Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
61
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2013
While not the longest book of all time, this is an excellent companion to the blog and a strong memoir of the life of a Doctor Who fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Bought this for my husband who is a big Dr Who fan and he loves it. Is in the middle of reading it but says it is very funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I really didn't want this book to end. A great read and a really good laugh. Sue is a legend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Not as good as I thought it would be but interesting for all that
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Is it just me or is there anybody else who loved the original "Doctor Who" but can't stand the modern version? Believe me, I've tried to like the Russell T.Davis/Steven Moffatt revival, I really have. I watched the entire first series in the hope it would spark some form of appreciation from me, but nothing worked. The occasional dip into subsequent adventures all failed to arouse my Who-orientated pleasure nodules as well. So books written by people claiming to be huge fans of the original series who weren't even old enough to appreciate the good Doctor's adventures until he was well past his prime (circa 1977) are guaranteed to annoy me. And boy does this one annoy me. However humorous Neil Perryman's tales of attempting to get his long-suffering wife interested in "Who" may be, I can't get over the fact that he quite openly admits to missing huge chunks of original "Who" all the while claiming to be a life-long fan of the show. Okay, so he missed the first six years by not being born, and approximately the next five through being too young to understand it (I for one am extremely suspicious of anyone who claims to remember watching something on TV under the age of 5), but then he admits to being one of the unfaithful who abandoned "Who" to watch "Buck Rogers in the 25th Century" in 1980. Not only that but he confesses to being probably the only red-blooded male "Who" fan in the world not to appreciate the charms of Janet Fielding and the delectable Sarah Sutton, liking, get this, Matthew Waterhouse's Adric instead. Don't think there are any homophobic insinuations meant by that statement, it's just that Adric was probably the most unpopular companion ever before Bonnie Langford's excruciating Mel. After dismissing Peter Davison's first series as "pretty terrible", this so-called huge fan then skips Davison's final stories, the whole of Colin Baker's tenure and the first McCoy series because he suddenly discovered girls, returning in time to catch the Daleks' final outing in 1988. That's a bit like a Home Counties inhabitant claiming to be a wholehearted Manchester United supporter because he attends the handful of matches they play in London and watches the rest on Sky Sports. I'm sorry to say I couldn't finish "Adventures with the Wife in Space" (what about Time?) without having the urge to throw the offending article through the nearest window. Oh, for the days of Peter Haining, Nigel Robinson, David Howe, Mark Stammers and Stephen James Walker, real fans of the real show who knew what they were writing about, not some half-baked sprog who acquired their appreciation from videos, DVDs and reruns on UK Gold.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I bought this for my partner and he is over the moon. He is a massive dr who fan and this funny yet heartwarming read has made me a very cool and popular girlfriend! I may even borrow after!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Hilarious and actually quite poignant in many places. You don't need to be a Doctor Who fan to enjoy this lovely insight into a modern marriage (though it really helps with the other bits!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Read this on holiday and absolutely loved it, now gone on to read the full blog which in turn as led to me and the gf re watching many stories ourselves..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Not just for Doctor Who fans (but it helps). Thank you to Neil Perryman and Sue for hours of entertainment on the blogs and in this highly engaging book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This book was a very enjoyable read. Having listened to some awful 'Who' podcasts, it's nice to come across a fan with a good sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse