Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best ending you'll ever read in a book!
The story involves 3 generations of women, the mother, Alice, the daughter, Tyler, and Tyler's adopted Cherokee daughter, Turtle. As a consequence of appearing on a TV show because Turtle has saved someone's life, all their futures change. This is a brilliant book, not just for the story (which is excellent) but also for the additional information on the American...
Published on 14 Nov 2001 by Jo C

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I do not think justice was done
Another eventful book by Kingsolver. It starts in some ways rather comically with Taylor, Turtle, Alice and Jax. In her attempt to do the right thing by another human Taylor unwittingly creates a situation where the blinkered vain tribal lawyer Fourkiller sets out to destroy this little family.
Fourkiller does nothing at all to bring justice to the tribe that...
Published 22 months ago by Ruth Helm


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best ending you'll ever read in a book!, 14 Nov 2001
The story involves 3 generations of women, the mother, Alice, the daughter, Tyler, and Tyler's adopted Cherokee daughter, Turtle. As a consequence of appearing on a TV show because Turtle has saved someone's life, all their futures change. This is a brilliant book, not just for the story (which is excellent) but also for the additional information on the American Indian's history and present problems. A brilliant book - with the best ending you will ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but "The Bean Trees" is better, 16 July 2003
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
Kingsolver is one of my favourite new discoveries. "The Poisonwood Bible" is so good it hurts, "The Prodigal Summer" oozes great characters and descriptions of both human and animal behaviour that take your breath away. Kingsolver still has her moments of brilliance in this novel; I wanted to copy out the description of Turtle's reaction to being in a plane and make everyone I know read it, but the whole is not as satisfying as many of her other works. "Pigs in Heaven" does not disappoint exactly, but the ironic, intelligent voice of Taylor Greer, which made "The Bean Trees" such a delight is missing, and with it goes much of the charm of the earlier work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable book which raises important questions, 26 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
Although "Pigs in Heaven" follows on from Kingsolver's "The Bean Trees" it stands well on it's own. It's the kind of book which you can't put down; which leaves you wondering about its characters for a long time after you reach the end and which makes you question your own values. When Taylor's adopted daughter Turtle saves the life of a stranger, and gains fame through national television, people start asking questions about her origins. The book leads us through a torrent of questions about the fundamental priorities in life. It shows up essential cultural differences and forces us to think carefully about our assumptions. Which is more important - the individual or the community? Can a child be brought up happily and successfully in a family of a different culture and with no knowledge of her own? What makes family ties? But aside from all of this, "Pigs in heaven" is truly enjoyable and moving story which you will find it hard to tear yourself away from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-rending story on the nature of family, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This is the kind of book that you finish reading and then force on all of your friends. An examination of family, race and belonging as well as a fascinating insight into modern Native American life, this book offers no easy answers to the questions it raises. There are no goodies and baddies, simply people whose views of what is best differ. Proves once again that Barbara Kingsolver is one of America's greatest novelists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read! I couldn't put it down, 27 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
A lovely story about a little Cherokee girl and an american lady. This book is beautifully written and reminds us all how important our background is and whether or not you try to run away from your roots they will always hold on to you. An exceptionally good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Special!, 20 Jun 2001
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
What a wonderful world I had the pleasure of sharing last night. Could not put this down. I read the 2nd half of it last night (until 2am!). Don't bother about the reviews crit'ing the use of Americanese... it suits the characters perfectly! Just buy it straight away. It is truly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual subject, treated with a great lightness of touch, 7 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
American indians, so often the "bad guys", and despite terrible treatment in the past are shown to have a culture which still has a lot going for it compared with modern day "American" life. Kingsolver, with a wonderful lightness of touch teaches us a lot about tolerance and seeking out the best in competing cultures while giving us a novel which is impossible to put down...a stoy of love, motherhood, family and compassion in unconventional setting way outside the traditional western nuclear family. One of the few American writers whose writing does not jar for an English reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Paperback)
I loved this, and the prequel 'The Bean Trees' and have re-read both several times. I don't think they have the depth or brilliance of 'The Poisonwood Bible' which as others have said is an absolute masterpiece. But they are beautifully written, heartwarming stories with some genuinely poignant and moving moments and fantastic characters who I really cared about.

Good commentary on the state of America, especially with respect to the South American immigrant population, and the Indian communities. This seems to be a theme close to Kingsolver's heart - see also her 'Animal Dreams'. I guess that would be my one criticism, that she has a tendency to put words in her characters' mouths in order to get a personal political viewpoint across - this is something that can work in fiction but needs great skill and subtlety to get it right, otherwise it seems clumsy and jarring to the reader. But it's only very occasionally a problem here, generally handled well, and of course it's good to see someone passionate about a righteous cause!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I do not think justice was done, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Another eventful book by Kingsolver. It starts in some ways rather comically with Taylor, Turtle, Alice and Jax. In her attempt to do the right thing by another human Taylor unwittingly creates a situation where the blinkered vain tribal lawyer Fourkiller sets out to destroy this little family.
Fourkiller does nothing at all to bring justice to the tribe that allowed the abuse of one of their own children but instead drives the adoptive mother from her home with her daughter.
I am not sure what message Kingsolver was trying to give a racist message but that was the one I got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming continuing story of Taylor and Turtle., 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigs in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
The characters are so vivid and engaging. You really care about what their future holds. I enjoyed the insight into the plight of the Indian nation and their resilience. I love the warmth and respect for family ties and the support they can bring. I didn't like coming to the end of this book. I would recommend it for everyone who enjoys a good story well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pigs in Heaven
Pigs in Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews