised characters of the series and this particular series of the Law v Chaos concept has such an ironic ending that just illustrates the talent Moorcock has. Just embarking on the second Corum series again. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Gaunt (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm quite a fan of Moorcock, from years ago when I read 'Behold the Man.' I've read and enjoyed a lot of his books, and whilst this was good, it wasn't one of the best. Its a decent page turner, full of plenty of 'eternal champion' adventures, but I have to say I preferred some of his others (Von Bek and, perhaps inevitably, Elric).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome reissue in one volume, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read these first about 30 years ago. It's great to have them again in one volume, bringing together the first part of the story of Corum. They still read really well, good fantasy books with some serious intent and dark moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moorcock Tales of the Eternal Champion, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
K. W. Maeer (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series, i remember these books as a teenager, nice to have each subject in one volume. Recommended. I will collect the whole series which is some 14 volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe
Corum: The Prince in the Scarlet Robe by Michael Moorcock (Paperback - 13 Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews