Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable
This collection took me back to my school days where I loved English Literature & Speech & Drama which introduced me to Poetry. I think anyone who has not tried reading Poetry before will find this an excellent introduction as there are some well known ones amongst them which are easily recognised but there are far more to entertain both types of readers, just give it a...
Published 4 months ago by Allison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good and varied selection of verse.
I write as a new kindle owner, so I may well be still in the "learning process". Reading poetry is not like reading a storybook, and I have as yet to work out how to find a specific poem as I have not discovered an index. It is tedious to wade through page after page searching.
I'd love to know the secret if there is one!
Published 1 month ago by Christine Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Allison (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Kindle Edition)
This collection took me back to my school days where I loved English Literature & Speech & Drama which introduced me to Poetry. I think anyone who has not tried reading Poetry before will find this an excellent introduction as there are some well known ones amongst them which are easily recognised but there are far more to entertain both types of readers, just give it a try, I keep mine on the Kindle so I can easily dip in & out of the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Anthology, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
A great Anthology with poems for all moods and occasions
A great book to dip into, so many different styles and forms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This poetry pleases, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
A good selection of words and thoughts that have strengthened lives in past and continue to do so in the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poetry please, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
Bought this poetry hardback for my mum for a birthday gift and it went down an absolute storm! Didn't know which poetry book to buy, and thought this best as it has many favorites you may know as well as being read out on radio 4. Very fast delivery and great quality with a built in page ribbon. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The chance to have all the favourite poems in one book was great, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
It is a large book andI have not had the chance yet to read it right through as yet but going through skipping through shows that it will be a book I will treasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain. A goldmine for dipping into, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
This is a must for anybody who has ever enjoyed a verse of poetry. Even memories fro school. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good and varied selection of verse., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Kindle Edition)
I write as a new kindle owner, so I may well be still in the "learning process". Reading poetry is not like reading a storybook, and I have as yet to work out how to find a specific poem as I have not discovered an index. It is tedious to wade through page after page searching.
I'd love to know the secret if there is one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry on demand, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
A great collection of poems, whether you listen to radio 4 programme or not. A useful index of first lines, for those prone to forget the names of poems. A very appreciated gift to my brother, who shares my love of poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely gift, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Hardcover)
Bought two as Christmas gifts and had very favourable feedback. A most enjoyable read and you can dip in and out as you wish. Nice quality paper and robust cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Please (Kindle Edition)
I like poetry and like this book, good eclectic collection. Now I have to write more words for the quota.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13b69c0)

This product

Poetry Please
Poetry Please by Roger McGough (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews