Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Kingmaker Setup
This is his sixth book set in this version of our world, I have read the first four, but not the fifth, as yet - one of the characters from the fifth appears in this novel - and it seems her story is the fifth novel, but might not be that interesting.

Anyway, this was good, and more in the vein of the third novel of his `first' trilogy. However, the ending...
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by Blue Tyson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hounds of Lurve
This pacey and action packed fantasy novel is part of series (something that could be made clearer on its cover) set in a post modern Britain, where gods and monsters from Celtic myth menace the remnants of humanity.

The setting is definately strong enough to support a number of books and is an interesting backdrop for the story in this volume...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Rotgut


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Hounds of Lurve, 23 July 2009
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This pacey and action packed fantasy novel is part of series (something that could be made clearer on its cover) set in a post modern Britain, where gods and monsters from Celtic myth menace the remnants of humanity.

The setting is definately strong enough to support a number of books and is an interesting backdrop for the story in this volume.

Characters are well established and generally sympathetic. The amorphous "non existence" the heroes team up to fight is a rather uninspiring villain , but many of the human cast members are scheming and self serving enough to be interesting opponents for the main characters.

The single sex scene, where a man is forced to make love to a beautiful woman to power up a magic spell is rather unfortunate.

Best episode for me features Staffordshire's National Trust stately pile of Shugborough Hall as a gateway to the Otherworld. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kingmaker Setup, 28 Feb. 2011
This is his sixth book set in this version of our world, I have read the first four, but not the fifth, as yet - one of the characters from the fifth appears in this novel - and it seems her story is the fifth novel, but might not be that interesting.

Anyway, this was good, and more in the vein of the third novel of his `first' trilogy. However, the ending perhaps cheesily sets up yet another likely to be trilogy about what happened to Church from the first 3 novels, when he went back into the past. That was a bit annoying. Presumably that will hopefully end the whole thing back in the present time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent climax to another fantastic trilogy., 1 July 2005
This review is from: The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Chadbourn's previous novels were cover to cover tension, action, emotion and sensuously descriptive prose. I expected no less from this most recent installment.
"The Hounds of Avalon" seems almost a slow starter, with gentle character building and dialogue dominating the earlier chapters, but it's not long before the novel explodes into a colourful tapestry of storylines that suck you into the book, entranced and unable to put it down (I read it in a day, non-stop!)
The Third in the "Dark Ages" Trilogy, this book serves as the sequel that binds together the seemingly unrelated "The Devil in Green" and "Queen of Sinister", as well as the previous "Age of Misrule" trilogy, bringing the extended story to its climax and completion (or is it?)
Read it, but not until you have read the previous 5 books in Chadbourn's apocalyptic fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many enemies so little time, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
P. O'Connor "Sci-Fi Fan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
In Hounds we finally get to see what the Government have been up to since the Fall. Just as the Church failed to deliver the goods in Devil in Green, the Government don't appear to be much cop here. In an attempt to "recruit" the help of one of the Brothers of Dragons they end up shooting one and leaving them for dead. Way to go! As if the Brothers and Sisters of Dragons don't have a hard enough job already. With dwindling numbers they set out to find the original Brothers and Sisters from The Age of Misrule series. Hounds of Avalon is a great adventure. I was happy to see the return of some of the old gang; their presence is sourly needed as they face an enemy more dangerous than any before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two fantastic series, 4 Aug. 2006
By 
A. Solley "Clumsy" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
I can't believe I've finally finished the Age of Misrule and Dark Ages series!

These are by far the best books I have read all year. They're well written, with a great plot; plenty of action; and characters you really care about. They truly are books you cannot put down. It took my four days to read the first three books, and 6 days to read the second three (only becuase I had to go to work).

The Queen of Sinister only gets 4 stars, simply due to the fact it's got a slightly slower pace than the others. All the others get 5 stars.

Mark is now one of only two authors that I will buy in hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor ending for a trilogy..., 2 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...as it leaves you wondering why on earth MC didn't finish the storyline. He leaves it up to the readers own imagination as to how the Brothers and Daughters of Dragons are going to overcome the Void.

Fortunately however MC is writing "Destroyer of Worlds" which will complete the trilogy! Yes, Mark Chadbourn wrote "The Dark Age" as a triology but requires four books to actually finish the series...go figure.

The Dark Age series is not too bad, but I much prefered the Age of Misrule.

Please note that Mark Chadbourn has also written 'Jack of Ravens' which reunites us with the original Brothers and Sisters of Dragons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
The Hounds of Avalon: The Dark Age 3 (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Mark Chadbourn (Paperback - 21 April 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews