Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A constant source of delight
I cannot recommend this book highly enough! Every single recipe I have tried is absolutely delicious! The Thai curries have transformed my taste buds! From sitting on the shelf, my slow cooker is left out on the side and is used at least 3 times a week. Yes you may have to stock up with some unusual ingredients to start with, BUT, you will be eating restaurant quality...
Published on 28 Feb 2009 by Old Tyke

versus
48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars spice up your life
Here's a curious cookbook that's maybe enticing nervous Indian cookery virgins along with the slow cooker devotees. Either way, if you're tempted by a quick fix to authentic Indian cooking the easy way, this bold claim cookbook should be treated with a high degree of caution.

At first glance, there appears to be a good range of recipes to entice the novice in...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by mfl


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A constant source of delight, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Old Tyke (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
I cannot recommend this book highly enough! Every single recipe I have tried is absolutely delicious! The Thai curries have transformed my taste buds! From sitting on the shelf, my slow cooker is left out on the side and is used at least 3 times a week. Yes you may have to stock up with some unusual ingredients to start with, BUT, you will be eating restaurant quality food for a fraction of the price, and it's SO easy to produce!

Having (since buying this) moved on to cooking curries from scratch with Anjum Anand, Reza Mahammad and Rick stein's books, I have to say that I really only use this book for the Thai green curry now.It helps that I have retired and have plenty of time on my hands, but the results from their books give a superior taste. If however I don't feel up to cooking from scratch and standing over the stove, then these recipes do give good, if not authentic results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent recipes, 30 July 2008
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
Have this book for 6 months and have tried many recipes from within very successfully - one of the best cook books I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


178 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Impressive Slo Cooker Book, 29 Mar 2008
By 
R. Fletcher "Spiritual Rich" (Stroud. Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
This brilliant recipe book is unique in that it actually delivers the goods. I've ploughed through quite a few recipes and can honestly say that all have been a great success.

Written with a knowledge of, and passion for the featured dishes , it produces superb results which are truly of restauraunt quality and above. The instructions are simple and easy to follow, the main time is taken blending the ingredients.

I would recommend a trip to any main Tesco's store beforehand, as they have a great speciality section which stocks all the various ingredients you will need to produce these fantastic dishes.

I've already ordered the mediterranean and the seasonal edition and can't wait to get cracking on some of the recipes they contain.

In short, this book is Ronseal........ Does exactly what it says on the tin ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kitchen essential, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Ambercat (Cheshire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
I love spicy food and have a million cookbooks with recipes from all over the world, but this is fast becoming one of my favourites. Easy to follow, tasty results and I like the fact that there are some good veggie dishes as well as the meat ones. There are a couple of flavour combinations I haven't tried before (see Chilli Mole on page 48, delicious) and also some good tips on getting the best out of your slow cooker. If I'm working long hours it's nice to have a decent meal to come home to, and this book definitely delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars restaurant quality food made easy!, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Susan Mallatratt "MU5ICM4DM4RE" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
if you thought good indian/spicy food was best eaten from the restaurant or take-away, then think again - this book shows you another way!
once you've stocked your cupboard with all the basic seasonings etc., go for it! you will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking book, 25 May 2009
By 
Absomon (N E England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
Excellent recipe book, a good mix of very simple recipes and those that require a bit more prep/ingredients. So often, slow cooker recipes presume that you will always want to make the recipe in the shortest possible time. This is not always the case, I enjoy preparing things from scratch and don't mind spending a wee bit of time on this, but then love being able to leave them cooking while I do other stuff (or am at work!). This book is perfect. The non-grilled chicken tikka masala recipe is worth the cost of the book alone! - it's delicious, more subtle than the takeaway variety, it's not bright red and you can really taste the flavours of the spices. Highly recommended for anyone who likes curry & spice dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. S. J. Smith "sharonsmith" (bedford,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
This book is so fantastic I bought another slow cooker, great at dinner parties, prepare 2 different curries which then just cook up some rice and put some naans in the oven, everyone says they are as good as a takeaway at a fraction of the cost and less stressful than trying to work out what everyone has ordered.

i've keep going back to chicken curry with red lentils (chicken dhansak), its fantastic and so easy to prepare.

definately recommend this recipe book bought another slow cooker book at the same time and this book knocks spots off those boring veggie recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curry not in a hurry, 2 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
This is a great little slowcooker recipe book. It does not just limit you to a few tired Indian curry recipes, there are wonderful spicy dishes from all over the globe. For the veggies the peanut chilli quinoa pilaf is divine. There are also plenty of meat and poultry dishes for the non veggies, my personal favourite is the Myanamar curry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spicey, Tasty Recipes to make you use your Slow Cooker more often!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
P. Mitchell "Polly" (Norwood, London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this invaluable for both Family and Supper Party dishes.
Worth buying for "Indian Style Roast Leg of Lamb" alone!
Recipe chapters are divided by type; poultry (including turkey and duck), beef, lamb, pork, fish, vegetable and pulses/grains. Ingredients are readily available in large supermarkets or Asian stores. Spice level suits the average Indian food lover - my husband would prefer a higher chilli level.

I have two Slow Cookers - a large "Crock Pot" and a Tefal 8-in-1 Rice Cooker, neither device came with very useful recipes. This book has bridged the information gap meaning that the pots are used regularly and not gathering cobwebs at the back of a cupboard.
All Humphries recipes serve four - I can easily double-up quantities for the Crock Pot for feeding large numbers but the Tefal can only hold 4 to 6 portions.
Because the food is cooked very slowly you can skip the marinating stage (if you want) as the flavours penetrate the dish - tandoori chicken is particularly good. Humphries's instructions are clear and easy to follow and there is guidance on adjusting cooking times for the wide variety of Slow Cookers on the market.
Really handy recipes to free-up your hob when mass-catering or for cooking tender mouth-watering family suppers.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No hurry on the curry;), 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) (Paperback)
I am slowly working my way thru this cookbook. So far so good. My husband would be happy with curry every night but I'm trying to pace ourselves...recently tried this pork dish with cashews...uh-yum! That was soooo good, will make that again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking)
Slow Cooking Curries and Spicy Dishes (Slow Cooking) (Slow Cooking) by Carolyn Humphries (Paperback - 19 Feb 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews