Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good buy!!
When I went to uni i found this book really useful! There are so many different recipes (that are all really easy to follow and make) so I didn't have to be stuck with the same boring meals all the time. There are some really good ideas in here, either for students or a novice cook that needs some simple meals to start them off. Recommended!!
Published on 12 Aug. 2005

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many ingredients in some recipes.
I bought this book quite a while ago but have only recently got the cooking bug! A great variety of recipes, nicely separated into different chapters according to what eqipment you need to make them, e.g. one pan, 2 pans + grill, whole kitchen, etc.

A few complaints though, I would prefer some simpler recipes, needing fewer ingredients, so there is no need to...
Published on 25 Aug. 2008 by Ms. N. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on!, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
Gareth James (Barton-upon-Humber, North Lincs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
This was a present for the granddaughter of a friend who has basic cookery skills! Now she is off to University and was worried about self catering. She thinks this book is brilliant and is looking forward to trying out some of the recipes. The clear style it is written in has given her the desire and confidence to try these recipes out and given her a basic understanding of cookery terms and the items she'll need. If she wastes away from lack of food, it will not be this book's fault!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for inexperienced cooks, 22 May 2009
By 
J. Jessop "book lover" (Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
I bought this book after borrowing it fom the library. I was so impressed with the content. For instance, everything you can do with a knife and a chopping board, every thing you can do with a knife and a can opener, everything you can do with a kettle and a toaster etc. and so it goes on. Very simple methods to produce nice tasty results in no time at all. A must for every student who needs some help with cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the layout and love the simplicity, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
Appeals to my simple mind as I just want the ingredients and how to throw them together. I would use this loads if I was not working but glad to be doing so. Will save money if this is used properly and ingredients not left to go out of date or waste away. Buy it for students but I reckon young women are more likely to have a go or is that sexist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the classic 1000 student recipes, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
Excellent book for students, very informative and useful tips of what is needed to take with you for Uni.
My Niece and Nephew were both very pleased with the books, they have been trying out some of the recipes already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 May 2013
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son at university. We went through it together and thought it was easy to make the recipes and had great ideas. Thank you, Carolyn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toast in a Microwave......, 24 Jun. 2007
By 
Ms. E. J. Holden (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
This book is pretty ridiculous.

As a student myself I find it extremely condescending and at times quite dangerous. Certain recipes suggest microwaving bread for two minutes... which does not result in toast, but in flames, a burnt microwave and the whole of student halls being emptied out because the fire alarm went off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
Good value book with sensible recipes which give an indication of difficulty by the number of utensils required to cook them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 1 May 2009
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
I found this book at a mate's house, and we sat laughing at the recipes for about an hour. I know students are on a budget, but this book just teaches them to cook badly.

We even tried a couple of the slightly siller recipes: microwaved toast (put bread on plate, microwave on full power for 2 minutes), which started to smoulder after a minute so we turned it off, and microwaved fried egg (lightly butter plate, crack egg onto it, prick with fork and microwave) which resulted in a solid ball of yolk sitting in a pile of smeggy egg white. I think the author must secretly hate students, and this book is some part of a grand plan to kill them all through culinary mishaps/food poisoning. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
Fantastic great every day recipes not just for students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. E. K. Parr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Student Recipes (Paperback)
Even the most inexperienced student knows how to use a toasty machine, make a sandwich or how to microwave beans :S What a complete waste of money. The recipes aren't that healthy either.

I also don't like the layout of the book, I'd prefer to know where all the vegetarian recipes are or all the cheaper recipes are, not which recipes will create the most washing up...

Pathetic. Do not buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic 1000 Student Recipes
The Classic 1000 Student Recipes by Carolyn Humphries (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews