Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, beautifully written and truly superb.
Until I read this book, I had thought I would never find a book I loved as much as Memoirs of a Geisha. I was wrong.
I finished The Poisonwood Bible about two weeks ago and am still having what can only be described as withdrawal symptoms now. I wanted to re-read this book the moment I finished it. Throughout the book, as the remaining pages dwindled, I began to...
Published on 11 April 2002 by sixfootred

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but too long
The story of a man fixated on his own idea, dragging his family along the path to (easily avoidable) disaster is reminiscent of Paul Theroux's Mosquito Coast, and the scenario is equally gripping; but Poisonwood adds a lot of historical and political information which, while interesting, is really another book in itself and hardly moves the plot along.

The...
Published 24 months ago by M. Hunter


‹ Previous | 122 23 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
R. A. Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read! could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, not quite perfect, 6 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this long book. It is one that is really well written and just sweeps you along with it. Beyond the basic premise there are patches were no major event happen, it can be relatively mundane, but the quality of the writing is so good it still a joy to read.

The basic premise is the a white family from Georgia move to the Congo in the 1960's which is driven by their father consumption to preach to the natives in his own forceful style. Along with the mother and father there's their four daughters, two being twins. The story is told by the women and basically covers how they get on in Africa and along the way gives you a great history lesson on the Congo too. I didn't know much about the places history and will definitely be looking into it a bit more to see what really happened.

Right away you know there's a big event being lead up to but the Author alludes to this vaguely and leaves it dangling there nicely and gets on with the story and the interesting characters.

It didn't get five stars as I did find one of the main events to be not that well described and whilst the later part of the book was innovative I didn't think it worked perfectly given the earlier part of the book. Oh and I like the cover but what has it got to do with the story!? The lake, as it looks, what lake? River are more relevance buy not lots.

Overall great characters, good history lesson and, most importantly, well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book!, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking. A wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poisonwood Bible, 19 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
This author is recommended reading. Just buy any book by her and you will be amazed at her knowledge of people. Transports you and makes you wish you could write like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
arrived in good order and promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written, just brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to remember, 25 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
I read Kingsolver's "The Poisonwood Bible" about three years ago and recently picked it up again to see if my first impressions of it were still valid. They weren't. If anything, I enjoyed this book even more the second time round. Utterly compelling, absolutely riveting and emotionally engrossing, this is the kind of book that will stay with you for a long, long time.
A real jewel of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service--and book, 18 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
The service and delivery were very efficient. The book is wonderfull; A well researched intelligent and gripping peice of fiction. Love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written but a hard slog, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
This book is beautifully written with clever multiple narrative but it's heartbreaking and frustrating in equal measure. Very easy to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witches, 21 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Poisonwood Bible (Paperback)
This is a totally engrossing novel. You might love or hate the characters at anyone time, think they're foolhardy, or weak, obstinate or just plane stupid but Kingsolver manages to suck you into their world. I found that I would dream about the characters, hope everything would work out ok but knowing that it never could. Read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews