Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


142 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best calorie counting book I've come across!!
After an extensive search to find a book which calculates calories according to portion sizes, I finally discovered this one, and use it religiously every day when calculating my calorie intake. It is extremely comprehensive and includes brand names along with the calorific value of everyday foods.
Would recommend this book to anyone who wants a calorie counting book...
Published on 23 Jan 2003 by Suzanne Pullen

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easier to read the labels
I bought this book in January to help shed the post-Christmas bulge - and can't stand it! The amounts are very vague - eg "a portion, a chunk" rather than by weight, and there is no break down for different brands/flavours of many foods which, as any seasoned dieter knows, vary wildly. There are also many omissions. I've gone entirely back to basics and am sticking to...
Published on 5 Mar 2010 by Jennie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

142 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best calorie counting book I've come across!!, 23 Jan 2003
After an extensive search to find a book which calculates calories according to portion sizes, I finally discovered this one, and use it religiously every day when calculating my calorie intake. It is extremely comprehensive and includes brand names along with the calorific value of everyday foods.
Would recommend this book to anyone who wants a calorie counting book that takes the guess work out of calculating your daily intake!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book which gives calories in portion sizes, 14 April 2003
By 
L. Fryer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I haven't looked at many calorie counter books, but this one's perfect because:
a) It's portion sized, eg a "a small knob of butter", rather than 10g of butter (I have NO idea what 10g of butter looks like, but I DO know that I put a "knob" on my toast!)
b) If you care, Carolyn also explains her portions at the front of the book, eg small knob of butter = 2 teaspoons.
c) She doesn't fill the book with stuff you can read on the back of the relevant food packet, nor fill the book with brand comparisons, eg XYZ digestive biscuits vs ABC digestive biscuits.
d) She includes relatively obscure/exotic foods eg pigeon, avgolemono soup and eel pie mash (no winkles, though, alas!)
e) She includes restaurant/home-made foods which would be calorifically difficult to guess, eg onion pakora and pineapple- upside-down pudding.
f) And finally, Carolyn linguistically addresses both the UK and USA markets. (How wonderful it is to discover a book which doesn't assume that we all eat cookies rather than biscuits!)
Hence, a top rating from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easier to read the labels, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Hugely Better Calorie Counter (Paperback)
I bought this book in January to help shed the post-Christmas bulge - and can't stand it! The amounts are very vague - eg "a portion, a chunk" rather than by weight, and there is no break down for different brands/flavours of many foods which, as any seasoned dieter knows, vary wildly. There are also many omissions. I've gone entirely back to basics and am sticking to reading the labels on packaging. The old freeby books that used to come with Slimming magazine were more comprehensive and more user-friendly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful little book, 6 May 2002
At last a calorie counting book that doesn't concentrate on brand names and doesn't give you the calorie value of obscure amounts, but of servings!!
And it also gives you the amount of protein, carbohydrate, fat, and fibre in what you're eating too!!
All listed alphabetically for easy reference.
All-in-all a very useful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hugely Better Calaorie Counter (Essentials), 11 Mar 2003
Having been recently diagnosed as a Diabetic I was searching for information on calories, specifically individual ingredients and the average per portion of a restaurant meal. Whilst this does not cover absolutely everything I wanted, there is certainly enough information contained in this book for me to make informed decisions. The book is very clearly laid out in an A - Z format and focuses predominently on the calorific content of individual foods such as an apple as well as the average calorie count of a prawn curry. I do recommend this book to anyone who is in a similar situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 17 Mar 2008
By 
L. Ramsey "LMR82" (Cornwall. GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book along with the Calorie, Carb and Fat Bible 2008 and this little book is the one I have used most. It is easy to use and I found it a lot simpler to understand. If you just want a quick reference guide to help you count calories through the day this is definitely the book I'd go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as described, 2 April 2007
By 
this book claims to be useful as it lists meals rather than separate items that you have to add up to get your calorie intake, but most of the meals you actually eat are not in there. Don't recoomeend this book for this aspect but if you want something for things you don't generally get calorie amounts for on the packaging then it is okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At times inaccurate, inconsistent or incomplete, 25 May 2012
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hugely Better Calorie Counter (Paperback)
I like the idea of this book. I want to get ballpark figures for calorie intake rather than accurate ones. I need to know whether I am eating say 2000 or 2500, not whether I am eating 2000 or 2005. This is however at times inaccurate, inconsistent or incomplete.

Inaccurate - see for example butternut squash which it gives as 9 kCal for 1/2 medium squash. Really? Other sources give 32 kCal/100g. That would make the squash about the size of a Cadbury's Creme Egg. Another example - sweet and sour chicken - 126 kCal per serving. Really? Other sources talk more of the 400-500 kCal mark.

Inconsistent - see for example nuts. Some are given in serving sizes of 25g; others in serving sizes of "small handfuls"; others in number of nuts. This is just plain annoying.

Incomplete - for example there's no entry for olive spread, which I would have thought would be a common item. Well OK, I could just look up butter for a ballpark figure in this particular case, but if it's leaving out such staples, that's also annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says it does!, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Hugely Better Calorie Counter (Paperback)
All food items layed out with calories. only problem is the serving ratio changes for all different food and a lot of "per serving" calories? Whats a serving? Doesn't explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book but no better than the previous edition, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Thompson (Derby,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hugely Better Calorie Counter (Paperback)
The Hugely Better Calorie Counter is an excellent reference book, I take it everywhere. The calories are given for most foods, without the need to weigh or work out 100g. The only comment I would say is that this latest edition promised to be updated and current with branded foods when in fact it is exactly the same as teh 2002 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hugely Better Calorie Counter
The Hugely Better Calorie Counter by Carolyn Humphries (Paperback - 29 Aug 2008)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews