Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collector's Item
This book makes a fantastic addition to anyone's collection of Discworld stories. First of all, it's described as a fable; in other words, it's short. But it is illustrated by the accomplished Paul Kidby who does magnificent work in bringing the Discworld and its motley characters to life.
Cohen the Barbarian and his now geriatric Silver Hoarde are determined to...
Published on 6 Jan 2004 by J. Cronin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful illustrations, bit of a shame about the story...
When i first got this book i was blown away by all the illustrations, as they are absolutely gorgeous. As I sat down to reda the book though, I was dissapointed to find that the story didn't match up. Don;t get me wrong, it's a nice enough book, with all the usual Ankh-Morpork characters - the wizards, Vetinari, Rincewind, Carrot and Leonard DaQuirm, but some of the...
Published on 19 Oct 2001 by Kath/Dwagon (weirdkath@hotmail...


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collector's Item, 6 Jan 2004
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
This book makes a fantastic addition to anyone's collection of Discworld stories. First of all, it's described as a fable; in other words, it's short. But it is illustrated by the accomplished Paul Kidby who does magnificent work in bringing the Discworld and its motley characters to life.
Cohen the Barbarian and his now geriatric Silver Hoarde are determined to leave the world remembered as the heroes that they once were. To this end, they commissioned a ballad from a young bard and are off to blow up the mountain of the gods. Sounds simple eh?
However, to avoid them bringing about the end of the world, Lord Vetinari commissions the eccentric genius inventor Lenonardo da Quirm to build a craft to reach the mountain of the gods double-fast. (Kidby's illustrations include pages from Leonardo's notebooks, in the style of DaVinvci). Powered by dragons, who have been fed a very careful diet(!!), Rincewind, Captain Carrot, Leonardo and a stowaway Librarian head off into the void.
Hilariously funny, as all Pratchett's books are, there is also an underlying note to this tale, concerning the aged and their desire to be remembered for their deeds and not their decrepitude. This sombre thread is in line with the recent development of the Discworld novels, especially "Nightwatch".
With the appearance of a new character "Evil Lord Harry Dread", as a very evil and conniving Dark Lord indeed and his crew of the stupidest henchmen imaginable, you know you're going to enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !!, 28 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
If you're already a Pratchett fan then this book is hugely enjoyable. If you are new to the Discworld, then you should probably try another book first. The reason being that this is quite a bit shorter than other Pratchett works, but he uses characters from many of his 'sets' (ie; the City Watch, the Wizards etc..). Because of this, a lot of the character information and background is left out to get on with the story. This could leave a newcomer a little confused.
Also, Paul Kidby has done brilliantly with the illustrations. The attention to detail is marvelous and i agree with his interpretations of every charcter. Except one. Captain Carrot most certainly does not look like that.
Otherwise, the story easily matches Pratchett's other books, even if it is a little short.
A very funny read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short... but good., 25 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
The end of the Discworld is near, as the geriatric Silver Horde, lead by Cohen the Barbarian, are on their way to Dunmanifestin with the firm intention of blowing up the Gods. They've even kidnapped a minstrel to write the story of their heroic lives. Someone has to stop them, and quickly!
So to save the world from total destruction, the Wizards of Unseen University and the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork, Lord Vetinari, have no choice but to call Leonard da Quirm to the rescue. Soon the inventor, along with the very literal Captain Carrot of the City Watch and Rincewind the chicken-hearted WiZZard, embark on a perilous journey aboard the Kite, a bird-shaped flying device powered by Swamp Dragons. According to his calculations, if the Kite goes over the rim at great speed, it'll come back around and rocket right towards the hub, where lies Dunmanifestin, just in time to stop Cohen and his gang.
Even though The Last Hero might seems a little bit short, comparatively, of course it has the genuine, punful, Pratchett style that we've all come to love so much. The good side of it is that it's read in no time, eh! And Paul Kidby's lavish illustrations are just astounding. Would do a wonderful gift idea, wouldn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Outstanding, 2 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
At the end of "Interesting Times", the last book to feature Cohen the Barbarian and the Silver Horde, the decrepit warriors had conquered the Agatean Empire. Unfortunately, and not very surprisingly, it seems they got a little bored. Remembering that a hero should die in battle, they have now decided to pick the right enemies and attack Dunmanifestin. To put it another way, a band of very old barbarians led by the world's greatest hero are going to invade the Discworld's Home of the Gods and blow it up. They've even brought along a bard to write the saga of their last, greatest and most glorious assault.
Unsurprisingly, word of this latest development has reached the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork. This news has caused no little amount of panic, as the destruction of Dunmanifestin and the Gods will lead to the end of the world. So, as the Gods sit back, throw dice and have some fun, Lord Vetinari sends out a team to try and stop Cohen and his cohorts. Supported by the head wizards of the Unseen University - including the newly appointed Head of Inadvisably Applied Magic, Ponder Stibbons - Rincewind, Leonard of Quirm, Captain Carrot and a certain hairy stowaway take a trip few Ankh-Morporkians have ever taken.
While "The Last Hero" may be shorter than most of the Discworld novels, it's still well worth reading. The new “villain” Evil Harry Dread, The Evil Dark Lord, would be an asset to any future book and Paul Kidby's illustrations are a superb addition. While it may be better to have read a couple of the Discworld books previous to this –just to “know” the characters a little better - I'm not sure it would be any great disadvantage if you hadn't. Pratchett’s books are simply fantastic, and this matches anything he has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As time goes by..., 16 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
I have never read a discworld novel that doesn't make me laugh, even coming back to books i have read and re-read literally hundreds of times.
The series gets funnier the more involved in it you become. This is a very rare thing, and while I wouldn't call the author genius, I'd say he's close enopugh to have quite a lot of the light from genius shining on this work, and all of the others in the discworld saga.
Add that to the fact that he's now got the Wee Free men to play with as well, and the opportunities are endless.
I await his next book with the same anticipation I had for the first. Possibly the greatest author who ever looked round at the world and wet himself laughing!!
All I can say is thank you Terry Pratchett!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Horde's Last Adventure, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Hero (Paperback)
The Last Hero is the seventh novel in the Rincewind story arc, following Cohen the Barbarian and his Silver Horde on their adventure to return fire to the gods. With interest. Since this would result in the end of all life on the Discworld, Rincewind, Captain Carrot and Leonerd of Quirm are sent to stop them, via a ship capable of diving over the rim and slingshotting around to the other side.

The novel itself is beautifully illustrated on every page, with detailed character and scene depictions, as well as diagrams and documents drawn up by Leonard of Quirm (all done with standard Pratchett style humour)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely astounding, 20 Oct 2001
By 
Al Dixon "admetus" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
When I ordered this book I must admit that I wasn't expecting too much. After all, we've had two incredible novels in quick succession ('the Truth' and 'Thief of Time'), so I thought 'The Last Hero' would be a minor novella with some pictures. I wasn't sure about the pictures either. I have this theory that the Discworld should be played 'straight', if you know what I mean, and Paul Kidby's past work has been on the humourous side.
I received the book this morning, and sat down to read it. Forget any idea of this being an illustrated Discworld Story. This is a true collaboration between writer and artist, parts of the story are told by the illustrations, in fact there is synergy going on here - my neighbours, had they been listening, must have thought I'd gone completely insane when I saw one particular picture. Paul Kidby's final painting of 'the bard' is probably the supreme masterpiece, and the accompanying text is guaranteed to rip your heart out.
When I finished the book, I read it again, and I know I'll be repeating the dosage many times in the future. And I'll never again be able to hear the phrase 'Houston, we have a problem' without thinking of .... no, read it yourself!
One caveat - you must be reasonably familiar with the Discworld and its characters to understand this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still churning out quality, 5 May 2004
By 
Mr. David A. Sturgeon (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
This is just the kind of thing that you would expect of Cohen the barbarian. Sorry it just is he is a character that in the past has saved the world on numerous occassions, he has taken over the biggest empire on the discworld and hes got old! Yes a man that was about ninety the first time we met him has finally been in some way affected by age. Now if I were Cohen I'd probably be annoyed as well, all my mates are dying of old age I can't remember where my teeth are. Not the finest ending for the discworlds greatest hero. I don't know whether I'd try to return fire in a terminal form to the gods but I'd probably wish i could. This is some of Pratchetts finest work and the illustrations by Paul Kirby are brilliant the story and the pictures complement each other beautifully. I can not say enough to do this book justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story & great pictures, 2 Aug 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is another book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. In this book, Cohen the Barbarian decides to "return" fire to the gods. Unfortunately for the Discworld, this is not a friendly act. An alarmed Lord Vetinari puts together a team to stop Cohen and the Silver Horde, a team composed of Rincewind, Captain Carrot of the Watch, and the brilliant Leonard of Quirm. With a cast of characters like this, adventure and hilarity are bound to follow!
This book is quite different than the other Pratchett books I've read. The story is somewhat short, but this large book makes up for that with the large and well-drawn illustrations of Paul Kidby. I enjoyed finally seeing Carrot, Lord Vetinari, and Ponder Stibbons (Oh, so that's what Harry Potter will look like in a few years!), not to mention some breathtaking pictures of the Discworld and Ankh-Morpork (both two-pages large!).
Like other Pratchett stories, this one is simultaneously funny and fascinating. I enjoyed the story, and I enjoyed the pictures. This is a great book, one you should buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Not what Carrot looks like, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Hardcover)
Having read all the Discworld novels I thought this book was going to be a disappointment.
I thought it to be more of a childs book with all the pictures (but as Pratchett humour becomes apprent you soon see it's for older kids), but you soon get an understanding of the book based on the pictures.
I always had thoughts about what each character would look like and when I saw them as Paul Kidby had drawn them I wasn't shocked they were great drawings and made the story alive.
The story itself cotained several of the main Discworld charcters some having much larger parts then they have before.
I had to hide my book away from my kids as my five year old thought it was a great picture book and wanted to know why Death had no skin (aarrgghh) With it being shorter than other Discworld Book's I expected the story to be less in-depth but it wasn't it still had the same humour as Pratchett's other book's have. I thought this was a great book and so happy that I did buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
The Last Hero (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews