Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language, identity, humanity
In an age when our written words are more publicly available than ever, thanks to blogging, social networking, self-published e-books and internet message boards, Marcel Theroux's Strange Bodies presents us with a prospect that seems even more sinister than it otherwise might: the notion that our personalities, our consciousness, our very being, could be reproduced solely...
Published 18 months ago by Joanne Sheppard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting if not compelling read
This is a good book but I struggled with the rating. It is very well written, immaculately researched and very thought provoking. Very reminiscent in the beginning of Mary Shelly's Fankenstein but set in the modern world. However, Theroux doesn't quite pull off the compassion in the reader that Shelley achieves. It is probably more deserving of a 3.5 than a 3.
Published 8 months ago by Mark Wooldridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language, identity, humanity, 29 May 2013
By 
Joanne Sheppard (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Kindle Edition)
In an age when our written words are more publicly available than ever, thanks to blogging, social networking, self-published e-books and internet message boards, Marcel Theroux's Strange Bodies presents us with a prospect that seems even more sinister than it otherwise might: the notion that our personalities, our consciousness, our very being, could be reproduced solely from our written output.

Told through a combination of written forms including a psychiatrist's case notes and the memoir of one of her patients, Strange Bodies explores some expansive themes, including identity, our thirst for immortality, scientific ethics and what really makes us the people we are.

Like Theroux's dystopian novel Far North, Strange Bodies has many of the trappings of science-fiction, but this is almost incidental - genre-wise, this is literary fiction more akin to, say, Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go or the speculative works of Margaret Atwood than full-on sci-fi. The plot has all the drive and thrust of a thriller, with Nicholas Slopen, an academic whose specialism is the life and work of Samuel Johnson, finding himself pulled into a dangerous scientific conspiracy growing from a seed planted in the former Soviet Union, but Strange Bodies is much more than that. It's also a thought-provoking novel about language and how it shapes our identities and relationships.

Nicholas is a convincingly inept hero with numerous faults, although his growing awareness of them and his increasingly heightened understanding as the story unfolds mean it's impossible for the reader not to sympathise with him, often deeply, and his relationship with Jack, an outwardly brutish savant with a seemingly unique talent, is perhaps one of the most touching elements of the book. Theroux also paints a vivid and plausible picture of the fluctuating mental health of Nicholas, and others, throughout: sometimes the fear of madness (as Samuel Johnson himself knew only too well) is worse than madness itself.

Weaving in numerous literary allusions and references, as well as elements of Frankenstein and age-old myths of doppelgangers and golems, Strange Bodies is an exceptionally well-executed novel, often sharply observant, in which the different themes interlock with the neat intricacy of meticulously-crafted clockwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'What makes me, me? What makes you, you?', 30 April 2013
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Hardcover)
When Nicholas Slopen turns up at the shop of an old friend, she is stunned. He looks completely different, his voice is different but, most surprisingly of all, she'd heard he'd died the year before. And yet once they start talking, she is soon convinced that it is indeed he.

This intelligent and very well written book poses the question - what makes us, us? Can we be defined, summed up, by the words we speak? What if we are sundered irrevocably from all our relationships - personal, professional, social: are we still us?

Our narrator, known as Q by his psychiatrist but calling himself Dr Nicholas Slopen, relates his story from the secure facility of the Royal Bethlehem Hospital (a descendant of Bedlam) to where he has been sectioned. Since Dr Slopen died the year before, and the authorities have his body and autopsy photographs to prove it, and since Q looks nothing like him, he is considered to be suffering from a delusion. But he has all Dr Slopen's memories and an explanation of how he has become who - or what - he is. An explanation so fantastical that he understands why no-one will believe him...

Dr Slopen's story begins when he is asked to use his expertise to authenticate some letters apparently written by Samuel Johnson. He is entirely convinced by the handwriting and content that these letters can only be genuine, but they are written on paper that wouldn't have been available to Johnson. From this beginning, the author takes us on an investigation into identity, individuality and authenticity that is entertaining and unsettling in equal measure. Theroux weaves notions of psychiatry, philosophy, science and politics into a story where the human motivations become scarily believable even while the central point remains deliberately incredible. A story of mad science turned to evil purpose, the age-old search for immortality, man's inhumanity to man, but at its heart this is a search for a definition of humanity.

Amidst all the fascinating theorising and philosophising, Theroux doesn't forget to give us some well-rounded characterisation and a great story. At first, Slopen is an unattractive character, smug and superior, an academic disappointed at the world's failure to reward him as he feels he merits. But as his nightmarish journey progresses, we see him develop compassion, a conscience, perhaps, and even courage. Jack, the mysterious savant, demands our sympathy and Vera, who cares for him, remains always enigmatic and somewhat unfathomable. An exceptional book in what is turning out to be a vintage year for exceptional books, this is both enjoyable and thought-provoking and will leave this reader at least mulling over some of the many questions it raises. Highly recommended.

NB This book was provided for review by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Science Fiction in South London, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Hardcover)
A taut piece of literary science fiction; a witty philosophical jeu d'esprit; a profound meditation on mortality and fatherhood; a London thriller; Strange Bodies is all of these and more.
It starts with the reappearance of a dead man, or rather a man who claims to be the incarnation of a someone who is dead - the catch being that the revenant in question does not actually resemble the deceased.
How did "Nicky Slopen" - if it is he - come to inhabit another man's body? The answer involves a circuitous and highly entertaining journey into a world of shadowy international gangsters and semi-detached suburbanites in Tooting, taking in the thrills of a cloak-and-dagger investigation and the routine heartbreaks of adultery and divorce.
I confess I have a soft spot for well-crafted genre novels - and also that I have relationship with the author (he's my brother). But those two caveats notwithstanding, Strange Bodies is a superb book: well-paced, full of true-to-life observations, beautifully written and highly inventive.
The themes are developed with wonderful delicacy and the narrative takes in a trove of fascinating bits of historical esoterica from all over the world. The more fantastical elements never feel forced but serve instead to explore the oldest questions of the human condition: the soul's imprisonment in the body, the aging process, the nature of insanity, the inevitability of loss and the redemption of love. Strange Bodies bears comparison with some of my favourite books - Peter Carey's My Life as a Fake, Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, evoking a more benign Michel Houellebecq, or a longer-form H.P. Lovecraft...
If any of these are remotely your cup of tea, you are guaranteed to enjoy Strange Bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishing Literary Thought Experiment, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Hardcover)
Strange Bodies details the first-person account of Dr. Nicholas Slopen, a literary academic and expert on the life and work of Dr. Samuel Johnson. Slopen dictates his story from the Dangerous Humans Unit (DHU), a mental institution in which he currently resides as a patient. Because, despite the narrator's unwavering adherence to his identity and life history, Dr. Nicholas Slopen is dead. The novel begins with Nicholas Slopen called upon by music mogul Hunter Gould to verify the authenticity of some letters, supposedly authored by Dr. Johnson. Determining the letters to be fakes, written precisely in authentic style and language but sloppy in physical appearance, Nicholas concludes that only the most elaborate of fraudulent projects could produce such items. He is subsequently introduced to Jack Telagua, a man seemingly mentally deranged, who writes and speaks entirely in the character of Dr. Johnson. Initially accepting that Jack suffers from some form of psychosis, Nicholas begins to believe that there is something more going on. As the story unfolds, Nicholas is brought into a world of metaphysical uncertainty, learning that Soviet experimentation with consciousness has produced a Procedure through which it is possible to replicate one person's consciousness in the physical body (or 'carcass' of another). As the threads come together, it is clear that the Nicholas Slopen relating the story, as dictated in Strange Bodies, has found himself subject to this process. Knowing that his time is short, he lays out to the reader the facts of how he came to undergo the Procedure, while simultaneously working to convince the doctors of the DHU that, despite appearances, he is in fact the dead man, Nicholas Slopen.

Strange Bodies is unbelievably ambitious in its scope. Falling somewhere between thriller, science-fiction, and philosophical masterpiece, this book is one that pushes its readers to confront accepted truths. Most fundamentally, in asking the central question of what constitutes humanness, it posits a lack of uniqueness that runs against widely accepted and celebrated individuality: "The truth is we are virtually identical. We are interchangeable. That is the true beauty of humanity: ant beauty, not peacock beauty. We persuade ourselves that we are unique, but the typologist of human experience would have his work done in an afternoon. Every father weeps at his daughter's wedding, knowing that the tiny sugar plum he held at birth is being entrusted to another man."

Perhaps the most effective way to perceive Strange Bodies is as a contemporary literary form of the thought experiment. It introduces the reader to Nicholas Slopen, dead man, and, through his first-person narrative, is able to reveal the fundamental human reaction to the raw truth of humanness. The Nicholas who tells this story is a man detached from his old physical being, his consciousness now transferred into an unknown body. He must confront the implications of the detachment, what it means for accepted 'facts' of the essence of humanity, but also what it means as an individual, having to convince those he has known and loved (as well as the Doctors who think he is crazy) that he is, in fact, Nicholas Slopen. It is in those moments, when Nicholas in his new physical existence must confront the loved aspects his 'old' life, that Strange Bodies becomes painfully real in its attention to the human experience.

Yes, Strange Bodies is an astonishingly ambitious work. But it succeeds absolutely. Marcel Theroux delivers a work that challenges his readers without entering into the dangerous territory of pretension or overcomplexity. It is a remarkable achievement. I was left struck by Theroux's attention to detail, the sheer intelligence with which he has thought through the premises of the novel, and the extent of the research that must have been conducted to blend the fictional with the factual. Once you have closed the final pages of Strange Bodies, you will find yourself unable to let go of its conclusions and implications. Because what makes this novel so powerful is the efficacy with which Theroux takes a fundamentally philosophical question - of what it is to be human - and gives it a personal perspective. Through Nicholas' extreme experience - the detachment and coding of his consciousness and its transfer into a new physical existence - the reader is taken beyond abstract reasoning and argument, into a world of first-hand experience and perspective.

Strange Bodies is truly unlike any book I have read, walking new ground and breaking down barriers between genres. Utterly remarkable and resoundingly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sad, haunting and compelling journey into the depths of the human soul., 23 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. T. J. Barnard "Tomius" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Paperback)
I haven't read any of Marcel Theroux's other books, but it's hard to think that he could have written something better than this. At once, it's a compulsive thriller and a literary novel - indeed, the strength of Theroux's metaphysical horror story comes in its ability to meld these two forms of storytelling into a seamless whole, as our narrator - one Nicholas Slopen - a man thought to be dead - turns up one day and spooks an old girlfriend. What follows is a dark and compulsive tale of forgery and conspiracy.

And so there are constant twists and turns ahoy to keep readers of all types hooked, though the sheer breadth of ideas and themes inherent to this novel is downright astounding. Not a page goes by whereupon the writing feels half-realised. Theroux has poured his own soul into the text - a love letter to literature, and the everlasting power of books. Much of the story here concerns the likes of romantic era poet Dr. Samuel Johnson, and though those familiar with his work will likely find a great more to like about this book, in-depth knowledge isn't essential.

A genuinely sad and haunting novel, this is the best book I've read all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Tim (sheffield, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Kindle Edition)
I found I couldn't put this down. It got more intriguing as it evolved from a mystery to a somewhat old fashioned science fiction melodrama to, ultimately, a telling and moving reflection on life and death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Hardcover)
Oh the sheer, absolute pleasure of finding a book that has enormous depth of intelligence behind it, in which every sentence is breathtakingly original and beautiful and which races along with tension and suspense. I found myself completely mesmerised by the language and plot of Strange Bodies, oblivious to anything going on around me - an out of body experience that seemed very appropriate given the subject matter...
The other reviews have provided very fitting summaries so I won't do that here. Suffice to say I loved it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a book that is ridiculously wonderful to read while provoking the most intriguing questions about our existence. Excellent. My money is on this for the Booker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'It's alive, it's alive!', 23 July 2014
By 
Norman Housley (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Kindle Edition)
This latest take on the Frankenstein theme is a thoroughly entertaining albeit unconvincing read. Marcel Theroux writes with enviable fluency and his narrator grows on you - though Nicholas is initially unsympathetic, you get to like him and to feel for his plight. I thought the early part of the book, dealing with Nicholas's encounter with Jack and the mystery of Jack's extraordinary powers, was the best, reminiscent of the modern gothic school of Palliser and Pears. The middle section, set in Russia, gripped me less, especially the details of the Procedure. And the book does rather tail off, as if Theroux didn't know how to end it. But it offers a solid narrative with some nice twists, enriched by some thought-provoking musings on identity and the formation of consciousness. The author is obviously very talented and I shall look out for more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sad philosophical, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Kindle Edition)
Literary mimd romp. Funny, sad philosophical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strange Bodies, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: Strange Bodies (Paperback)
When Susanna Laidlaw-Robinson receives an unexpected visit from her ex-boyfriend Nicky Slopen she’s more than a little surprised – she had, after all, heard that Nicky had died in a road accident about a year earlier. Still, despite that initial alive/dead hiccup, the visit goes pretty well and so when Nicky turns up again, more bedraggled and incoherent this time, Susanna does take pains to help him although everything takes a quick turn for the weird when Nicky dies later that evening in the middle of her book club meeting. Susanna is more than a little perplexed when the police turn up to investigate the circumstances leading to “Nicky’s” death and inform her that the real Nicky Slopen did in fact die the previous year.

Strange Bodies is the second Nicky’s account, taken from a flash drive that Susanna finds hidden in her house, of his life as a dead man and the circumstances that led to his turning up out of the blue at Susanna’s. It’s an eerie thriller that calls in to question issues of identity and individuality while at the same time raising troubling questions about where seemingly mad science could lead us. Strange Bodies is an intriguing, excellently written example of literary science fiction that is packed with mystery and uncertainty while at the same time being horribly plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Bodies
Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux (Hardcover - 2 May 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews