Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect mix
If you want a no-frills guide to a huge range of cocktails, this book really delivers. As well as the basic terminology (types of glass, essential equipment etc) it provides brief descriptions of most spirits, gives an indication as to how "tasty" each coctail is, an indication of the alcohol content and a short summary of where it originated.
The indexes are also...
Published on 18 Jun 2004 by LMD

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but No Colour Photographs!
I bought this book especially as it said it had full colour photographs for the cocktails as mentioned in the 'Synopsis' section of the webpage. But the fact is that, there aren't any. It is a good book, dont get me wrong, but I am a bit disappointed as I was sold on the belief that this book will have pictures of the cocktail I am going to make, helping me give a better...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Mr. J. X. Gomes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect mix, 18 Jun 2004
By 
LMD (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you want a no-frills guide to a huge range of cocktails, this book really delivers. As well as the basic terminology (types of glass, essential equipment etc) it provides brief descriptions of most spirits, gives an indication as to how "tasty" each coctail is, an indication of the alcohol content and a short summary of where it originated.
The indexes are also really useful, listing cocktails by name or by main ingredient... Found a bottle of Creme De Cassis at the back of the cupboard? Just flick through the "index by ingredients" for some inspiration on how best to get rid of it!
All-in-all one of the best general cocktail recipe books I've come across.
My only change would be to print it on splash-proof paper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars who drank all the galliano..?, 19 Feb 2003
.
This is an excellent book which covers just about every cocktail on the go, allthough there are always going to be different 'home' recipes and 'house' recipes for a lot of bars and clubs you go to. This will not only give you recipes for drinks you want to make or have heard of before, but will also give you ideas of what to do with some of the bottles you've got lying round after Christmas and can't think what to do with them.
Lots of the cocktails come with 'alcohol content' and sometimes a quick tale of where or when the particular drink was first made.
An excellent all rounder which looks good on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cocktail book you need, 30 Dec 1999
By A Customer
An easy to follow book showing how to mix cocktails and how to build up your own versions. A 'no pictures - no frills' book which I have found indespensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off-putting title, quality content, 26 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
Despite the title, this isn't a copy and paste compilation, instead it seems well researched and thought-out. Cocktails are usefully grouped, with a little background information about each category. As well as instructions for each drink, there is the alcohol content, overall appeal rating (out of 5), suggested serving glass, and even a recommended garnish for the glass. There are two indexes, one by cocktail and one by ingredient - useful for using up those bottles at the back of the cupboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic guide to cocktail making, 20 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This book is very comprehensive, the author's knowledge of his craft is incredible. Includes a rating system for the taste and alcohol content of each cocktail. Many recipies also have some text about it's origins and any variations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheers!, 14 Oct 2008
By 
J. Thornton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
Following the buzz around the release of the Sex In The City film, I bought a couple of copies of this book as birthday presents for girlfriends, to accompany designer cocktail glasses.
It's a thorough and informative compendium and you certainly wouldn't need to own another cocktail book if you had this one on your book shelves, but I - personally - like more photos (so I know what end look I'm aiming for!).
However, I AM looking forward to sampling many of the 1000 suggested concoctions around at my chums houses over the years to come... cheers!! hic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1000 Cocktails, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Bran.Sun "Bran" (S.Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
The book was better than expected, clear glossy pictures. Clear explanations, guests at parties also found it easy to follow and make creative fun cocktails. History/back ground information made me seem much more experienced rather than a pure novice. Liked the book so much bought another copy for a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
This book is fantastic, it has a huge range of cocktails covering any taste in alcohol. The recipes are very easy to follow and you're even told which glass it should be served in. A very thorough book. The index of the book can seem a little complex at first glance, but to be honest, I don't see how else all the different drinks with so many different ingredients could be listed and cross referenced. This book has led to many thoroughly enjoyable nights!
A must buy for anyone who enjoys cocktails!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but No Colour Photographs!, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. J. X. Gomes "X Gomes" (Horsham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
I bought this book especially as it said it had full colour photographs for the cocktails as mentioned in the 'Synopsis' section of the webpage. But the fact is that, there aren't any. It is a good book, dont get me wrong, but I am a bit disappointed as I was sold on the belief that this book will have pictures of the cocktail I am going to make, helping me give a better idea of what the end product would look like. Not that it matters much but still would've been useful. The description is misleading customers which isnt a pleasant thing to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 1 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Classic 1000 Cocktails (Paperback)
There was everything I needed in this book. There are no pictures of every drink but the drink instructions gives you even the garnish and suitable glass information so picture is not necessary. I am very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic 1000 Cocktails
The Classic 1000 Cocktails by Robert Cross (Paperback - 15 Jan 2003)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews