Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable basic primer on how not to use numbers
This excellent book is something very unusual.

First, it's about numbers but manages to be both extremely easy to read and very entertaining.

Secondly, although it is so accessible that a ten-year old of average intelligence should be able to understand everything in this book, the points it makes are so universal in application that even someone...
Published on 27 July 2006 by Marshall Lord

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Simplified, basic and outdated.
The book gives a basic outline of how statistics in especially commercials are made, through examples from what the author finds around him. It is quite clear though that the book was first published in 1953 and a lot of the examples seem irrelevant. It also fails in using these examples to make a summarized idea of the individual ways to bend a statistic to your own...
Published 14 days ago by Nils Toudal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable basic primer on how not to use numbers, 27 July 2006
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This excellent book is something very unusual.

First, it's about numbers but manages to be both extremely easy to read and very entertaining.

Secondly, although it is so accessible that a ten-year old of average intelligence should be able to understand everything in this book, the points it makes are so universal in application that even someone with much greater mathematical knowledge - and I write this as a graduate with two degrees in a discipline which requires statistical understanding - can find it full of useful reminders and even the odd valuable idea you might not have thought of or heard of.

The book is about how numbers can be manipulated, by accident or design, to trick people into making false conclusions, and how to spot when you are being fed misleading numbers. In this day and age the ability to spot bad statistics is extremely important to everyone and can literally be a life-saver.

I was very surprised indeed to see that a previous reviewer had described this book as "not for everyone." I could not disagree more strongly.

If every voter read this book, fewer bad politicians would be elected on the basis of dishonest campaign statistics, if every consumer read it, fewer bad products would be sold on the basis of dishonest advertising statistics, and if every journalist read it there might be less harm done by scare stories based on bad statistics.

Despite the fact that this book was written many years ago, every single word in it is still very relevant today.

However, anyone with a serious interest in the subject who wants an update on some of the more recent examples of how statistics are misused should still start by reading "How to Lie with Statistics" and then follow up with the equally good "Damn Lies and Statistics" by Joel Best, which is more current and nearly as accessible. The two books complement each other very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but detailed and enlightening., 10 Feb 2005
By 
Simon Grayson (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read this book when I was about 12, and re-read it now that I'm in my 20s, and am amazed by how good it is. It's got the complexity of a textbook, but the writer has no pretensions and has managed to get the information across in a way so simple a child can easily read the book and understand some of his lessons and examples.
There are plenty of lessons about how we should interpret the numbers we come across every day in adverts and (potentialy biased) news reports and there is nobody living in the developed world who can't benefit from the enlightenment that this brings.
The only disappointing aspect of this book is that it's so short, an accomplished reader with some knowledge of statistics could get through the book in a single (if lengthy) sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A primer for critical thinking, 17 July 2002
By 
LBatik (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
While anyone who has dealt with statistics in a professional capacity is probably familiar with the contents already, it is still a handy little reference. And for anyone in an introductory course of study or who is simply concerned enough to wonder about the truth of what they read, this is absolutely invaluable.
It is not a long book, and some of the examples are dated (physicians recommending brands of tobacco, for instance), but the meat of the book is both accurate and extremely readable. It covers the ways that statistics can be made to show pretty much anything, both through deliberate manipulation and through simple sloppiness. The main chapters cover issues such as inadequate and biased samples, how to provide subtly and not-so-subtly misleading (though technically accurate) visual charts and representations, how to manipulate perception by eliminating inconvenient precision and adding spurious precision, how to manipulate perception by supplying numbers without context or by simply leaving inconvenient facts out, and how to confuse people thoroughly about correlation vs. cause-and-effect. The final chapter provides a nice summary: the questions you absolutely must ask about any figure you are presented with, in order to judge its worth.
As the author himself says, it may read something like a graduate text on dishonesty, but one can assume that people who deliberately wish to mislead have figured out how already; this is to educate the honest person who wishes to be alert. It is frequently used as a text in undergraduate statistics courses, for good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare, truly memorable classic, 22 April 2004
By 
The worst part of this book is the cover - it nearly stopped myundergraduate son from reading it! I had remembered it from my ownundergrad days. I bought it to re-read on holiday - yes, it IS that easyto read - and my son sneered as he walked by.
So I engaged him in debate, using one of the examples from the book. Badmistake. I didn't see the book again for the next two days; it's slim butvery thought provoking so he'd read a bit and come and argue with me aboutit. He nearly damn stole the book at the end of our break.
Everyone should read this book in young adulthood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The average reader will like this book (probably), 6 Nov 2003
I first bought this book in 1977 when I was doing an Open University course. It is still as useful now as it was then. Anyone concerned at the spin and lies that gush from our friends in the government should possess this book. An approachable and essential guide to bulls**t detection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best short introduction to statistics, 11 Nov 2003
By 
C. Jarrett "forms and usability expert" (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't be put off by the catchy title. This engaging short book will help you to see your way through graphs and understand how to manipulate numbers appropriately - and it will do it easily, without losing you in mathematical complications. I loved this book when I first read it at school, still loved it through my maths degree, and now that I've forgotten all my maths I go back to it occasionally to refresh myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, punchy, easy to read , eye opening., 1 May 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent resume of the ways that statistics can be used to mislead without, technically, lying. I read my copy every couple of years or so just to refresh my cynicsm. Everyone with an interest in advertisng, politics, PR should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer, 9 Dec 2007
By 
Dr. Nicholas P. G. Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I love this book. Short, sweet, to the point.

In our modern world of spin and advertising this book is a valuable antidote. In tests 8 out of 10 readers said they preferred this book...After reading it you'll know to ask "preferred it to what?"

This book is a valuable and valid aid to those who prefer truth to fiction. Children just getting to grips with statistics will enjoy it, and adults will remind themselves of much basic good sense.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice easy read which will greatly change the way you think, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an old book but the ideas are very much applicable today, it is not so much a book about statistics but rather advice on how to think critically when faced with statistics. I found this book to be an eye opener because it essentially dispels the tricks marketers can use to push their products to you and it give the reader power to see similar tricks being used today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but short, 11 Dec 2010
While the examples are a bit dated, the contents are still true. It shows some great understandable examples of the misuse of statistics. Concepts are explained very well, without resorting to math or formula's.

The only downside is it relative short length, and the fact that it might be a bit easy for someone who is already a bit familiar with statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Lie with Statistics
How to Lie with Statistics by Darrell Huff (Hardcover - Dec 1954)
Used & New from: 97.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews