Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!
This book is great! Very clear text and excellent quality backing tracks.Loads of useful stuff if you do group teaching in schools or individual lessons. Kids love it,especially the rock stlye pieces.Would definitely recommend it!
Published on 4 Mar. 2010 by J. Oborn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More serious than I was looking for
I was hoping for a book that showed a few chords and well known tunes to play for a bit of instant fun. This book is good, but tends towards a more serious approach of string-plucking music theory, which is fine if that's what you want.
Published 2 months ago by Firmbert Fayre


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
J. Oborn (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
This book is great! Very clear text and excellent quality backing tracks.Loads of useful stuff if you do group teaching in schools or individual lessons. Kids love it,especially the rock stlye pieces.Would definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun, fun, 12 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
Excellent - small, easy to follow steps that don't suddenly leap forward and leave the student confused. Good backing tracks that make the absolute beginner feel like a maestro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
I bought this a year ago for my daughter to use as extra practise, since the bland sheets her school guitar teacher was sending home weren't exactly inspiring. A year on I'VE just completed the book and my (now) 6 year old daughter is well on her way! It's really fun. The backing tracks make you feel like you're actually playing tunes from the very beginning and keep you motivated to keep going. It's a very clear, well organised course - not that I know much about guitar playing but, thanks to this book, I know a lot more than I did a year ago! Off to buy the next book now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primary Guitar teacher, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. A. L. Manning (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
I love this book as do all the children I teach. It has a variety of musical styles and presents everything in a fun and encouraging way. Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
daughter has already picked up so much from this book, before shes even had her first lesson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for kids!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
Like many full-time guitar teachers, the lack of exciting and relevant teaching material is the bane of my working life. I have been using this book for 2 terms now, in group and private teaching and it is a revelation. This is the first time someone has really got it right - the well-thought out teaching technique and musical understanding simultaneously, perfectly paced (you actually end up doing nearly every piece instead of cherry picking) and all packaged into exciting music that kids just love. It really does make teaching much easier. I love the use of TAB later in the book to get the kids playing up the neck, and some of the pieces and songs are brilliantly written. The backing tracks are great and having James Bond in there is a master stroke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and my Lad likes it, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
Its clear are conscise, nice big book with plenty to keep you interested.
The instructions are simple enough for a 9 year old to follow so I would say this book hits the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar teacher's review, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
K. J. Cookson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
I have been looking for a new book to use to teach younger kids guitar and this seems perfect. The book starts out using songs and singing rhymes to get the kids into understanding rhythm before they learn notes, something often neglected in instrument teaching. The previous reviewer wasn't happy that there isn't much tab, however I am obliged to teach standard notation as part of my job so that isn't an issue for me (although there is some tab in the latter part of the book). The material is fun (james Bond theme, Flintstones) and the accompanying CD seems good as far as I have listened. I would recommend this book to a teacher of Primary school age children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for younger children, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
I think think book is very good for children up to around eight, however the boys of nine I have shown seem to this think it is too young for them, 'kiddy pictures ets', which is real shame as I think it is excellent. It starts the student with the basics and the CD means they can play along to something immedialatley, also you could introduce some of the the later chords to the early cd track as well. I would probably like some guitar tab to the supplement the traditional notation, but you could quite easily tab out of the songs yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .Guitar Basics, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) (Paperback)
A clear, simple and easy to understand book suitable for children to learn how to play the guitar with limited guidance. I would reccommend this to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition)
Guitar Basics: (Book/ECD) (Faber Edition) by James Longworth (Paperback - 27 Aug. 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews