Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent!
What an excellent book. It has lots of really good recipes, all layed out very nicely and portions that make sense from the start e.g. for 1 or 2 people then double up as required.

What sets this book apart from the others i've purchased is it's scope. It's not just a list of ingredients, there lots of really good advice, tips and info that just make all the...
Published on 6 Mar 2008 by All things Amazon ;)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basically informative
One thing that this book has done for me is to confirm that there's not much point in owning a slow cooker unless one is planning to be out all day and doesn't mind chopping, slicing and frying early in the morning, since many of the recipes in the book are just as labour intensive as they would be if cooked in a normal oven. That said, the recipes are reasonably tasty &...
Published 3 months ago by D. O'Donnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the cover, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title implies these are recipes for one. In fact most recipes are for two or even four. In addition the book contains absolutely no picture of any dish apart from the cover. It is particularly difficult to buy cookery books online when the content is not adequately described and may even be misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipe book for small slow cooker, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
This is a really good little recipe book if you have a 1.5l slow cooker. The only downside is that there aren't any pictures...but then they never usually turn out how they look in the pictures anyway so not really a biggie! Some really great litle recipes...love the chinese beef and the sausage casserole.

For those recipes that only take a few hours, generally they say to cook on high, so you can just do the same recipe but on low and will take about 8 hours so you can put on in the morning... Also I tend to use a bit more ingredients than the recipe says when making 2 portions as my boyfriend and I are usually very hungry when we get in!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 17 Jun 2008
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
Read the reviews that were here so bought it without a thought. Just a word of warning, if you have cut down on red meat please be aware that this book is mainly awash with pork, beef, lamb, duck etc. Just to let you know. I am not a veggie, but rarely eat red meat, so most of the recipes are no good for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
Easy to follow, and helps you in busy days relaxes you knowing you will go back home and not need to worry about what you will cook, recommended for single people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of veggie recipes!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
There may be no illustrations, but the numbe of recipes equal the Hamlyn book ( which I also have). The recipes are interesting and varied and I don't have to work out how to measure recipes for a larger slow cooker. Mine takes 2 quarts.
I am surprised to find fewer meat recipes in comparison with vegetarian ones. This conflicts with one reviewer complaining there were too many meat recipes. Haven't tried any yet, but will certainly be doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do it the slow way!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
This book shows how to save money and time by using a slow cooker for your family meals, cooking delicious dishes such as stews and pot roast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable. A must buy for slow cookers., 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
I am so impressed with this little book. With most recipe books, you flick through and there are only a handful of recipes you'd actually try but with this book there are loads I want to try. What's more, it's not full of new fangled recipes trying to jazz up slow-cooking but instead gives you unpretentious classic recipes that prove really popular with everyone, such as Winter Lentil Soup, Minestrone, Leek and Potato Soup, Fish Pie, Kedgeree, Tuna Pasta Bake, Boeuf Bourguignon, Steak and Kidney Casserole, Pot Roast Chicken, Meatballs in Tomato Sauce, Chilli Con Carne, Lasagne, Irish Stew, Hot Pot, Chicken Supreme, Chicken Curry and loads of great veggie recipes using beans and lentils. The cake and pudding section is mouthwatering too (I can't wait to try out Honeyed Rosemary Apricots, or Panettone Pudding). I'm so impressed with the recipes I've tried - simple, easy to prepare and completely delicious - and I'm looking forward to trying some more. I had no idea the slow cooker could be so versatile.
I would also recommend this book for students because most of the recipes are the kind of food you'd get at home: economical in both time and money, nutritious and hearty, comforting and crowd-pleasing. Now you can buy Crock-Pots small enough for one there's really no excuse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
I was so impressed with this recipe book that I bought a copy for my daughter.The recipes contain easily obtainable ingredients and illustrated very well in a really tempting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My current favourite cookbook, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
So far everything I have tried from this book has worked really well, and I love coming home to a cooked meal ready for me. It has made me more adventurous with my slow cooker cooking and I like the way the author gives ideas for the second portion or left over ingredients. I have used some of the recipes when just one person comes for lunch or supper with great success, too.
It is worth noting that quantities are generous, and I now sometimes use less of the starchy ingredients (potatoes, rice etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Cooking for Yourself, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Ian Anderson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slow Cooking for Yourself: Restaurant quality food ready when you walk through the door!: Restaurant Quality Food-ready When You Walk Through Your Door (Paperback)
Excellent. Great recipes which work really well. Could have done with some photos to let you see how it should turn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews