Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate guide for amateur dramatics!
If you are in an amateur company - and even if you are not - then you should read this book. It will either persuade you to join an amateur society, or make you leave before you get corrupted.
It's too late for us, but you can still save yourself . . .
"The Art of Coarse Acting" can be considered the definitive work for any and all amateur societies - even if it...
Published on 13 Dec. 2003 by Simon James Rafe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Coarse acting
The British writer gives tips and wry comments on amateur dramatics. There is a photo of the author wearing a costume suitable for Third soldier or Second villager or Fourth bearer.

Green's sporting guides are his real strength.
Published 14 months ago by Clare O'Beara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate guide for amateur dramatics!, 13 Dec. 2003
By 
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
If you are in an amateur company - and even if you are not - then you should read this book. It will either persuade you to join an amateur society, or make you leave before you get corrupted.
It's too late for us, but you can still save yourself . . .
"The Art of Coarse Acting" can be considered the definitive work for any and all amateur societies - even if it is just a guide at what not to do!
I'm so glad it has come back into print, and the second revised edition has all the charm of the original and far more interesting information. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all true!, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
A. T. Storey "Tony Storey" (North East Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
Anyone, anywhere, who has ever taken part in amateur dramatics will know that Michael Green is not exaggerating when he claims that every incident recorded in this book has really happened - and more! As for actors writing the words on the inside of their shields, I recall Dame Gwynyth Jones having the words of "Rule Britannia written on the inside of hers during a "Last Night of the Proms" some years ago! Far from exaggerating, Mr Green has understated the case. My own favourite amateur dramatic incident is a school play in which I was SM and the lighting engineer tried to run eight 1,000 watt lamps from one 13 amp socket - with predictable results!

Another lighting engineer managed, every night of the five-night run, to leave the stage crew changing the whole set in complete darkness behind the curtain, lighting it up just as we finished!

It was in "Hobson's Choice" that we had a doctor who knew everyone's lines but his own and in "My Fair Lady" Alfred Doolittle had to rush off the stage to be sick, leaving Professor Higgins and the Colonel standing about wondering what to do next!

Yes, it's all true.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....shall I put some more logs on the stove...?", 16 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
You only have to repeat that haunting line (in quavering Elderly Peasant's voice) for the greater part of one family at least to collapse in helpless mirth.
"The Art of Coarse Acting" is decades old now, and humour often dates, but not in this case.
Don't miss it, ESPECIALLY if you've ever been involved in am dram, but also even if you haven't... the nearest I ever got was constructing a papier-mache skull for a school production of Hamlet, but the book still creases me up on every page. A true classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 12 Mar. 2006
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
As a long-time amateur actor, I can also verify the accuracy of Michael Green's excellent observations on this quintessentially English pastime beloved of eccentrics for generations. His characters "Askew" and "Watkins" speak for the experience of many throughout our land, both of the humour and enjoyment of acting and indeed the indispensibility of this distilled experience. A joy to read, and hopefully a fine advert for the many and varied pleasures of amateur dramatics, though I must admit to being disappointed that the author failed to discuss the potential traumas of acting naked (briefly), as I was forced to do during a production of Ray Cooney's Out of Order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
this is the original and best . greens ability to capture the horror of getting up on a stage, ill - prepared, under-rehearsed, and with assorted technical catastrophes just waiting to throw you off line (and lines) , is a work of genius. forget stansilavsky - for anyone thinking of taking up acting, either professionally or for fun, this is the real deal. hilarious .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny and very accurate account of amateur dramatics, 7 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
This book is a very easy read and can be dipped into at any time for amusing anecdotes. Michael Green has beautifully observed the many facets of the classical amateur actor and compiled them into a genuinely funny book. This book is a must for the Christmas stocking of anyone who fancies themselves in the footlights - it will bring them straight down to earth with a bit of a bump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still makes me laugh out loud, two rereads later., 29 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
It's a short book, but it's absolutely packed stories, insights and self-deprecating good humour.

Plays may change, thunder techniques may march on, but human nature remains the same. Fortunately :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book... and then a corset, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
Buy this book... and then a corset. This book is beyond funny and will split more than just your sides. Giving tips that would be useful to any actor professional or amateur, it will be an invaluable addition to your library. You'll learn the most comfortable way to die on stage and how to apply the right kind of mole for the right kind of peasant. Michael Green really should be a National treasure. Also try any of his other books, guaranteed to cure depression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh in three acts!, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. B. L. White "Compere" (Dorchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
As an amateur thespian, this is one of the funniest books written about amdram and was bought as a gift for a fellow thespiann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My fifth copy, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Coarse Acting (Paperback)
This is at least the fifth copy of this book I have owned. I have lent all the others over the years to friends - and never got them back! This is surely the sign of a good book. It is extremely well observed and thus many of the events narrated will resonate with the experience of anyone who has been a member of an amateur dramatic or operatic society. The photographs of the all purpose chorus/minor role costumes look horribly familiar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Coarse Acting
The Art of Coarse Acting by Michael Green (Paperback - Nov. 1994)
£10.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews