Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only a little book
An excellent book, if you're a MacFarlane fan - which I am. It is poetic and concise, but maybe a little too concise. I'd not read the reviews fully before I bought this, so I was expecting something more like his previous three books. However, this is only a small anthology of 40 pages, including drawings. Having said that, it was a very enjoyable read and I'm glad to...
Published 14 months ago by Vagabond

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overwrought
I'm a great fan of Robert Macfarlane, having read his more substantial books, and recognise he wanted a memorial to his close friend who had died. However, although the line drawings are in the best 'English mystical' tradition and complement the text well, the actual writing feels rather thin and overwrought. The writing isn't really rich enough to qualify as 'prose...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. G. Nurser


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only a little book, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
An excellent book, if you're a MacFarlane fan - which I am. It is poetic and concise, but maybe a little too concise. I'd not read the reviews fully before I bought this, so I was expecting something more like his previous three books. However, this is only a small anthology of 40 pages, including drawings. Having said that, it was a very enjoyable read and I'm glad to add it to the shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holloway. A collaborative gem., 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
This book is a gem, to be placed on your favourite bookshelf. By its nature, a gem should be difficult to extract, unaware of its presence by many but when noticed, it will brightly gleam from within its new and appropriately placed surroundings. It should be kept safe in its chosen spot but returned to countless times so as to induce reverie, to transport and absorb -Shown only to those who understand its value.
Personally, I have placed 'Holloway' in a favourite spot, hidden slightly in a lamplit corner, atop a thick timber bookshelf. A snug 'cwtch' (an appropriate Welshism) amongst the other works of its authors and related books: (Rogue Male) and the works of Macfarlane's departed friend (Mr R. Deakin to name but a few).
However, I felt it also needed to be alongside 'Poetics of Space' by Gaston Bachalard. They certainly inhabit a place under a similar sky and I think the relation between these two books mean they sit happily on the same shelf. The theory of Phenomenology is present throughout Holloway.
The decision not to directly identify each author for some parts of the written content only add to its sense of wondering and discovery. Only by actually locating, delving into and inhabiting a holloway will one truly grasp the similarity that the images created by its writing and artwork accurately reflect. Such is the nature of these ensorcelling spaces. The appeal of this book relates directly to subjective experience of both my childhood and adulthood, but the connotations of this book are universal. Whether it be through play and imagination born from innocent adventures as a child and in subsequent years spent walking, hiking and working in the outdoors. The resonance this book has with me is palpable. A passion for art, nature, prose/poetry and the beauty of this familiar landscape, would seem helpful in aiding ones enjoyment of Holloway. That it hits every one of these elements with subtlety and beauty is just a lucky break for me I suppose. My knowledge of this little gem came from a chapter of another of R. Macfarlane's books and in that respect it has inspired a fervour of investigation into similar avenues of reading, image making and resources.
( such as:
Dan Richards. The Beechwood Airship Interviews
Valerie Belsey. Hooper & Pollards' hedge dating theory.
Moments of silence by Lucy waddington.
Alan Garner - The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley.
Edward Thomas
[...] [...] )
Holloway and the nature of the space it so eloquently describes, has directly informed my own artwork and rekindled my desire to seek out the wild places that are present just beyond our 'cellars and garret's'. To find wild corners to explore outside our abodes but nestled close, far from the mountains and moors beyond.
I have always been interested how collaborations work and envy the camaraderie involved in a collective creative environment. As an example, my favourite music albums are mostly the product of bands rather than solo artists. Often they were friends before they decided to start a band and such collaborations are more often than not, intriguing insights into the individual artists thoughts and instincts. That they have decided to pool their ideas, methods and expressions together at all is always a noteworthy endeavour. The dynamic within a collaboration of talented individuals is inevitably a difficult process. But when it works, the result can be a gem.
This book is a gem and it will also give bearing in other directions to explore or revisit. In the case of Holloway, one has struck gold in the composite parts of the sum. The previous works both individually and of previous collaborations by Robert Macfarlane, Stanley Donwood & Dan Richards offer a huge wealth of fantastic creative results. I suggest returning to the 'Holloway', delving deep within and exploring between the shade and shards of light as there is much more to be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brief but beautiful, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Just feel it should be pointed out that this is a book of only 22 pages (including drawings). It's as long as a newspaper essay or article. It's very good but at the price very expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful images; some magical descriptions, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
This slim book has a lovely feel to it and a great pleasure to own. The images are just wonderful and match the magical text.
I like the length - long enough to dip into and transport the reader to the mysteries of the Holloway - but not too big or heavy to overpower.
A real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Meandering, 23 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Stanley Donwood's beautiful illustrations compliment Robert Macfarlane and Dan Richards' writing perfectly. A lovely book to hold and read through as we join their journey through this world they are sharing with us. This book is a piece of art work that I am glad to have in my collection, it is one of those books you put out on display because the visual aesthetic is as strong as the written work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overwrought, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. G. Nurser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
I'm a great fan of Robert Macfarlane, having read his more substantial books, and recognise he wanted a memorial to his close friend who had died. However, although the line drawings are in the best 'English mystical' tradition and complement the text well, the actual writing feels rather thin and overwrought. The writing isn't really rich enough to qualify as 'prose poetry'. Bit twee and a bit coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and rewarding whimsy, 6 April 2014
By 
L. Roberts "dialogue alchemist" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
How intriguing to have a book with no discernible beginning, middle or ending. A book that wanders, as the writers wandered and gives you a glorious sense of how much they enjoyed the journey! The book is also a very beautiful object and perfect for a gift or ornamenting any bookshelf.

S & L Roberts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Collaboration, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Not to my recollection have a read / experienced a book created by three individuals, especially not so well conceived. The written elements by Macfarlane & Richards are exquisitely descriptive and take you on a journey through the holloways, the visuals by Donwood are also immersive turning this book from a read to an experience. A slender book that perches beautifully on the shelf, i feel that i will be picking it up again soon. it allows for a small inspirational getaway, which was just what i needed. Now i want to go write and draw from such experiences myself... a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful little book, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
Excellent. Both authors have a wonderfully lyrical way of describing the English landscape. I raced through it in one sitting. I honestly can't remember when I last read prose this beautiful. A fitting tribute to the writing of Roger Deakin and a timely reminder of what we risk losing if we don't protect our ancient woodland. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute beaut!, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Holloway (Hardcover)
An absolutely beautiful read, I found it thoroughly immersing and it is a book that I will come back to time and time again. The subject matter was written about wonderfully, and the stunning art work compliments the writing perfectly. It is a pleasure to have this book adorn my bookshelf. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holloway
Holloway by Dan Richards (Hardcover - 16 May 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews