Customer Reviews


1,812 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,161)
4 star:
 (458)
3 star:
 (131)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by B J Burton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars QI Untrue facts to blow your socks off..
Just started reading this as I'm interested in strange facts. A couple of them seemed so weird I decided to research to find out the details ie: why St Christopher is no longer a Saint. But the fact is he IS . Then the one about gerbils ARE used in airport security to detect adrenalin to counter terrorism. Gerbils were tried out in Israel airports in 1970 but discontinued...
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by K. L. Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2182 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect coffee table book; your friends will enjoy dipping in - but they'll have trouble putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the perfect loo book, 6 Nov. 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
This book is another success in the canon of QI, did you know for example: that a carrier pigeon is faster than a fax over a distance of a mile, or that the 'g spot' was nearly called the 'whipple tickle'? Can be read cover to cover, or dipped into if one has a spare few minutes and is just as satisfying. I am, as you would expect, now thoroughly sockless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining collection of facts, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
As a keen contestant in quizzes, I own a fair-sized selection of general 'trivia' books, and so it was with keen anticipation that I opened this book, the latest from the 'QI' stable. (I should make clear at the outset that I have met James Harkin, one of the writers, a couple of times, and correspond with him occasionally.)

The standard of 'QI' books has generally been high in the past (I was particularly fond of the now-discontinued series of annuals!) so I had high hopes for this. The presentation of the book is simple - the 1,227 facts are presented four to a page throughout the book. They are not explicitly divided into themes although at many points similar facts are collected together, or one fact relates somehow to the next. This works well and I found that reading the book cover-to-cover worked well - although of course, as with any work of this kind, the book can be dipped into as well.

The acid test of books of this kind lies in the choice of facts - too many such works trot out the usual chestnuts, reminding you for the 27th time that (e.g.) duelling is legal in Paraguay but only if the participants are registered blood donors. This book passes this test convincingly. Even for the dedicated trivia-lover, there are plenty of very novel facts in here and the bar has been set high in terms of quite-interestingness. I won't spoil the surprises by giving any examples but there are some real beauties in here.

All told, this would make an ideal stocking filler Christmas present for anyone interested in facts and trivia, and is one of the best books of this kind I have read - it's not as encyclopaedic as Mitchell Symons' 'This Book' trilogy, but the standard of interestingness is as high (if not higher).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and funny, 2 Nov. 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
Where else could you find out that Richard Gere's middle name is Tiffany? The joy of this book is that the facts are funny as well as clever, and it is a lot of fun reading them aloud to someone else. Perk up your Christmas Day by giving this to the cracker-joke bore in your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars QI Untrue facts to blow your socks off.., 3 Mar. 2013
By 
K. L. Hunt "Kaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just started reading this as I'm interested in strange facts. A couple of them seemed so weird I decided to research to find out the details ie: why St Christopher is no longer a Saint. But the fact is he IS . Then the one about gerbils ARE used in airport security to detect adrenalin to counter terrorism. Gerbils were tried out in Israel airports in 1970 but discontinued as they couldn't tell the difference between terrorists and those afraid of flying.
Sadly after looking up just these 2 facts and finding they're not strictly true I've lost faith in reading any more.
Maybe I've missed the point and its meant to be tongue in cheek and not accurate. ??? Glad I didn't have to pay a lot for it or I'd want my money back. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ensuring QI can sound the klaxon for years to come., 24 Dec. 2012
By 
S. J. Wright (Wouldn't you like to know) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
Reading this book I can't help wondering if the main reason for releasing it (and making it so cheap to ensure maximum readership) was so QI could cotinue to correct common assumptions by providing so many new ones! Now 20p may seem cheap but an incorrect fact isn't worth little - it's worth less than nothing.

I've no doubt they're are some interesting titbits in here but the problem is with it that it's time consuming to find out if they are true. Thankfully there is an online source checker (awkward to use as it requires you to end the page numbers, which aren't on the kindle version) and I checked the interesting fact that "50% more US Soldiers committed suicide in Afghanistan in 2012 than were killed in action". To my suprise The Guardian appeared to be the source of this, and I was thinking that I might have dig deeper to find where The Guardian had got its questionable data. Opening the link there was no need, as The Guardian article (actually the headline alone did) disproved the very thing that sourced it, the 50% greater suicides are from the entire active US service, compared with combat deaths in Afghanistan alone. Still the number of suicide sounded pretty high, but then less than 5 mins of checking and using a calculator revealed that, actually, the suicide rate in the US military is the same as the normal population - that might not be interesting, but it is true.

Now I'll see if 10% of football injuries really are caused by goal celebrations and the average science paper is read by 0.6 people...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now sockless, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
A must for any fan of QI, but equally accessible to anyone - full of delightfully unexpected (as well as some downright bizarre) facts. It was great to discover, for instance, the location of the Dyslexia Research Centre, or what the international dialling code for Russia is. Distills the quirky wit of the TV show into a great read. Online source list is a nice addition for the curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Major disappointment, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of QI and have read a few of their previous books and had a lot of pleasure from them. This is a QI book in name only and is a big disappointment. It is basically a list of random facts, one sentence for each. There is none of the fabulous rambling discussion that makes QI special. It only cost 20p and I can see why. Even that feels like a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection of trivia information, the ordinary and really weird ones, 3 Feb. 2014
"1,227 Quite Interesting Facts to Blow Your Socks Off" is an interesting collection of trivia information, from the ordinary to the ones who are really weird.

Although I equally like to read books on Kindle and paper form, I can recommend you to purchase this one in hardcover form.
At least because this is an interesting book which if you take it when you are going to a coffee or somewhere else with your friends, for sure when they will take it in their hands next thing you'll heard will be their asking if they can borrow it.

The probable reason I like this book is that I loved quiz shows since I was a kid, and due to that I were like a sponge soaking throughout all my life all kinds of trivia to be able to entertain people around me.
Therefore this book was great to learn about some new trivia, to check how much of it I didn't know, and in this book I came across a lot of such new funny or bizarre information.

It's curious (because I heard from friend who also bought it) that lot of information inside you'll wish to share instantly to someone who is next to you because they're entertaining or shocking.
The information is presented in some logical order resulting that one story in some way relate to the following one.

The only drawback is that for some stories reader for sure will want to learn some more details that explains it or some reference where reader can find some additional information about something that she/he was intrigued by.

If you want great anthology of entertaining trivia or you are searching for perfect gift for someone who is trivia buff the "1,227 Quite Interesting Facts to Blow Your Socks Off" is the good book to be considered.
Besides interesting trivia found inside, the book is nicely designed with pages that seem to call reader to turn them, to be able to learn some new interesting information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, but very enjoyable., 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was rather expecting this to be more like the QI "books of general ignorance" - an interesting factoid or question answered thoroughly.

It isn't - as others have said, it seems like it would an an excellent "loo" book, as it's possible to read just one fact or several dozen.

Each fact is stated as simply as possible, with some enjoyable thematic groupings from one fact to the next, but there is no backing up or explanation of each one. For that one must access the sources page online, itself a selection of entertaining and intriguing websites.

Overall I found it very enjoyable, even though it wasn't really what I was expecting it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2182 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off
1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off by James Harkin (Hardcover - 1 Nov. 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews