Customer Reviews


1,721 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,094)
4 star:
 (443)
3 star:
 (125)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect...
Published 24 months ago by B J Burton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does only what it says on the tin
This book is just a list of facts - and with no context around them and no explanation, so it is very hard to understand exactly what the facts are. An example might help illustrate this. A fact "a cat [has] the same environmental effect as a Volkswagen Golf". How? Is it because VW off-set emissions? Is it because some very spoilt cats have exotic cat food...
Published 17 months ago by C. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect coffee table book; your friends will enjoy dipping in - but they'll have trouble putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the perfect loo book, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
This book is another success in the canon of QI, did you know for example: that a carrier pigeon is faster than a fax over a distance of a mile, or that the 'g spot' was nearly called the 'whipple tickle'? Can be read cover to cover, or dipped into if one has a spare few minutes and is just as satisfying. I am, as you would expect, now thoroughly sockless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining collection of facts, 4 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
As a keen contestant in quizzes, I own a fair-sized selection of general 'trivia' books, and so it was with keen anticipation that I opened this book, the latest from the 'QI' stable. (I should make clear at the outset that I have met James Harkin, one of the writers, a couple of times, and correspond with him occasionally.)

The standard of 'QI' books has generally been high in the past (I was particularly fond of the now-discontinued series of annuals!) so I had high hopes for this. The presentation of the book is simple - the 1,227 facts are presented four to a page throughout the book. They are not explicitly divided into themes although at many points similar facts are collected together, or one fact relates somehow to the next. This works well and I found that reading the book cover-to-cover worked well - although of course, as with any work of this kind, the book can be dipped into as well.

The acid test of books of this kind lies in the choice of facts - too many such works trot out the usual chestnuts, reminding you for the 27th time that (e.g.) duelling is legal in Paraguay but only if the participants are registered blood donors. This book passes this test convincingly. Even for the dedicated trivia-lover, there are plenty of very novel facts in here and the bar has been set high in terms of quite-interestingness. I won't spoil the surprises by giving any examples but there are some real beauties in here.

All told, this would make an ideal stocking filler Christmas present for anyone interested in facts and trivia, and is one of the best books of this kind I have read - it's not as encyclopaedic as Mitchell Symons' 'This Book' trilogy, but the standard of interestingness is as high (if not higher).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and funny, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
Where else could you find out that Richard Gere's middle name is Tiffany? The joy of this book is that the facts are funny as well as clever, and it is a lot of fun reading them aloud to someone else. Perk up your Christmas Day by giving this to the cracker-joke bore in your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does only what it says on the tin, 2 Jun 2013
By 
C. Shepherd "Craig" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just a list of facts - and with no context around them and no explanation, so it is very hard to understand exactly what the facts are. An example might help illustrate this. A fact "a cat [has] the same environmental effect as a Volkswagen Golf". How? Is it because VW off-set emissions? Is it because some very spoilt cats have exotic cat food made of endangered animals? Without explanation the fact is uninformative, and really fairly dull. And reading a list of facts in quick succession is like listening to a child who has been given a bumper Knock-Knock-Joke-Book for Christmas and insists on reading every joke.

If you want something fun and interesting, avoid this. If you want to be able to bore people at dinner parties, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now sockless, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
A must for any fan of QI, but equally accessible to anyone - full of delightfully unexpected (as well as some downright bizarre) facts. It was great to discover, for instance, the location of the Dyslexia Research Centre, or what the international dialling code for Russia is. Distills the quirky wit of the TV show into a great read. Online source list is a nice addition for the curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ensuring QI can sound the klaxon for years to come., 24 Dec 2012
By 
S. J. Wright (Wouldn't you like to know) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
Reading this book I can't help wondering if the main reason for releasing it (and making it so cheap to ensure maximum readership) was so QI could cotinue to correct common assumptions by providing so many new ones! Now 20p may seem cheap but an incorrect fact isn't worth little - it's worth less than nothing.

I've no doubt they're are some interesting titbits in here but the problem is with it that it's time consuming to find out if they are true. Thankfully there is an online source checker (awkward to use as it requires you to end the page numbers, which aren't on the kindle version) and I checked the interesting fact that "50% more US Soldiers committed suicide in Afghanistan in 2012 than were killed in action". To my suprise The Guardian appeared to be the source of this, and I was thinking that I might have dig deeper to find where The Guardian had got its questionable data. Opening the link there was no need, as The Guardian article (actually the headline alone did) disproved the very thing that sourced it, the 50% greater suicides are from the entire active US service, compared with combat deaths in Afghanistan alone. Still the number of suicide sounded pretty high, but then less than 5 mins of checking and using a calculator revealed that, actually, the suicide rate in the US military is the same as the normal population - that might not be interesting, but it is true.

Now I'll see if 10% of football injuries really are caused by goal celebrations and the average science paper is read by 0.6 people...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection of trivia information, the ordinary and really weird ones, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"1,227 Quite Interesting Facts to Blow Your Socks Off" is an interesting collection of trivia information, from the ordinary to the ones who are really weird.

Although I equally like to read books on Kindle and paper form, I can recommend you to purchase this one in hardcover form.
At least because this is an interesting book which if you take it when you are going to a coffee or somewhere else with your friends, for sure when they will take it in their hands next thing you'll heard will be their asking if they can borrow it.

The probable reason I like this book is that I loved quiz shows since I was a kid, and due to that I were like a sponge soaking throughout all my life all kinds of trivia to be able to entertain people around me.
Therefore this book was great to learn about some new trivia, to check how much of it I didn't know, and in this book I came across a lot of such new funny or bizarre information.

It's curious (because I heard from friend who also bought it) that lot of information inside you'll wish to share instantly to someone who is next to you because they're entertaining or shocking.
The information is presented in some logical order resulting that one story in some way relate to the following one.

The only drawback is that for some stories reader for sure will want to learn some more details that explains it or some reference where reader can find some additional information about something that she/he was intrigued by.

If you want great anthology of entertaining trivia or you are searching for perfect gift for someone who is trivia buff the "1,227 Quite Interesting Facts to Blow Your Socks Off" is the good book to be considered.
Besides interesting trivia found inside, the book is nicely designed with pages that seem to call reader to turn them, to be able to learn some new interesting information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining read, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
A fascinating and entertaining book with a variety of interesting facts. Very informative and a great recreational read to dip into if you have a few spare minutes to fill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super addictive., 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Hardcover)
Picked it up for the first time and then 171 pages later I realised I should of been doing something else. Extremely addictive......credit to the people who put it together. Perfect stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off
1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off by James Harkin (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews