Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only a little book
An excellent book, if you're a MacFarlane fan - which I am. It is poetic and concise, but maybe a little too concise. I'd not read the reviews fully before I bought this, so I was expecting something more like his previous three books. However, this is only a small anthology of 40 pages, including drawings. Having said that, it was a very enjoyable read and I'm glad to...
Published 16 months ago by Vagabond

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overwrought
I'm a great fan of Robert Macfarlane, having read his more substantial books, and recognise he wanted a memorial to his close friend who had died. However, although the line drawings are in the best 'English mystical' tradition and complement the text well, the actual writing feels rather thin and overwrought. The writing isn't really rich enough to qualify as 'prose...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. G. Nurser


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollloways (traditional paths) and medaeval history linked, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Given as a present. Received with delight because of the way holloways were described and related to the history of the areas they passed through..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holloway, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
An intriguing and engaging book - at one time I used to go up and down "the Holloway" in Tettenhall almost everyday in Wolverhampton - evidently a very old lane - this layering of history fascinates and intrigues - a valuable addition to the literature of walking, looking and thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Macfarlane, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Robert Macfarlane is just the greatest. Once again I bought this book for my partner with every intention of reading it myself, fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry and a poetic world, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Dr. E. L. Young (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations, beautiful poetic view, informative but too short. More please!
A book to pick up and keep picking up. A permanent feature by my bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holloway, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
This is a delightful small book which I really enjoyed.
Unfortunately it is very brief and therefore something of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight ., 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
An interesting subject of Holloways in South Dorset which in my personal opinion were probably used as hideouts for smugglers and the like and still hold the atmosphere or vibes .An interesting subject but sadly a very short read .Wonderful sketches but I sadly found the book over priced for approx 40 pages .Nice to keep hold of though on ones bookcase .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Hollow Ways, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
As a fan of both Robert Macfarlane’s writing and Stanley Donwood’s work with Radiohead, I was delighted to discover this beautiful book.
The ghost of Roger Deakin haunts the holloway where the three author’s hole up in search of Geoffrey Household’s Rogue Male ― a book I read a long time ago and still hold very dear.
Several stories interlock in ‘Holloway’ like the twigs of Stanley’s vortex tree drawings and the maze of sunken lanes themselves to create an atmosphere of quiet reflection and dreamlike calm; where there is repetition or retracing, the layers of meaning and mystery mount but never smother ― rather the different stories pool and meld and mist.
As ever, Macfarlane’s descriptions of landscape is beautifully evocative and detailed and I was very taken with the contribution of Dan Richards, a new name to me but a very apt and poetic writer; his description of falling asleep inside Roger Deakin’s sleeping bag ― left after his passing, one assumes, to his friend Robert ― was very moving; delicate and tender sad.
Holloway reaches and roves beyond it’s slight form, exploring the place of landscape and themes of loss in the hearts of those who’ve walked and slept in their midst.
I recommend this book unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short & Sweet, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
This was written in memorial to the great nature writer Roger Deakin, sadly taken from us all at the peak of his writing powers.

Macfarlane, Richards and Doonwood revisit the Dorset village of Chideock and search again for the holloway that Macfarlane and Deakin visited in 2005. They find it, and so begins the discovery of the landscape that these ancient trackways inhabit.

Sadly it is a very short book, but it contains some very fine very writing and some exquisite art by Richard of these hollow ays. Its intensity is matched by its brevity and you are left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The grass blades flashed like steel in the sun, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Two writers, one artist, three points of view. Three men explore the sunken footpaths of South Dorset and the result is part prose poem, part ghost story, part travelogue, part picture book. Carry it with you as you walk, press flowers and leaves between its pages. Annotate the empty spaces. Inhabit it. An exquisite book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book to explore, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
A lovely little book recalling a journey in several parts Robert Macfarlane's beautiful text grounding the tale and setting the scene whilst Dan Richards spirals off on poetic tangents.
Stanley Donwood's illustrations draw the reader further into this perfectly formed gem well thought out and aesthetic; the spaces and blank pages which follow the illustrated plates allowing the book to breath.
I've explored it's fine pages several times already & can quite see it becoming a treasure to be eeked, recommended and passed on by word of mouth connecting place to place & person to person, as Robert writes in his introduction.
I lost myself in this holloway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holloway
Holloway by Dan Richards (Hardcover - 16 May 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews